converting low pressure to high pressure max-flow, help - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 09-12-2001, 09:22 PM #1
Bubbers16
 
 
Bubbers16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Kansas City
Bubbers16 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
converting low pressure to high pressure max-flow, help

How much, and how hard is it to convert my max-flow low pressure output to a high pressure output? Has anyone had any experience doing it?

Thanks,
Steve
Bubbers16 is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 09-12-2001, 09:50 PM #2
darkone
scourge
 
darkone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: canada
darkone is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
i don't the price but it is very easy to do this all you need is to change the spring to a high pressure spring which you can get from smart parts probably free of charge just ask them then just let turn your tank off make sure gun is degassed remove adjuster on front change spring and you will need a new high pressure gauge put back together www.smartparts.com hope this helps
darkone is offline  
Old 09-13-2001, 11:30 AM #3
SuPrBuGmAn
The VLM Owner
 
SuPrBuGmAn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Loxley, AL
 has been a member for 10 years
Thumbs down

Smart Parts and free stuff isn't a likely couple...
__________________
Olympus E-1 & E-420
Zuiko Digital 8mm FishEye(f3.5) ED
Zuiko Digital 11-22mm(f2.8-3.5) ED
Zuiko Digital 25mm Pancake(f2.8) ED
Zuiko Digital 50mm(f2) ED
Sigma 55-200mm DC AF(f4-5.6)
SuPrBuGmAn is offline  
Old 09-13-2001, 05:15 PM #4
bad-karma
|3D|<|2m
 
bad-karma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: coral springs
 has been a member for 10 years
amen god damn!
__________________
Guess i better start playing pb again.........
bad-karma is offline  
Old 09-17-2001, 02:42 PM #5
C]-[iLDe
Fly Or Die
 
C]-[iLDe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chicago IL
C]-[iLDe is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Strange, when i bought my 68/45 last year, BOTH sets of springs came with it. Why am i recently hearing about so many people who only got one spring or the other?
__________________
My Feedback

Having difficulty deciphering my extensive vocabulary? Click HERE
C]-[iLDe is offline  
Old 09-17-2001, 10:24 PM #6
Johnny Boy
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NY
 has been a member for 10 years
If you buy the maxflo as a package w/ the shocker (as i did), all smartparts gives you is the low pressure spring. But it [gauge] does read up to 700 (possibly 800? dont have it out). I sold the shocker to finance my LCD, and with the high pressure spring i put in the maxflo and the minireg, i get +/-3 or 4 fps. And I keep the maxflo @ 550psi input with no shootdown...sooooooo sweet
__________________
The Marker doesn't make the Player. It's the Skill that makes the Player. $hit, I should know, I've got $2k+ in equipment and I still $uck!!! But I'm having fun, and I look to improve every time out.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2k Red LCD w/ Black Accents
2k1 Black Magic w/ WGP Hinge Trigger
Both Freak'n
Johnny Boy is offline  
Old 09-17-2001, 10:31 PM #7
Bubbers16
 
 
Bubbers16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Kansas City
Bubbers16 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Yeah that's how I did it. I bought it in a package with my impulse (and the darned thing still said shocker on the max-flow). I think the reg does go upwards of 800, I'll have to check. Thanks for the info guys.

Steve
steve@a1ts.com
Bubbers16 is offline  
Old 09-17-2001, 10:40 PM #8
Papa Smurf
Tacobell reject
 
Papa Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: FL
 has been a member for 10 years
dosn't the bust disk on the max-flows that come w/ the shocker aa package come set to bust at like 250 psi or so? Or am I just mistaken?
__________________
"If Christ is going to leave the fold and become a sinner, we'll just have to go on worshipping Him
against His will."

China is a big country, inhabited by many Chinese.
-Former French President, Charles de Gaulle
Papa Smurf is offline  
Old 09-18-2001, 10:16 AM #9
Yochinaman
Gun Gigolo
 
Yochinaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ottawa, ON
Yochinaman is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
It's a pressure relief valve. It starts to leak at around 220 psi or so. It doesn't bust. Just have to change it to 1/8 NPT port plug to go to a higher pressure. The relief valve was there to protect the delicate solenoids of the shocker.

Yochi.
__________________
B/S/T Feedback: http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=1682818
Yochinaman is offline  
Old 09-18-2001, 06:52 PM #10
Papa Smurf
Tacobell reject
 
Papa Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: FL
 has been a member for 10 years
ya i know the pressure releave valve does but someone also told me that the burst disk was also set around the same psi, so I guess he was just wrong, correct?
__________________
"If Christ is going to leave the fold and become a sinner, we'll just have to go on worshipping Him
against His will."

China is a big country, inhabited by many Chinese.
-Former French President, Charles de Gaulle
Papa Smurf is offline  
Old 09-19-2001, 10:11 AM #11
Yochinaman
Gun Gigolo
 
Yochinaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ottawa, ON
Yochinaman is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Only the maxflow tank setup has a burst disk. It wouldn't make any sense if a burst disk was set for 250 psi. You wouldn't be able to use it on half the guns out there.

Yochi.
__________________
B/S/T Feedback: http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=1682818
Yochinaman is offline  
Old 09-21-2001, 01:28 AM #12
Jungdragon
 
 
Jungdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CA
 has been a member for 10 years
I'm not sure how high a pressure you could run a shocker reg using the hp spring. It's piston is a different size than that of the standard maxflow.
__________________
*********
Impulse
Freak
03 wrx
01 camry - gone
*********
Jungdragon is offline  
Old 09-21-2001, 09:53 AM #13
Yochinaman
Gun Gigolo
 
Yochinaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ottawa, ON
Yochinaman is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
I believe that larger piston is just for higher flow. I'm sure if you change the spring it'll go to a higher pressure. I've never tried it, but Johnny Boy below said he did and it worked great. Who knows why SP made the "Shocker maxflow" different from the rest.

Yochi.
__________________
B/S/T Feedback: http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=1682818
Yochinaman is offline  
Old 10-16-2001, 02:37 PM #14
prowler
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
 has been a member for 10 years
You CANNOT make a low pressure MaxFlo into a high pressure version. Here are the main differences..

1) Piston Size - The low pressure MaxFlo has a much larger piston than the high pressure MaxFlo. If you were to take out the LP piston and try to put in a HP piston.. the HP piston wouldnt fit in there. It would just wobble around in there.

2) Pressure Relief Valve - The LP version has that special little relief valve that will vent at about 200-250 psi. It has that so if your reg creeps you wont blow out your solenoids.

Sorry...
prowler is offline  
Old 10-16-2001, 02:45 PM #15
Yochinaman
Gun Gigolo
 
Yochinaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ottawa, ON
Yochinaman is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
1. Right, you can't change the piston. But nobody's saying they're going to change the piston.
2. You can always swap the pressure relief valve for a port plug.

If you put a stiffer spring the output range should increase. I don't see why not. It's up to the user to use the HP max flow in the appropriate application. Anyone who tries to feed the shocker 500 psi deserves what's coming to them. But that's not the spirit of this post, they're just asking if they could make the LP maxflow output more pressure. Who knows, they could be hooking it up to spyder for all we know.

Yochi.
Yochinaman is offline  
Old 10-16-2001, 04:47 PM #16
Bubbers16
 
 
Bubbers16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Kansas City
Bubbers16 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
I was hooking it up to my autococker, which likes it just around 200psi, a real pain in the *** when it honks at me when I try to get it up any higher.

Steve
steve@a1ts.com
Bubbers16 is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump