considering alienware laptop - Page 2 - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:02 PM #22
JungleLarry (Banned)
Algorithms and bananas
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Get banned, Erus.

Have you looked into Dell, dmann? You could probably build a really decent Inspiron e1505 for that price, or find an e1705/XPS on eBay for around there.
JungleLarry is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 03-04-2007, 02:07 PM #23
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
im actually on the dell website right now and im looking for where to customize the dell but i cant find it i just see 3 options
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:08 PM #24
Volucris
asmuchtextastheywillallow
 
Volucris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville
What's your budget and do you already have something to game on(xbox 360/desktop pc)?
Volucris is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:09 PM #25
Erus_Vestrum
 
 
Erus_Vestrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
http://www.dell.com/content/products...555&l=en&s=biz


click through those then click "customize" or w/e
Erus_Vestrum is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:10 PM #26
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
below 2k...and i have a desktop with

intel 2.8 HT
1.5g DDR ram
agp 6800gt 256 ( which is currently running 112C) outta nowhere
160gb HD
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:11 PM #27
Volucris
asmuchtextastheywillallow
 
Volucris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville
Clean your case, that will fix your temperature problems.
I'm building one for you right now. Though it will have little gaming relation because latops are not for gaming; laptops are for work.
Volucris is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:14 PM #28
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
i have cleaned it, tried switching drivers, my computer has been **** lately, and i would like to play games at college like CS, so id like to see gaming in there
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:17 PM #29
yamahakid
Is not a kid, he's 19
 
yamahakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: **856**
 has been a member for 10 years
well playing cs, you could get away with integrated graphics and not have amuch of a problem
__________________
TKE-York College
ST:A MC, Rumble Strips=Ball Massage
"Originally posted by NorCalBaller88:
When the day comes, and it will, that your big naked cock is drenched in the blood of another, then my boy, you are a man."
"Originally posted by Reapa Shot: Amidoinitrite?
"Are you the one who drives the motorcycle?", "No, I just carry around all the heavy gear for fun.""

"Originally posted by theskater101388: theres were like 10 busa's there, all ridden by N's... or big white guys wanting to be N's lol"
yamahakid is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:18 PM #30
Volucris
asmuchtextastheywillallow
 
Volucris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville
Ah ok. I know how much easier it is to take a laptop around than it is to drag a desktop around.

I would check the fan on the GPU, it may be broken. The 6800 should never go over 70ºC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamahakid View Post
well playing cs, you could get away with integrated graphics and not have amuch of a problem
CSS is not going to run on integrated well at all.
Volucris is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:19 PM #31
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
i wanna handle it perfectly, and like play BF2, i was using CS as a example
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:20 PM #32
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
my hand is under the fan now its blowing out air, the side is off..this happened outta no where
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:23 PM #33
Volucris
asmuchtextastheywillallow
 
Volucris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville
Are you getting artifacts or anything in games at all? Is the performance about the same as is was before the temps went up?
Volucris is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 02:29 PM #34
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
weird thing is it happened when i got a anti-virus but i deleted it, but anyway the moniter looks like it has dead pixels butthey go away, performance is a lil off, running verry hot tho
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 04:08 PM #35
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
Dells are more expensive with the same setup
dmann is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:11 AM #36
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
i found another set up at www.ibuypower.com

AMD Turion 64 X2 Dual Core Processor TL-60 [2.0 ghz, 1 MB L2 Cache] HT
2048MB(1024MB X2) DDR2-667 PC5300
160 GB 5400rpm Serial-ATA-150 Super Slim Notebook Hard Drive
NVIDIA 256mb Geforce Go 7600 PCI-E 3D video
3D Premium Surrond Sound onboard
Microsoft Vista Premium
Built in Digital Camera
Free Carrying case

$1,555

and alienware had $100.00 shipping..ipower is free shipping, better offer hmm? but i dunno bout that processor if its good or not

Alienware setup

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5600 1.83GHz 2MB Cache 667MHz FSB
Genuine Windows® Vista Home Basic
2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SO-DIMM at 667MHz - 2 x 1024MB
100GB Serial ATA 1.5Gb/s 7,200 RPM w/ NCQ & 8MB Cache
256MB NVidia® GeForce™ Go 7600

$1,664

Last edited by dmann : 03-05-2007 at 11:05 AM.
dmann is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:31 AM #37
tmaxx_2.5
 
 
tmaxx_2.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Minnesota
 has been a member for 10 years
I ordered and just got in my HP notebook a couple of weeks ago for college and work, its somewhat loaded and was about $1,100. Great so far.
__________________
They say one day your life will flash before your eyes...make it worth watching.

Old Feedback
tmaxx_2.5 is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:40 AM #38
boomslang
lo-fi
 
boomslang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmann View Post
i found another set up at www.ipower.com
The C2D is the better processor and may be worth paying extra for it.
__________________
Shoot the ****: irc.oftc.net #doublethink | dodgyaim
boomslang is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 01:46 PM #39
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
anyone else?
dmann is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 01:55 PM #40
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
IBUYPOWER

AMD Turion 64 X2 Dual Core Processor TL-60 [2.0 ghz, 1 MB L2 Cache] HT
2048MB(1024MB X2) DDR2-667 PC5300
160 GB 5400rpm Serial-ATA-150 Super Slim Notebook Hard Drive
NVIDIA 256mb Geforce Go 7600 PCI-E 3D video
3D Premium Surrond Sound onboard
Microsoft Vista Premium
Built in Digital Camera
Free Carrying case

$1,555



ALIENWARE

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5600 1.83GHz 2MB Cache 667MHz FSB
Genuine Windows® Vista Home Basic
2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SO-DIMM at 667MHz - 2 x 1024MB
100GB Serial ATA 1.5Gb/s 7,200 RPM w/ NCQ & 8MB Cache
256MB NVidia® GeForce™ Go 7600

$1,664

HP

Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo T5600(1.83GHz/2MB L2Cache)
256MB NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) Go 7600 ( may consider the 512mb version for 150.00 more)
HP Imprint Finish + Microphone + Webcam
2GB DDR2 System Memory
160GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
Windows Vista Premium

$1,478
dmann is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 02:01 PM #41
zoink
cats cats cats
 
zoink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: VA
zoink is one of the top 25 posters on PbNation
I got my e1705 for 1.5k and it's specs as far as gaming would be concerned are much better than that alienware's, minus the ram...but I don't think it's that much money for an upgrade to 2 gigs. It runs all of the newer games I've played really well...the best looking one I can think of off the top of my head is Dark Messiah of Might and Magic which it was running at med-high settings. It also runs oblivion as well.

I just configured one on Dell's site:
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T7200 (2.00GHz, 4MB L2 Cache, 667 MHz FSB)
2GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MH
80GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
256MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ Go 7900 GS
Free Upgrade to Windows Vista Home

Came out to 1.7k, I guess dell's memory is a little more expensive than I'd though.
__________________
Four wheels move the body, two wheels move the soul.
zoink is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 02:04 PM #42
JungleLarry (Banned)
Algorithms and bananas
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Don't get an AMD processor in your laptop. Stick with the Intel Core 2 Duo.
JungleLarry is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump