Which ram to get? - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 05-23-2006, 06:13 PM #1
luap
RAWR!!11!!
 
luap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
luap is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Which ram to get?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145575
luap is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 05-23-2006, 06:28 PM #2
Autococker_Penguin
The Streets
 
Autococker_Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Hard decision. They are pretty much the same RAM, different companies. Ive always like OCZ better though, so thats what Id recommend.
__________________
Originally posted by The Dread Pirate
"My opinions should be taken as absolute truths, to the point that cults, scientific laws, strict dogma, and wars are formed around them."



Autococker_Penguin is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 06:32 PM #3
luap
RAWR!!11!!
 
luap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
luap is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Yea, I think I might go with the OCZ. The timing on it is a little better then the Corsair ram.BTW, I don't OC ram.
luap is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 06:43 PM #4
Scoty2Hottyv2
<(^^,)>
 
Scoty2Hottyv2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Jersey or Albany
it really dosen't matter, chances are your not going to notice a difference between the two. just go for the cheaper set.
__________________
ST:A - 0 to 60 in the low 12's




RPI Paintball
Scoty2Hottyv2 is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 06:54 PM #5
NeverForgetYa
Flip the script
 
NeverForgetYa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
 has been a member for 10 years
I would vote OCZ.

I have a set of OCZ at 2-2-2-5 timings. They shipped with slower default and I had to increase the voltage and adjust the timings manually but it's the fastest memory I've ever owned. Both brands carry a lifetime warranty. I am partial to OCZ because they actually encourage overclocking, which to me is a sign of quality memory.
__________________
All-American
punishersPB
SmartParts
NeverForgetYa is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 08:02 PM #6
ClawHammer
Kraft durch Freude
 
ClawHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UAE
ClawHammer is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
If your not overclocking anything will work, it doesn't really matter, just get what you can afford. However if you were trying to score something that you could push anything with Samsung TCCD or TCC5 chips (Winbond BH-5 if you can find it, been out of production for over a year though), OCZ in the higherend sticks use TCC5 chips. TCCD and TCC5 can take 220Mhz at Cas 2-2-2 even as high as 300Mhz at 2.5-4-4.

Last edited by ClawHammer : 05-23-2006 at 08:50 PM.
ClawHammer is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 08:06 PM #7
Juztyn
Conebone69
 
Juztyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Juztyn is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
I cannot say anything about the Corsair RAM, but I do own the OCZ RAM, and I have had nothing but great performance out it. Before I owned that RAM, I had some OCZ Value RAM, and it was OK. But I put my buddies OCZ Platinum ram in there, and it made a HUGE difference (with benchmarks that is). So I deciced to buy it. Ive owned them since Feburary, and had zero problems with them.
__________________
I don't need no instructions to know how to rock!


XBL = Khorrupt
Juztyn is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 08:20 PM #8
Volucris
asmuchtextastheywillallow
 
Volucris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville
Corsair has been good for me. C'mon it's just ram.
Volucris is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 08:46 PM #9
Baboon
Photomob
 
Baboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Anaheim, CA
Baboon is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Baboon is a Paintball photographer
Ive always had good luck with corsair and love my xms. What motherboard do you have because asus boards have been known to be very picky with ram. Asus supports corsair but a lot of people have problems with ocz on their boards.
Baboon is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 08:48 PM #10
SPPaintball
 
 
SPPaintball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
I have the same Corsair RAM.

I like it.
SPPaintball is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 08:58 PM #11
Volucris
asmuchtextastheywillallow
 
Volucris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville
Just go with the Corsair. I would.
Volucris is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 09:01 PM #12
luap
RAWR!!11!!
 
luap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
luap is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
I ordered the OCZ.

I have a DFI lanparty mobo
luap is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 10:14 PM #13
Volucris
asmuchtextastheywillallow
 
Volucris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville
Quote:
Originally Posted by luap
I ordered the OCZ.

I have a DFI lanparty mobo
Well, if we had known what mobo you had...
Yeah, OCZ likes DFI.
Volucris is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 11:07 PM #14
baver10
 
 
baver10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Texas
Corsair, great ram and great customer service incase anything does go wrong.
__________________
My Feedback
baver10 is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump