Help on nitro! - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 02-20-2003, 01:38 PM #1
Wonderstruck
I'm confused...
 
Wonderstruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Illinois
Wonderstruck is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Angry Help on nitro!

i'm getting nitro but i don't know the first thing to it!
what is 68/3000?
tell me more!
how many shots would i get out of a 68/3000?
__________________
Wonderstruck
FeedBack!

Last edited by Wonderstruck : 02-20-2003 at 04:23 PM.
Wonderstruck is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 02-20-2003, 01:41 PM #2
Wonderstruck
I'm confused...
 
Wonderstruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Illinois
Wonderstruck is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
I think i'm getting a 68/3000 for $80 used
is that a good deal?
__________________
Wonderstruck
FeedBack!
Wonderstruck is offline  
Old 02-20-2003, 01:52 PM #3
-PaRaDoX-
 
 
-PaRaDoX-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
 has been a member for 10 years
68ci is the size- cubi inches
3000psi is the pounds per square inch(basically how much air will fit in your tank)
-PaRaDoX- is offline  
Old 02-20-2003, 03:18 PM #4
byoung4now
UnHoly Revenge
 
byoung4now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Eagleville, Pa
byoung4now is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
byoung4now owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
there are different tank sizes like 45, 47, 68, 88, 114 the larger the tank the more air it holds.

There are also different pressures you can fill them up to the higher that amount the more air that fit. usually you will see 3000 and 4500

a 68/3000 holds less air than a 68/4500

there are screw in pre-regulated types that are normally cheaper to buy.

there are also adjustable regulated tanks. These cost more but are more flexible with the input pressure your gun may need.

HTH
byoung4now is offline  
Old 02-20-2003, 10:36 PM #5
KreSSiouS
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
 has been a member for 10 years
KreSSiouS is a Professional paintball player
Make sure you look at the Hydro date on the tank and see if it looks beat up before you buy it. Cause if he's selling a Carbon Fiber wrapped tank for $80, then there is probably something wrong, unless he's your friend and is a nice guy. You have to hydro those tanks like every 5 years, and if it doesn't pass, you gotta get a new tank.
KreSSiouS is offline  
Old 02-20-2003, 10:42 PM #6
liquidshine freak
school is for losers haha
 
liquidshine freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gibsonia,PA
 has been a member for 10 years
make sure the tank is in really good condition. if you have $5 you can go to your local bookstore and buy the march '03 issue of action pursuit games witch has a really big article on nitro(hpa)tanks. this will cover re-hydro dates, labels, what to look for in a damaged tank, and lots of other stuff you shold know before you buy.
liquidshine freak is offline  
Old 02-21-2003, 12:29 PM #7
BinfordTools
 
 
BinfordTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: San Jose,Ca
 has been a member for 10 years
Man I hate deals...
I always buy new unless its someone I know VERY WELL.
Its just not worth it to find out you spent 80 bucks and the tank is no good.Id make him go down with ya to the paintball store and if he wont dont get it from him.But hell you could buy a new one for like 50 bucks more and you know its good!
BinfordTools is offline  
Old 02-21-2003, 01:05 PM #8
-PaRaDoX-
 
 
-PaRaDoX-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
 has been a member for 10 years
same here, i hate buying used stuff, i would rather spend more money just to get it new
-PaRaDoX- is offline  
Old 02-21-2003, 01:43 PM #9
Wonderstruck
I'm confused...
 
Wonderstruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Illinois
Wonderstruck is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
this is one of my good friends i'm buying it from.
i think its alumium so is that good for 80?
its like crossfire i think
what you guys think
ya or na
__________________
Wonderstruck
FeedBack!
Wonderstruck is offline  
Old 02-21-2003, 02:14 PM #10
-PaRaDoX-
 
 
-PaRaDoX-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
 has been a member for 10 years
Check the date for hydro testing, i think its every 3 years it has to be sent away and tested, make sure that it isnt in need of testing, otherwise most fields wont fill it up. it costs around $20-30$ to be hydro tested i think
-PaRaDoX- is offline  
Old 02-25-2003, 01:14 AM #11
apitbull
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: paramus, NJ
 has been a member for 10 years
alluminum tanks(Do they exist in HPA) would most likely heat up REALLLY fast when you fill them. a freind of mine told me they used to play with co2 tanks filled with nitro, and they did tend to get a little toasty. i think the fill presssure on them is 2120 or 1800 or something like that.
stay away from steel tanks. i saw the after effects. its kind of like a grenade. if its got any scratches i wont even handle the things.

carbon fiber wrapped is your best bet. i forked over alot of cash for my maxflo 88/4500, but they just look so cool, and they really do an autococker justice. mostly people beleive if you got a maxflo, you dont need a second stage reg. this school of though goes both ways(doesnt everything in paintball). personaly, i like the second stage, i run my maxflow 200 psi above my operating pressure and i find it does help the stability. (ie 280,280,280,279,280,280,280,279,280)

Last edited by apitbull : 02-25-2003 at 01:17 AM.
apitbull is offline  
Old 02-25-2003, 02:13 AM #12
I_like_welts
Ka~Splat
 
I_like_welts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: East WA
 has been a member for 10 years
$80?, that sounds like a fair price, and he is a friend like you said.
Just make sure it works and take this advice:

While it isn't bad to trust someone, odnt be stupid, always double check.
and when your friend asks:
'don't you trust me?"
say:
"Of course I trust you, I'm just making sure(that Im not getting screwed)" LOL
and the morale of te story is be innocent but dont be naive

(a little prechy soundy but it works)
__________________
"The internet is a place where absolutely nothing happens..." - Strongbad email 'website'
I_like_welts is offline  
Old 02-25-2003, 03:14 PM #13
bLaCkIcE
Paintball Playin Jap :P
 
bLaCkIcE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, NJ
 has been a member for 10 years
u can't put nitro in a co2 tank...
__________________
Vendetta yay
Captn Carls yay
CCPL yay
Redz yay
Empire yay
Eclipse yay
bleh
#21
bLaCkIcE is offline  
Old 02-25-2003, 03:26 PM #14
byoung4now
UnHoly Revenge
 
byoung4now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Eagleville, Pa
byoung4now is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
byoung4now owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Quote:
Originally posted by bLaCkIcE
u can't put nitro in a co2 tank...
You shouldn't put nitro in a co2 tank. You could if you only fill to the recomended pressure level of the container. Well actually you could fill it higher and get onto the darwin awards list.
byoung4now is offline  
Old 02-25-2003, 03:32 PM #15
hp_lovecraft
Resident old timer
 
hp_lovecraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
 has been a member for 10 years
You can put nitro into a CO2 tank, but it only would safely hold ~1000psi.
They DO make replacement valves to convert CO2 tanks to 2500psi nitro. (designed for the rental-gun market).

You can NOT put CO2 into Nitro (fiber) tanks. It would instantly make it unsafe afterwards.

nick
hp_lovecraft is offline  
Old 02-25-2003, 03:40 PM #16
byoung4now
UnHoly Revenge
 
byoung4now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Eagleville, Pa
byoung4now is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
byoung4now owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Quote:
Originally posted by hp_lovecraft
You can put nitro into a CO2 tank, but it only would safely hold ~1000psi.
They DO make replacement valves to convert CO2 tanks to 2500psi nitro. (designed for the rental-gun market).

You can NOT put CO2 into Nitro (fiber) tanks. It would instantly make it unsafe afterwards.

nick
HP,
Good info to know about the co2 in nitro tanks. Is there any where on the web that backs up that statement? Not that I am doubting you. I just never heard that before and would like to read it on a air america or nitro duck type site.
byoung4now is offline  
Old 02-25-2003, 03:55 PM #17
byoung4now
UnHoly Revenge
 
byoung4now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Eagleville, Pa
byoung4now is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
byoung4now owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Quote:
Originally posted by byoung4now
HP,
Good info to know about the co2 in nitro tanks. Is there any where on the web that backs up that statement? Not that I am doubting you. I just never heard that before and would like to read it on a air america or nitro duck type site.
Hp,
nevermind a quick google search and I found the answer. It's the chilling process of filling a fiber tank with co2 that would cause the fiber to shrink and possibly damage the tank inside.
Thanks for the info.
byoung4now is offline  
Old 02-25-2003, 05:19 PM #18
hp_lovecraft
Resident old timer
 
hp_lovecraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
 has been a member for 10 years
I see no reason why you couldnt put CO2 into a steel nitro tank.

In fact, I've heard of teams mixing CO2 and N2 together in steel nitro tanks.... but I have no idea why. Seems counter-productive.

Nick
hp_lovecraft is offline  
Old 02-26-2003, 05:18 PM #19
byoung4now
UnHoly Revenge
 
byoung4now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Eagleville, Pa
byoung4now is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
byoung4now owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
well if the liquid co2 stayed in the bottom of the tank and didn't expand until the nitro pressure dropped you may be able to get a few more shots out of a tank. plus there is the get some liquid co2 into the valve and get a hot shot.
byoung4now is offline  
Old 03-10-2003, 01:11 PM #20
Wonderstruck
I'm confused...
 
Wonderstruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Illinois
Wonderstruck is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
you guys really killed this thread!
and you can't put nitro in a CO2 tank it would blow up!
i would know with expreince
__________________
Wonderstruck
FeedBack!
Wonderstruck is offline  
Old 03-10-2003, 01:25 PM #21
byoung4now
UnHoly Revenge
 
byoung4now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Eagleville, Pa
byoung4now is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
byoung4now owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
as long as you put less pressure in the tank than the tank is rated for yes you can put nitro into a co2 tank.

do you think the tank cares if it holds 900 psi of co2 or nitro?

I am sure there are regulations about filling containers with approved gases only.

But should not and could not are two different things.
byoung4now is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump