considering alienware laptop - Page 2 - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:02 PM #22
JungleLarry (Banned)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
 has been a member for 10 years
Get banned, Erus.

Have you looked into Dell, dmann? You could probably build a really decent Inspiron e1505 for that price, or find an e1705/XPS on eBay for around there.
JungleLarry is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 03-04-2007, 03:07 PM #23
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
 has been a member for 10 years
im actually on the dell website right now and im looking for where to customize the dell but i cant find it i just see 3 options
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:08 PM #24
Volucris
asmuchtextastheywillallow
 
Volucris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville
 has been a member for 10 years
What's your budget and do you already have something to game on(xbox 360/desktop pc)?
Volucris is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:09 PM #25
Erus_Vestrum
 
 
Erus_Vestrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
http://www.dell.com/content/products...555&l=en&s=biz


click through those then click "customize" or w/e
Erus_Vestrum is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:10 PM #26
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
 has been a member for 10 years
below 2k...and i have a desktop with

intel 2.8 HT
1.5g DDR ram
agp 6800gt 256 ( which is currently running 112C) outta nowhere
160gb HD
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:11 PM #27
Volucris
asmuchtextastheywillallow
 
Volucris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville
 has been a member for 10 years
Clean your case, that will fix your temperature problems.
I'm building one for you right now. Though it will have little gaming relation because latops are not for gaming; laptops are for work.
Volucris is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:14 PM #28
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
 has been a member for 10 years
i have cleaned it, tried switching drivers, my computer has been **** lately, and i would like to play games at college like CS, so id like to see gaming in there
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:17 PM #29
yamahakid
Is not a kid, he's 19
 
yamahakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: **856**
 has been a member for 10 years
well playing cs, you could get away with integrated graphics and not have amuch of a problem
__________________
TKE-York College
ST:A MC, Rumble Strips=Ball Massage
"Originally posted by NorCalBaller88:
When the day comes, and it will, that your big naked cock is drenched in the blood of another, then my boy, you are a man."
"Originally posted by Reapa Shot: Amidoinitrite?
"Are you the one who drives the motorcycle?", "No, I just carry around all the heavy gear for fun.""

"Originally posted by theskater101388: theres were like 10 busa's there, all ridden by N's... or big white guys wanting to be N's lol"
yamahakid is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:18 PM #30
Volucris
asmuchtextastheywillallow
 
Volucris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville
 has been a member for 10 years
Ah ok. I know how much easier it is to take a laptop around than it is to drag a desktop around.

I would check the fan on the GPU, it may be broken. The 6800 should never go over 70ºC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamahakid View Post
well playing cs, you could get away with integrated graphics and not have amuch of a problem
CSS is not going to run on integrated well at all.
Volucris is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:19 PM #31
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
 has been a member for 10 years
i wanna handle it perfectly, and like play BF2, i was using CS as a example
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:20 PM #32
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
 has been a member for 10 years
my hand is under the fan now its blowing out air, the side is off..this happened outta no where
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:23 PM #33
Volucris
asmuchtextastheywillallow
 
Volucris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville
 has been a member for 10 years
Are you getting artifacts or anything in games at all? Is the performance about the same as is was before the temps went up?
Volucris is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 03:29 PM #34
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
 has been a member for 10 years
weird thing is it happened when i got a anti-virus but i deleted it, but anyway the moniter looks like it has dead pixels butthey go away, performance is a lil off, running verry hot tho
dmann is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 05:08 PM #35
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
 has been a member for 10 years
Dells are more expensive with the same setup
dmann is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:11 AM #36
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
 has been a member for 10 years
i found another set up at www.ibuypower.com

AMD Turion 64 X2 Dual Core Processor TL-60 [2.0 ghz, 1 MB L2 Cache] HT
2048MB(1024MB X2) DDR2-667 PC5300
160 GB 5400rpm Serial-ATA-150 Super Slim Notebook Hard Drive
NVIDIA 256mb Geforce Go 7600 PCI-E 3D video
3D Premium Surrond Sound onboard
Microsoft Vista Premium
Built in Digital Camera
Free Carrying case

$1,555

and alienware had $100.00 shipping..ipower is free shipping, better offer hmm? but i dunno bout that processor if its good or not

Alienware setup

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5600 1.83GHz 2MB Cache 667MHz FSB
Genuine Windows® Vista Home Basic
2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SO-DIMM at 667MHz - 2 x 1024MB
100GB Serial ATA 1.5Gb/s 7,200 RPM w/ NCQ & 8MB Cache
256MB NVidia® GeForce™ Go 7600

$1,664

Last edited by dmann : 03-05-2007 at 12:05 PM.
dmann is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:31 AM #37
tmaxx_2.5
 
 
tmaxx_2.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Minnesota
 has been a member for 10 years
I ordered and just got in my HP notebook a couple of weeks ago for college and work, its somewhat loaded and was about $1,100. Great so far.
__________________
They say one day your life will flash before your eyes...make it worth watching.

Old Feedback
tmaxx_2.5 is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:40 AM #38
boomslang
lo-fi
 
boomslang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
boomslang is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmann View Post
i found another set up at www.ipower.com
The C2D is the better processor and may be worth paying extra for it.
__________________
shoot the ****: irc.oftc.net #doublethink
boomslang is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 02:46 PM #39
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
 has been a member for 10 years
anyone else?
dmann is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 02:55 PM #40
dmann
 
 
dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
 has been a member for 10 years
IBUYPOWER

AMD Turion 64 X2 Dual Core Processor TL-60 [2.0 ghz, 1 MB L2 Cache] HT
2048MB(1024MB X2) DDR2-667 PC5300
160 GB 5400rpm Serial-ATA-150 Super Slim Notebook Hard Drive
NVIDIA 256mb Geforce Go 7600 PCI-E 3D video
3D Premium Surrond Sound onboard
Microsoft Vista Premium
Built in Digital Camera
Free Carrying case

$1,555



ALIENWARE

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5600 1.83GHz 2MB Cache 667MHz FSB
Genuine Windows® Vista Home Basic
2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SO-DIMM at 667MHz - 2 x 1024MB
100GB Serial ATA 1.5Gb/s 7,200 RPM w/ NCQ & 8MB Cache
256MB NVidia® GeForce™ Go 7600

$1,664

HP

Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo T5600(1.83GHz/2MB L2Cache)
256MB NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) Go 7600 ( may consider the 512mb version for 150.00 more)
HP Imprint Finish + Microphone + Webcam
2GB DDR2 System Memory
160GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
Windows Vista Premium

$1,478
dmann is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 03:01 PM #41
zoink (Banned)
cats cats cats
 
zoink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: VA
 has been a member for 10 years
zoink is one of the top 25 posters on PbNation
I got my e1705 for 1.5k and it's specs as far as gaming would be concerned are much better than that alienware's, minus the ram...but I don't think it's that much money for an upgrade to 2 gigs. It runs all of the newer games I've played really well...the best looking one I can think of off the top of my head is Dark Messiah of Might and Magic which it was running at med-high settings. It also runs oblivion as well.

I just configured one on Dell's site:
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T7200 (2.00GHz, 4MB L2 Cache, 667 MHz FSB)
2GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MH
80GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
256MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ Go 7900 GS
Free Upgrade to Windows Vista Home

Came out to 1.7k, I guess dell's memory is a little more expensive than I'd though.
zoink is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 03:04 PM #42
JungleLarry (Banned)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
 has been a member for 10 years
Don't get an AMD processor in your laptop. Stick with the Intel Core 2 Duo.
JungleLarry is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump