PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 02-23-2003, 07:34 AM #1
RW-2086

has been a member for 10 years
Mag good for first gun?

I'm new to paintball; I've only played once at a real field, but I want to get a gun, but I'm not sure what kind. I don't really want to get a something like a spyder, because I think I'll outgrow it quickly. So, my question is: is a mag a good furst gun or should I start with something like a spyder?
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 02-23-2003, 11:21 AM #2
TheLitt

Yes, but I'd caution you against it. Get a Tippmann or a spyder first, or rent a few more times in case you don't like the sport.

But if you buy a used mag, you have most of your bases covered. The resale value of a used mag does not drop at all, so you don't risk much. The Mag will also last you a good 10 or 15 years if you take care of it. (My mag is 9 years old now and still shooting strong). The Mag is a fairly simple marker to maintain and will treat you well if you learn the trigger. If you have more questions about mags, automags.org is a good place them.
Old 02-23-2003, 11:38 AM #3
RW-2086

I know I like paintball. Even though I've only played once at a real field, me and some friends have played in some woods together a couple times. As for the Spyder, I have a friend who will sell me a Spyder Xtra with a CO2 tank and a barrel for $50. I might just go ahead and buy that, and then save some money and buy a mag or cocker when I get better. I didn't ask about a cocker in this thread cuz there's no way I would want a cocker as my first gun from what I've heard about them, but once I learn more, I'm not ruling it out (especially what with all the little parts and all inside it, since I enjoy working on things).
Old 02-23-2003, 12:03 PM #4
PiRanTah
Dark Rises Once Again...