Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 12-09-2002, 04:13 AM #1
HecK
Who?
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NW Arkansas
 has been a member for 10 years
Anyone having problems with WAS eye???

I got my WAS eye in the other day, installed it and took it out to the field to make sure everything was shooting good before my next tourny. Take it up to the chrono and the gun starts shooting like it doesn't detect a ball in the breech. So frustrated, I pushed the bolt forward and pull the trigger a couple times to turn the eye off (i have a gz) and the thing still shoots with the eye on. In order to get it to turn off i had to stick my finger in the breech and cover one side totally with my finger (yes the air was off). I put the old eye back in and everything worked just fine, so i have no clue whats going on. Just seeing if anyone had any similar problems cause i'm a little frustrated i spent 10 bones on something useless to me. late

HecK
HecK is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 05:05 AM #2
DScotty
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: California
 has been a member for 10 years
Me too

Got the new board and eye....and the gun is doing the same thing....why?????????????
__________________
If you are going to go big......GO Xtreme!!!!
DScotty is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 06:38 AM #3
one five one
 
 
one five one's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
one five one is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
My WAS eye's doing the same thing! What is it with these things??
__________________
free agent
Cody Brown, formerly of Ultimate
email me at codyrotten@gmail.com
one five one is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 09:29 AM #4
speedballfreak
i wanna be james bond
 
speedballfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: monroe, nc
speedballfreak is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
my was eye shoots ok, but i noticed when you chop a ball ( yes it does see through the chopped paint) it went in to bypass so you cant shoot as fast unless you turn the gun off and then back on.
speedballfreak is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 09:50 AM #5
cpelton
 
 
cpelton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
 has been a member for 10 years
well if its going into bypass, then its not seeing through the paint..
__________________
Lockdown
cpelton is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 10:32 AM #6
one five one
 
 
one five one's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
one five one is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
We need to get Jim on here to help us with our eyes.
Help us por favor!
__________________
free agent
Cody Brown, formerly of Ultimate
email me at codyrotten@gmail.com
one five one is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 10:39 AM #7
speedballfreak
i wanna be james bond
 
speedballfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: monroe, nc
speedballfreak is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
i does see through the paint, mabey its not bypass, i dont know- you can still shoot. just not as fast
speedballfreak is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 10:47 AM #8
Vegasken
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
 has been a member for 10 years
Unhappy

I've got the same problem. My GZ won't recognize the first couple of trigger pulls, then will shoot off about 3-4 in a row, and then delays again with the WAS eye. Works fine when I put the stock eye back in. I emailed Jim at WAS about it, he should be back soon from the Vegas Pan Am. I'm sure he'll have an answer. Maybe it was just a bad batch of eyes?
Vegasken is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 10:48 AM #9
KMA
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NY
KMA is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
KMA supports DLX Technology
off topic

speedballfreak,

Nice avatar!

I actually made it from a slightly modified version of Meatloaf's blue 2k2 version.

Good luck!
__________________
╔╦╗╔═╦═╦══
║║╚╣║║║║╔╗
║╔╗║║║║║╠╣
╚╝╚╩╩═╩╩╝╚
R&M Paintball - Headrush - BlackSheep
100% Positive Feedback
KMA is online now  
Old 12-09-2002, 10:53 AM #10
speedballfreak
i wanna be james bond
 
speedballfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: monroe, nc
speedballfreak is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
hey i like the avatar, you should feel proud if you made it. but if you want me to change it i will.
speedballfreak is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 03:41 PM #11
one five one
 
 
one five one's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
one five one is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally posted by Vegasken
I've got the same problem. My GZ won't recognize the first couple of trigger pulls, then will shoot off about 3-4 in a row, and then delays again with the WAS eye. Works fine when I put the stock eye back in. I emailed Jim at WAS about it, he should be back soon from the Vegas Pan Am. I'm sure he'll have an answer. Maybe it was just a bad batch of eyes?
That's EXACTLY what mine does.
__________________
free agent
Cody Brown, formerly of Ultimate
email me at codyrotten@gmail.com
one five one is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 03:49 PM #12
stevelee
Wannabe Pro
 
stevelee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cloud 9
 has been a member for 10 years
I was thinking about getting this, but might save my $$ now.

Has anyone tried the WAS eye with paint in the breech as compared to the stock eye with paint in the breech and proven that it does actually make a difference?

Considering the number of people having problems unless there is a noticeable difference I don't think I will bother...??? It seems like more trouble than it's worth?
stevelee is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 04:02 PM #13
Burnt Pixel
east coast killa
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Burnt Pixel is a Supporting Member
Burnt Pixel is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Do any of you have the oring on the original eye installed on the new WAS eye? I was having the same problems, and then I realized that I forgot to install the oring around the WAS eye...

Without the oring, the eye sits incorrectly, and "sees" up into the chamber, not across the correct path, therefore the gun does not like to work correctly.
Burnt Pixel is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 04:27 PM #14
Vegasken
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
 has been a member for 10 years
Good point, but I did make sure the o-ring was on the eye and that it was in all the way. Bolt position is fine as well. Its definitely the new eye.
Vegasken is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 05:02 PM #15
turboss
Got Boost?
 
turboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Annual Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
turboss owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
turboss owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
turboss has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
turboss supports Empire
My Classic with WAS board and eye did the same. Took out the WAS eye and all is right with the world again.
turboss is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 07:21 PM #16
SnapsPaintball.com
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auburn, WA
SnapsPaintball.com is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
More then likely it's from the eye not being aligned correctly. Not having the O-rings could do that and the eye covers being tightened to tight. Metal eye covers could be touching the exposed wires on the eye, a piece of electrical tape would fix that. These are the most common reasons why the eye does not work.
__________________
SnapsPaintball

All your Intimidator needs.
SnapsPaintball.com is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 09:37 PM #17
HecK
Who?
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NW Arkansas
 has been a member for 10 years
I also put the o-ring on there as said in the instructions. I also thought maybe it wasn't aligned correctly so i took the eye covers off and made sure the suckers were pointing straight at each other and still no dice. Still looking for a solution. Late

HecK
HecK is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 09:55 PM #18
dustin554
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MN
 has been a member for 10 years
Don't know what to tell u I got mine today. I installed them and put them in force mode and it wont fire which means the eye is working. Aslo tryed all the other settings and it work.
dustin554 is offline  
Old 12-09-2002, 10:06 PM #19
one five one
 
 
one five one's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
one five one is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Yep, my o-ring's on there. And they're aligned correctly, but it just acts like nothing's there.
__________________
free agent
Cody Brown, formerly of Ultimate
email me at codyrotten@gmail.com
one five one is offline  
Old 12-10-2002, 01:46 AM #20
amused
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco
 has been a member for 10 years
1) Gas the gun and make sure it's off.
2) Look or feel for where the bolt sits in relation to the back of the breech
3) If it's not flush, you're in trouble and you need an adjustable ram cap.
4) When you get an adjustable ram cap, adjust the gun pressurized so the bolt is flush with the back of the breech.
5) Your eye will now see the ball.

I've broken paint in my gun, no problems, eyes stay in forced mode. I love my wicked eye, but we do a lot of timmy work and see a lot of guns that need adjustable caps for the WAS board forced eye mode and wicked eye to work properly. It's not set and forget, the rubber bumper wears and you have to keep an eye on your bolt position.
amused is offline  
Old 12-10-2002, 09:55 AM #21
HecK
Who?
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NW Arkansas
 has been a member for 10 years
Thanks amused but along with my WAS eye purchase, i also bought an adjustable ram cap, so needless to say, bolt position is not my problem. Still looking for an answer. Late

HecK
HecK is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump