Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2007, 08:10 PM #1
YoungGunner55
 
 
YoungGunner55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
hooking up a router

so i had my router hooked up for a while and my modem went, so we got a new modem, the modem is a motorola SB5101 surfboard cable modem and when i hook it up to my linksys router it will say little or no connectivity, can someone tell me step by step instructions on setting up the network?
YoungGunner55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 10-06-2007, 08:34 PM #2
bornestar
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
 has been a member for 10 years
Your post makes no sense.
__________________
Here longer than you...
bornestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:01 PM #3
YoungGunner55
 
 
YoungGunner55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
anyone wanna post a helpful link?
YoungGunner55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:03 PM #4
FluffyMumkins
mluffyfumkins
 
FluffyMumkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Warrensburg
__________________
|Al Jazeera English|Foobar2000|SurplusRifle|AmmoEngine|RFC|Tag's Trance|DailyTech|NOAA|MetaCritic|
"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.". - Benjamin Franklin
paintballbum - get out of here with your logic

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
FluffyMumkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:36 PM #5
YoungGunner55
 
 
YoungGunner55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
i tried it.
YoungGunner55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:42 PM #6
Mustang7302
has been here too long
 
Mustang7302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Mustang7302 is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Mustang7302 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Power down both the modem and the router. Wait 30 seconds. Plug only the modem in and wait for the online light to go solid. Now look at the standby light, is it lit up? If it is, press the button on the top to turn it off. If the light is off, press the button to make sure it does turn on then turn it off again. Now plug in the router and wait about a minute. Do you still have the same Limited or No Connectivity notification from Windows?
__________________
Cars, Technology, and Stogies ... All the fine things in life.

"Originally posted by Volucris: Computers are tools. Man is separated by how well he chooses his tool."

"Originally posted by Rebeltilldeath3: We went from Allan Sheppard, Gus Grissom, Neil Armstrong, and Buzz Aldrin to Charlie Sheen, Lindsay Lohan, and Snooki."
Mustang7302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:48 PM #7
t-bone510
in silico
 
t-bone510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Hey......Wait just a sec thar..


You're the guy that asked us for help on a build, disregarded all our opinions, then said "newegg sux itz a ripoff im getting HP"

Go away.
__________________
Sweden
Operation TIBBS
t-bone510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 10:06 PM #8
YoungGunner55
 
 
YoungGunner55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang7302 View Post
Power down both the modem and the router. Wait 30 seconds. Plug only the modem in and wait for the online light to go solid. Now look at the standby light, is it lit up? If it is, press the button on the top to turn it off. If the light is off, press the button to make sure it does turn on then turn it off again. Now plug in the router and wait about a minute. Do you still have the same Limited or No Connectivity notification from Windows?
it still says limited or no connectivity
YoungGunner55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 10:12 PM #9
Mustang7302
has been here too long
 
Mustang7302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Mustang7302 is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Mustang7302 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Power down the modem and router again. Find the ethernet chord connected to your computer and disconnect it from the router. Take that chord and plug it directly into the modem. Power up the modem, make sure the stand by light is off. Still have the same notification?
__________________
Cars, Technology, and Stogies ... All the fine things in life.

"Originally posted by Volucris: Computers are tools. Man is separated by how well he chooses his tool."

"Originally posted by Rebeltilldeath3: We went from Allan Sheppard, Gus Grissom, Neil Armstrong, and Buzz Aldrin to Charlie Sheen, Lindsay Lohan, and Snooki."
Mustang7302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 10:14 PM #10
bornestar
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
 has been a member for 10 years
Call your isp. Dont ask another question. Call your isp.
__________________
Here longer than you...
bornestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 10:17 PM #11
YoungGunner55
 
 
YoungGunner55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
its still limited or no connectivity
YoungGunner55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 10:17 PM #12
Mustang7302
has been here too long
 
Mustang7302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Mustang7302 is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Mustang7302 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
ISPs dont support third party routers.
__________________
Cars, Technology, and Stogies ... All the fine things in life.

"Originally posted by Volucris: Computers are tools. Man is separated by how well he chooses his tool."

"Originally posted by Rebeltilldeath3: We went from Allan Sheppard, Gus Grissom, Neil Armstrong, and Buzz Aldrin to Charlie Sheen, Lindsay Lohan, and Snooki."
Mustang7302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 10:17 PM #13
Mustang7302
has been here too long
 
Mustang7302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Mustang7302 is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Mustang7302 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungGunner55 View Post
its still limited or no connectivity
Now, you can call your ISP.
__________________
Cars, Technology, and Stogies ... All the fine things in life.

"Originally posted by Volucris: Computers are tools. Man is separated by how well he chooses his tool."

"Originally posted by Rebeltilldeath3: We went from Allan Sheppard, Gus Grissom, Neil Armstrong, and Buzz Aldrin to Charlie Sheen, Lindsay Lohan, and Snooki."
Mustang7302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 10:17 PM #14
jdoohen
5th year n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang7302 View Post
Power down the modem and router again. Find the ethernet chord connected to your computer and disconnect it from the router. Take that chord and plug it directly into the modem. Power up the modem, make sure the stand by light is off. Still have the same notification?
Right.
Make sure the modem works by itself.
It if does, just put the router in between.
Should be close to plug and play.
jdoohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 10:19 PM #15
YoungGunner55
 
 
YoungGunner55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
my modem is sweet, its soooo fast, and my router isnt even old, it works, i know i probly have to change the settings or something, because when i disconnected the router my dad called the isp to get the settings back.
YoungGunner55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 10:46 PM #16
bornestar
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
 has been a member for 10 years
is it pppoe?
__________________
Here longer than you...
bornestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 06:37 AM #17
YoungGunner55
 
 
YoungGunner55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
can someone like help me out?
YoungGunner55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 08:53 AM #18
zellthemedic
GRAAAAAAA
 
zellthemedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NAS Oceana, VA
zellthemedic helped look for balloons
zellthemedic is playing at Living Legends III
zellthemedic owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
zellthemedic is for the Gunfight
zellthemedic has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by t-bone510 View Post
Hey......Wait just a sec thar..


You're the guy that asked us for help on a build, disregarded all our opinions, then said "newegg sux itz a ripoff im getting HP"

Go away.
.
__________________
After dark OT:T GDT crew: More RAM than the Himalayas
OT:T:G: We sometimes like gaming, but not really -- but we really like zombies

UNITED STATES NAVY
zellthemedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 08:56 AM #19
*knock-out05*
Where's my boomstick?!
 
*knock-out05*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Keesler AFB, MS
*knock-out05* posts videos on PbNation
*knock-out05* is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
*knock-out05* is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungGunner55 View Post
my modem is sweet, its soooo fast, and my router isnt even old, it works, i know i probly have to change the settings or something, because when i disconnected the router my dad called the isp to get the settings back.
Its not the modem thats fast, ****ing retard. Its your internet connection!!!!

No wonder you need soo much damn help cause YOURE ****ING RETARDED!!
__________________
the Chive

T:GDT Rave | BBB | iPod/Zune/iPhone/iPod Touch Repair | WTB Broken iPods

ST: Tech : Danny, smartest in STT.
*knock-out05* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 01:15 PM #20
DarkEnigma
In Silence We Are Free
 
DarkEnigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: -708-
DarkEnigma donated to help Peyton Trent
DarkEnigma supports our troops
DarkEnigma is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
Quote:
Originally Posted by *knock-out05* View Post
Its not the modem thats fast, ****ing retard. Its your internet connection!!!!

No wonder you need soo much damn help cause YOURE ****ING RETARDED!!
exactly. we have a winner.
__________________
Kyle
OSST:GDT
US ARMY
Chemical Corps
Houston Heat - Dizon #4
DarkEnigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 04:01 PM #21
YoungGunner55
 
 
YoungGunner55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
okay, than how do i hook up my router?
YoungGunner55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump