Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2007, 09:35 PM #715
prem205
 
 
prem205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: So Cal
How do i know which motors will work? I have like 3 motors from R/C cars and i want to use them, cause my other Halo motor doesnt want to seem to work. So how do i know if ti will work? How do i know if it drains more batteries or fries the board?
__________________
Feedback
OLD|NEW
prem205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 02-08-2007, 10:52 PM #716
CanfieldOO7
Dirtbag
 
CanfieldOO7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 262 Wisconsin
CanfieldOO7 is a Supporting Member
CanfieldOO7 helped look for balloons
CanfieldOO7 is playing at Living Legends III
CanfieldOO7 is for the Gunfight
CanfieldOO7 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
CanfieldOO7 plays in the APPA D4 division
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_dogg2021 View Post
knxbass what he said /\/\/\/\/\
Put it on the 1st page

The smell is normal as long as you use the stock capacitor.

Look up what kind of motors they are on Google? Or weigh them on a scale. Generally the more the weigh th more torque it has due to the magnets being more powerful, if you pop open the motor itself and look at how many wire windings the armature has and how thick the wire is it will tell you the speed of it. More thinner windings=more speed but less torque and visa-versa. The magnets on the side being stronger(generally heavier) can help compensate from the lack of torque if the wire isnt as thick. Now if you have lots of thick wire your in business.

And the differences between the amount of windings isnt always that noticable, sometimes its as few as 4.
__________________
We cant stop here, this is bat country.
PbN+OC=Ban
There is a time for war - Ecclesiastes 3:8
PbN
Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum
"Originally posted by adamb2k2: Canfield you're a ****ing *******."
CanfieldOO7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 11:21 PM #717
prem205
 
 
prem205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: So Cal
Any other way i can take that gold thing off on the motor if i dont have a vise clamp?
__________________
Feedback
OLD|NEW
prem205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 11:27 PM #718
CanfieldOO7
Dirtbag
 
CanfieldOO7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 262 Wisconsin
CanfieldOO7 is a Supporting Member
CanfieldOO7 helped look for balloons
CanfieldOO7 is playing at Living Legends III
CanfieldOO7 is for the Gunfight
CanfieldOO7 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
CanfieldOO7 plays in the APPA D4 division
You could use a drill bit if you are steady enough. I believe the bit size is 5/64. I know thats what i used to try and more it out so it slides onto the shaft easier and so i dont destroy the current motor i have it on in case i ever choose to remove it.
__________________
We cant stop here, this is bat country.
PbN+OC=Ban
There is a time for war - Ecclesiastes 3:8
PbN
Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum
"Originally posted by adamb2k2: Canfield you're a ****ing *******."
CanfieldOO7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 11:30 PM #719
prem205
 
 
prem205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: So Cal
Wait, isnt there something called a speedwheel? Cant i just get one of those and put it on?
__________________
Feedback
OLD|NEW
prem205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 12:28 AM #720
CanfieldOO7
Dirtbag
 
CanfieldOO7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 262 Wisconsin
CanfieldOO7 is a Supporting Member
CanfieldOO7 helped look for balloons
CanfieldOO7 is playing at Living Legends III
CanfieldOO7 is for the Gunfight
CanfieldOO7 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
CanfieldOO7 plays in the APPA D4 division
Yes but it still wont be as fast as a new motor. The stock one spins at around 8k RPM. The HD2 or Power Dash spin at more than 2x that amount.
__________________
We cant stop here, this is bat country.
PbN+OC=Ban
There is a time for war - Ecclesiastes 3:8
PbN
Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum
"Originally posted by adamb2k2: Canfield you're a ****ing *******."
CanfieldOO7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 12:34 AM #721
knxbass
The Restoration of Chaos
 
knxbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: 501, Arkansas
ok if I get this motor
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXETF9&P=7
what all do I need to contect it to the board and can I get two and put one on my empire and halo?
thanks and sry I'm new to all of this loader stuff
knxbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 12:35 AM #722
prem205
 
 
prem205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: So Cal
So if i did the Hyper Dash motor mod, does it use more battery? Can i use a speedwheel w/ the Hyper Dash motor?

Well i installed the motor i found. I put the resistor on there as well. But when my batteries go to like 8.4v my Halo is extremely slow. I know its the motor but.....is there any way to fix that? Can i take the resistor off? What will happen if i did?
__________________
Feedback
OLD|NEW

Last edited by prem205 : 02-09-2007 at 01:17 AM.
prem205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 02:22 AM #723
CanfieldOO7
Dirtbag
 
CanfieldOO7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 262 Wisconsin
CanfieldOO7 is a Supporting Member
CanfieldOO7 helped look for balloons
CanfieldOO7 is playing at Living Legends III
CanfieldOO7 is for the Gunfight
CanfieldOO7 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
CanfieldOO7 plays in the APPA D4 division
The thinger that you solder onto the motor is a capacitor and not a resistor.
__________________
We cant stop here, this is bat country.
PbN+OC=Ban
There is a time for war - Ecclesiastes 3:8
PbN
Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum
"Originally posted by adamb2k2: Canfield you're a ****ing *******."
CanfieldOO7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 02:23 AM #724
CanfieldOO7
Dirtbag
 
CanfieldOO7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 262 Wisconsin
CanfieldOO7 is a Supporting Member
CanfieldOO7 helped look for balloons
CanfieldOO7 is playing at Living Legends III
CanfieldOO7 is for the Gunfight
CanfieldOO7 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
CanfieldOO7 plays in the APPA D4 division
Quote:
Originally Posted by knxbass View Post
ok if I get this motor
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXETF9&P=7
what all do I need to contect it to the board and can I get two and put one on my empire and halo?
thanks and sry I'm new to all of this loader stuff
Yes, you can put it on either, just make sure that you solder on the capacitor that is on the stock motor as well.
__________________
We cant stop here, this is bat country.
PbN+OC=Ban
There is a time for war - Ecclesiastes 3:8
PbN
Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum
"Originally posted by adamb2k2: Canfield you're a ****ing *******."
CanfieldOO7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 03:06 AM #725
m_dogg2021
El Rey Del La Halo!!
 
m_dogg2021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Welches, OR 97067
Annual Supporting Member
m_dogg2021 is a Supporting Member
turbo(a-5) - now you see why I love them but yea the smell is normal I have tryed to do somthing about it but I dont see it hurting anything. I have had the same HD2 motor in my halo for about a year now and I still dont see any signs of it dying.

prem205 - well to see what motors work is the good old way of slaping it in your halo. As for your other question, yes there is another way its called a pinon puller they will run you any where from $5 - $30 for a nice one. I only have one becase as you may know I do these mods for other ppl so it makes life way easier. If you cant find one then just shoot me a pm and ill link you.
__________________
100% POSITIVE FEEDBACK PBN 128+ 0- ____ e-bay 72+ 0-


.

IF YOU SHIP ANY PB PART WITH A NORMAL ENVELOPE I WILL KILL YOU.
m_dogg2021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 11:47 AM #726
p8nt4brainz
 
 
p8nt4brainz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo(a-5) View Post
Wow m dog i jsut got my hyper dash 2 back and this thing is amazing. Its so fast its crazy. But i have a question, There is this weird smell coming from it. Could it just be the new of it burning off? Your money is on its way to you so have no fear
The smell is from the upgraded brushes the HD2 uses.
__________________
Open Source Hardware
p8nt4brainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 04:17 PM #727
turbo(a-5)
timmah
 
turbo(a-5)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: B,ham Alabama
oh and 1 more question m_DOGG is it ok if i run my v35board on setting 6 with this motor?
__________________

PSN: blacklist16
turbo(a-5) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 05:39 PM #728
prem205
 
 
prem205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: So Cal
Well i put the new motor in(Not Hyperdash 2) and it works. But the only problem is that it doesnt have much torque. It stops working at 8.6v.....lol. At 9v it works perfectly fine. So how can i fix that?
__________________
Feedback
OLD|NEW

Last edited by prem205 : 02-09-2007 at 07:52 PM.
prem205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 07:51 PM #729
turbo(a-5)
timmah
 
turbo(a-5)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: B,ham Alabama
You have to use Nimh batteries
__________________

PSN: blacklist16
turbo(a-5) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 07:53 PM #730
prem205
 
 
prem205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: So Cal
Its not the hyperdash motor. Its a motor i found that was used for R/C cars.
__________________
Feedback
OLD|NEW
prem205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 08:13 PM #731
dueydog
Give your Halo The BONE!
 
dueydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas
dueydog is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by prem205 View Post
Well i put the new motor in(Not Hyperdash 2) and it works. But the only problem is that it doesnt have much torque. It stops working at 8.6v.....lol. At 9v it works perfectly fine. So how can i fix that?
You still need to use a better power source. If you put a race motor in a hot rod, then use low octane street gas, you get crappy results.

Better motor + better power source = happy halo! Lol.

Good luck,
Matt
__________________
The BONE! Rechargeable Battery for ANY 6AA / Dual 9volt Loader
More SPEED, Less Weight, 1,000 Recharges!
www.DUEYDOGPAINTBALL.com

Gear & Parts
Feedbacks--> PBN - AO - PBR - eBay
dueydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 10:25 PM #732
m_dogg2021
El Rey Del La Halo!!
 
m_dogg2021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Welches, OR 97067
Annual Supporting Member
m_dogg2021 is a Supporting Member
turbo(a-5) - yes but why? the halo well run a lil slower on 4 but you will save more on batteries.

prem205 - what he said /\/\/\/\/\/\/\
__________________
100% POSITIVE FEEDBACK PBN 128+ 0- ____ e-bay 72+ 0-


.

IF YOU SHIP ANY PB PART WITH A NORMAL ENVELOPE I WILL KILL YOU.
m_dogg2021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 10:29 PM #733
prem205
 
 
prem205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: So Cal
Alright, but respond to my PM m_dogg. I think i might want you to do that mod for me if you can.
__________________
Feedback
OLD|NEW
prem205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 01:36 PM #734
turbo(a-5)
timmah
 
turbo(a-5)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: B,ham Alabama
ha I was just wondering i wanted to see the full speed of my hopper
__________________

PSN: blacklist16
turbo(a-5) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 12:31 AM #735
chucknasty626
 
 
chucknasty626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Southern California
nice
__________________
+26/0 MY OLD FEEDBACK http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.p...3#post19295783
+10/0 MY NEW FEEDBACKhttp://www.pbnation.com/feedback.php?u=117445
Limted Amount of Rupture Clothing Take a LOOK!!!
http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=2293244
chucknasty626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump