Community Focus

Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 08-23-2005, 09:12 AM #1
DeltaFox
Im in the 50

has been a member for 10 years
Suggestions to improve GPL

Hey,

I haven't seen a thread dedicated on peoples ideas to improve the GPL experience, so here comes one. Post your ideas on what YOU think could be done differently to make the next tournament a better overall experience. Please refrain from any flaming, and please do not post without contributing a positive idea.

1) Reffing :
I worked as a ref on the xball field. (Yes Cyndi, I was late. Sorry about that, wont happen again ) I believe that reffing was pretty straight on throughout the day. However, when it came time for finals we did not have a chrono referee assigned to us. We had to drop one of our field refs to let him do that job. (He didn't seem to mind though ) I would like to see one dedicated chrono ref for each field throughout the day, just like the field and head referees are.

I did see some rather young referees. I am not looking to attack them in any way with this post, they were trying to do their job to the best of their ability. I have worked with younger referees (and been one myself) and feel that they are unable to hold their own in a tournament setting. Most of the younger referees are hesitant to get in their for a paint check when not told to by someone else. They also will often change their calls when a player says "that is just rub". Third, they almost NEVER will pull a penalty due to fear of players yelling at them. I would like to see a minimum age of 16-17-ish for all referees to insure that they get the job done.

MAKE SURE that you always continue to give the refs the coolers full of sandwiches, juice, fruit etc. That was a huge boost.

2) Scheduling