Fast and The Furious Never Made Much Sense to Me - Page 4 - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:39 PM #64
Twenty4/7_Ep3
GangSTA
 
Twenty4/7_Ep3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: IL,nw AR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legacy
Have you ever installed a injection system on an engine? I mean really installed one, aftermarket computer, fuel rail, ect. Have to deal fuel to air ratios, pulse times and a couple other things on top of that.
Lol its not that hard.
__________________
ST:F Come at me bro
ST:A because racecar
1996 Civic Race
1992 Civic Street
Twenty4/7_Ep3 is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 01-03-2006, 08:47 PM #65
blue69camaro383 (Banned)
 
blue69camaro383's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by daytonfrontman
the point here is that that engine was not meant for anything like that old stang. period

edit: i'm pretty sure the boss had accomadating modifications outside of just a big engine...why is that is my question. cause the chassis wasn't exactly super
how about the zl1 camaro or corvette...both 600hp cars from the FACTORY

the vette with a few carb tweaks and open headers to pop off a 10.70@130+

pretty nice for a carbed pos?
blue69camaro383 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:48 PM #66
blue69camaro383 (Banned)
 
blue69camaro383's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twenty4/7_Ep3
Lol its not that hard.

so you know how to set up an aftermarket system with data aquisition and then tune it from scratch?
blue69camaro383 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:19 PM #67
Twenty4/7_Ep3
GangSTA
 
Twenty4/7_Ep3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: IL,nw AR
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue69camaro383
so you know how to set up an aftermarket system with data aquisition and then tune it from scratch?
we replaced almost every fuel delivery componet on my friends turbo ep3. we tuned it off a base map for a turd greddy kit. the car was not even able to be revved. we added fuel were it was leaning and took away fuel were it was rich. its almost perfect now.

the fuel system on my buddies k24 eg is going to impressive. his motor is finished but he got into some trouble with his dad so we will see how that goes.
__________________
ST:F Come at me bro
ST:A because racecar
1996 Civic Race
1992 Civic Street
Twenty4/7_Ep3 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:28 PM #68
gee_el_ex (Banned)
 
gee_el_ex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: long islandizzle, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legacy
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahah ahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahah ahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahah ahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhaha

I really hope you're kidding and if you aren't then
:shrug: it's not a waste of an engine, but IMO, the R34 skyline looks better. :shrug: an upgrade to EFI is notable, but if you're gonna do a muscle car, give it a muscle engine....I suppose.
gee_el_ex is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:34 PM #69
daytonfrontman
Dogbegone.com my ***
 
daytonfrontman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: So-Mich, So-sweet
 has been a member for 10 years
I'll concede that carb's can make power (since that's what blue seems to be arguing, strictly horsepower) if all the carb freaks will admit that:

A. EFI is more efficient
B. EFI is a technological advance for the auto industry
C. That RB26 Should not be in the mustang, which was the threadmaker's POV
__________________
My Feedback
daytonfrontman is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:42 PM #70
blue69camaro383 (Banned)
 
blue69camaro383's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
question:....have you ever messed with a carb before and what kind?...what did you do to it?
blue69camaro383 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:45 PM #71
gee_el_ex (Banned)
 
gee_el_ex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: long islandizzle, NY
the physics behind a carb is neat, and the use of a float, etc. to regulate the mix is creative, but...now that we have onboard computers that can, on the fly, calculate the optimal mix....why resist?

why are you resisting, don't you have Ls1 dreams?
gee_el_ex is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:51 PM #72
blue69camaro383 (Banned)
 
blue69camaro383's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
the carb that came on my car was electrically controlled....my car had a computer


dont you have a door lockl to fix?
blue69camaro383 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:03 PM #73
daytonfrontman
Dogbegone.com my ***
 
daytonfrontman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: So-Mich, So-sweet
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue69camaro383
question:....have you ever messed with a carb before and what kind?...what did you do to it?

Yes. I believe it was a Holley 1300 CFM Carb at the time, at least from what I recall last time I dared go under the hood. It was on my dad's Roadrunner with the 440. 4 barrel I believe. Thing was a son of a *****. Standard Air/Fuel Tuning is all we did, and it ran like poopy. We figured we needed a bigger manifold, which we did. Therefore, thats why they are inefficient. So many things have to be changed. EFI = plug and play. Change your intake? oh well.
__________________
My Feedback
daytonfrontman is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:16 PM #74
blue69camaro383 (Banned)
 
blue69camaro383's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by daytonfrontman
Yes. I believe it was a Holley 1300 CFM Carb at the time, at least from what I recall last time I dared go under the hood. It was on my dad's Roadrunner with the 440. 4 barrel I believe. Thing was a son of a *****. Standard Air/Fuel Tuning is all we did, and it ran like poopy. We figured we needed a bigger manifold, which we did. Therefore, thats why they are inefficient. So many things have to be changed. EFI = plug and play. Change your intake? oh well.

well..if it is a 1300cfm...not sure if holley makes it...the car is over carbed!!!


an 850 dp would have been more than adequate on a 440...not need for that huge of a carb...it would be like me putting a 750dp on my car...it would run like *** and wash the clylinders out


you dont think efi suffers from different or bad intakes , runners or set ups?....TPI is one of the crappiest set up efi intake manifolds out there...but works ok for a STOCK motor....both carb and efi have benfits, and downfalls


if needed i can make an adjustment on my carb in no less than 5 minutes, including changing a secondary spring...then off i go....from what i learned holly's are the most versatile and easiest carbs to work with

i
blue69camaro383 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:24 PM #75
NEp8ntballer
 
 
NEp8ntballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
NEp8ntballer supports our troops
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue69camaro383
well..if it is a 1300cfm...not sure if holley makes it...the car is over carbed!!!


an 850 dp would have been more than adequate on a 440...not need for that huge of a carb...it would be like me putting a 750dp on my car...it would run like *** and wash the clylinders out


you dont think efi suffers from different or bad intakes , runners or set ups?....TPI is one of the crappiest set up efi intake manifolds out there...but works ok for a STOCK motor....both carb and efi have benfits, and downfalls


if needed i can make an adjustment on my carb in no less than 5 minutes, including changing a secondary spring...then off i go....from what i learned holly's are the most versatile and easiest carbs to work with

i
no such thing as too much carb. you can only have not enough signal. with the proper boosters you can put an 850 cfm carb or larger on a 350 ci motor, all we need is somebody to make a manifold to do so.
__________________
best porn thread in ST history by ScorpionShock - I was there 6/7 or 6/8 depending on your timezone

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Official ST Atheists #8


Old Feedback
NEp8ntballer is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:35 PM #76
NEp8ntballer
 
 
NEp8ntballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
NEp8ntballer supports our troops
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee_el_ex
:shrug: it's not a waste of an engine, but IMO, the R34 skyline looks better. :shrug: an upgrade to EFI is notable, but if you're gonna do a muscle car, give it a muscle engine....I suppose.
ok this can't go both ways. keep your precious *NO RACISM INTENDED*Asian*NO RACISM INTENDED* motors in your *NO RACISM INTENDED*Asian*NO RACISM INTENDED* cars. however slmost any vehicle can be made better with some good ol' V8 american muscle. I say some because a civic is beyond help.
__________________
best porn thread in ST history by ScorpionShock - I was there 6/7 or 6/8 depending on your timezone

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Official ST Atheists #8


Old Feedback
NEp8ntballer is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:39 PM #77
blue69camaro383 (Banned)
 
blue69camaro383's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by NEp8ntballer
no such thing as too much carb. you can only have not enough signal. with the proper boosters you can put an 850 cfm carb or larger on a 350 ci motor, all we need is somebody to make a manifold to do so.
yes there is a such thing...would it be wise to put a 1050 on my 305?.,,...it would be over carbed...if you dont have enough signal for that carb then its over cabned right?


what boosters?...

when you chose a carb you gotta determine what you're going to be doing with it, rpm and maximum airflow are the biggest things


engine cu x max rpm
dvide by 2 divide by 1728


that is what you're suppost to use when going carb and getting one for what you need

using that it comes to 584 cfm needed for my motor, i have a 600cfm


only way i could see over carbing a motor is if you use a vac secondary motor that only opens the secondaries with vac signal, otherwise you only use the ront 2 unless you change the settings and have a really light yellow spring at which the secondaries open are 1625rpms
blue69camaro383 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:40 PM #78
blue69camaro383 (Banned)
 
blue69camaro383's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by NEp8ntballer
ok this can't go both ways. keep your precious *NO RACISM INTENDED*Asian*NO RACISM INTENDED* motors in your *NO RACISM INTENDED*Asian*NO RACISM INTENDED* cars. however slmost any vehicle can be made better with some good ol' V8 american muscle. I say some because a civic is beyond help.
lol
blue69camaro383 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:47 PM #79
NEp8ntballer
 
 
NEp8ntballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
NEp8ntballer supports our troops
I'm just gonna post a link to the article.(an Art thing to do) Otherwise I don't know how to explain it. In a nutshell a booster is designed to boost the signal*pun not intended*

http://popularhotrodding.com/tech/0511phr_carb/
__________________
best porn thread in ST history by ScorpionShock - I was there 6/7 or 6/8 depending on your timezone

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Official ST Atheists #8


Old Feedback
NEp8ntballer is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:48 PM #80
blue69camaro383 (Banned)
 
blue69camaro383's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
what i said is quoted from a holley carb rebuild book
blue69camaro383 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:52 PM #81
subtract_5
red ryder FTW!
 
subtract_5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
subtract_5 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
well when your granny shifting and not double clutching like you should...
__________________
Purp in my cup

I miss the days of OG Gridlock and Trauma
subtract_5 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:55 PM #82
blue69camaro383 (Banned)
 
blue69camaro383's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
so pretty much you'd need to pull apart a bigger carb or make sure it has good boosters in it to compete with the drivability of the smaller carb that works perfectly ok on the motor
blue69camaro383 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:55 PM #83
NEp8ntballer
 
 
NEp8ntballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
NEp8ntballer supports our troops
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue69camaro383
what i said is quoted from a holley carb rebuild book
I'm guessing you didn't read it. they tested everything that they put on there. there was another article in the same issue as that one about the myths of carb sizing.

If you didn't read it the old saying is true: you can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue69camaro383
so pretty much you'd need to pull apart a bigger carb or make sure it has good boosters in it to compete with the drivability of the smaller carb that works perfectly ok on the motor
you could phrase it that way but with the larger carb you would have higher top rpm output. Also the demon line of carbs have annular boosters, so theoretically it could work. and: "everything always works in theory" figured i'd put a quote in there just in case this turns our false some day
__________________
best porn thread in ST history by ScorpionShock - I was there 6/7 or 6/8 depending on your timezone

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Official ST Atheists #8


Old Feedback

Last edited by NEp8ntballer : 01-03-2006 at 10:58 PM.
NEp8ntballer is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:56 PM #84
AGP16
CumminTryMe
 
AGP16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
AGP16 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
1250 cfm is the big Holley.
__________________
Diesel Power-736rwhp 1588rwtq

Combat Wounded Marine - Some Assembly Required
AGP16 is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump