newb networking question - Page 2 - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 05-24-2006, 08:52 AM #22
OneFourDeuce
 
 
OneFourDeuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pawtucket RI
Quote:
Originally Posted by deejay88
I don't think anybody defined bridge.

A bridge is a component that connects disimilar (spelling?) networks. A wireless access point acts as a bridge between WiFi and the cat5 strung through your walls, for example. There are bridges for going back and forth between ethernet, token ring, 10base2, 10base5, 10baseT, 100baseFX, blah, blah, blah, blah....

Not a very good definition...but when it boils down...you don't really need to have a very heavy grasp on bridges. The only thing that resembles a bridge that you and me will probably ever work with is the wirleess feature integrated into a SOHO router/switch (from netgear, linksys, dlink...etc).


Of course...if you're talking about logical bridges (like putting a modem into bridge mode or bridging two networks in Windows, for example): we need to start another thread. lol.

Take care.
Opps i forgot to mention the bridge

and yellowsnowman, you are right. i was just interning with a company, and it was still in my head of the price differences since of course they buy it in bulk boxes
__________________
Providence.
XB360 Gamertag: PwdByPenguins
3rd PLACE OF THE 9/11 pbnation poker challenge
http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=1754061
OneFourDeuce is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 05-24-2006, 09:07 AM #23
deejay88
pballer2oo7 | skrip_kid
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norman, OK
deejay88 plays in the APPA D5 division
Cat5e is the way to go for gigabit, though. But I know I haven't broken down and upgraded my 100base hardware yet. I'm also still using 802.11b.

Anyway...take care.
deejay88 is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 09:36 AM #24
OneFourDeuce
 
 
OneFourDeuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pawtucket RI
gigabit in the house? not yet. 100base is fine for home use :0)
__________________
Providence.
XB360 Gamertag: PwdByPenguins
3rd PLACE OF THE 9/11 pbnation poker challenge
http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=1754061
OneFourDeuce is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 11:50 AM #25
deejay88
pballer2oo7 | skrip_kid
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norman, OK
deejay88 plays in the APPA D5 division
Ditto...and 802.11b is fine for home too...if you get anywhere near optimal throughput.
deejay88 is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump