Which inline reg??? - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 07-26-2001, 11:05 PM #1
Splat Max
DIXIE FOREVER!!!
 
Splat Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: GA
 has been a member for 10 years
Which inline reg???

Ok, I can get a new or used Vigilante for $30-$40, would it be worth the extra $30-$40 to get a gladiator or something. What type of consistency could I expect with the vigilante and my Max Attack. Thanks, please reply ASAP.
__________________
American by birth, Southern by the grace of God!
Dying is not a choice, where you go after you die is YOUR choice
Jesus is the way!
John 3:16
Splat Max is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 07-27-2001, 01:12 PM #2
oldguy
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
 has been a member for 10 years
The Vig will work very well with that tank. There is nothing wrong with a Vig on Bushy. Its a good low pressure reg. There may be others better, like the sidewinder or the gladiator but you will be happy with a Vigilante
__________________
Oldguy
Team Equation/Banditos
www.equationusa.com
oldguy is offline  
Old 07-27-2001, 01:36 PM #3
Jester
Team MirrorImage
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
 has been a member for 10 years
I would spend the extra money. The main reason is flow rate. Even with the sow pressure spring (which you may have to purchace seperately), the Vig won't flow as much air as a Gladiator, Sidewinder, or Stabalizer. While you will have to break in a new reg before you shot to shot consistancy is the greatest, the overall performance will be better in the long run.

Break in times vary, generally 1-2 cases.

Jester
__________________
Play Honoribly. Only your honor can never be taken from you. You must conciously betray it.
Jester is offline  
Old 07-27-2001, 08:14 PM #4
Spanky
Cool Newbie
 
Spanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
 has been a member for 10 years
Gladiator.

-SpankY
Spanky is offline  
Old 07-27-2001, 08:37 PM #5
INSIDIOUS
FIGHT THE HEATHENS
 
INSIDIOUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: kansas
 has been a member for 10 years
go to obdo.net and look at the poormans gas thru grip mod...just do that . the reason is that the max attack is such a good tank that even the highest flowing inline out is still gonna restrict the flow more than a a tube(gas thru)...
__________________
-"only the dead know the end of war"- plato
-"cowards die many times before their deaths"-sacratese
-"gun control is when you shoot with both hands"-
-"when in doubt empty the clip"-
INSIDIOUS is offline  
Old 07-28-2001, 10:08 AM #6
Splat Max
DIXIE FOREVER!!!
 
Splat Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: GA
 has been a member for 10 years
I did the ga-thru conversion, but it didn't work well and my velocity climbed. I thought it was my tank but when I called the place about they said what was happening was normal and I needed a secondary reg. So I'm getting one.
Ok I can get a new Gladiotor for $75 from animal or g3. or I can get a pratically new nickel male stabilizer for $75 off a guy. Which one? I want the best shot to shot consistency I can get.
Could I run a preset on the Gladiotor if I had too?
Thanks.
__________________
American by birth, Southern by the grace of God!
Dying is not a choice, where you go after you die is YOUR choice
Jesus is the way!
John 3:16
Splat Max is offline  
Old 07-28-2001, 02:55 PM #7
Spanky
Cool Newbie
 
Spanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
 has been a member for 10 years
Yes, a preset on a gladiator would work fine.

Be glad, go with the glad.....

-SpankY
Spanky is offline  
Old 08-02-2001, 08:03 PM #8
smurf
The Almighty Smurfzilla
 
smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: orlando
 has been a member for 10 years
the only 2 tanks you should use gas thru on are a maxflow or an a.i.r.

all others should use a secondary regulator.

smurf.
smurf is offline  
Old 08-02-2001, 09:27 PM #9
Brix
BrotherHood Baller
 
Brix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Nor*Cal
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally posted by smurf
the only 2 tanks you should use gas thru on are a maxflow or an a.i.r.

all others should use a secondary regulator.

smurf.
I don't know about the A.I.R. I assume you can if it does what WDP claims, but on I've seen it done on Max Attacks and of course conquests.
__________________
BrotherHood Paintball
Brix is offline  
Old 08-03-2001, 12:03 AM #10
smurf
The Almighty Smurfzilla
 
smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: orlando
 has been a member for 10 years
you should double reg a conquest... it's output increases as tank pressure decreases. not as bad as some others, but bad enough to want another regulator.

smurf.
smurf is offline  
Old 08-03-2001, 12:26 AM #11
Richy_C
kills people
 
Richy_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally posted by Spanky
Yes, a preset on a gladiator would work fine.

Be glad, go with the glad.....

-SpankY
but then can you explain this?
http://g3pb.com/product_images/macdev/glad_reg.html
__________________
There's a monkey in the jungle, watching a papertrail.
Caughtup in a conflict, between his brain and his tail
Richy_C is offline  
Old 08-03-2001, 12:44 AM #12
Spanky
Cool Newbie
 
Spanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally posted by Richy_C


but then can you explain this?
http://g3pb.com/product_images/macdev/glad_reg.html
So what are you saying? Terry won't warrenty that when you send it in and say its broke and you've used it with a preset. Still doesn't mean its terrible to use it with a preset.

People use them all the time with preset tanks. They want betterconsistancy, but don't want to buy a new adjustable tank because they already have a preset one... No problem.

Look on Mac Dev's site to see if Mac Dev says it's dangerous, or not good, or un-recommended to use them with a preset nitro tank.....well they don't

Last edited by Spanky : 08-03-2001 at 12:46 AM.
Spanky is offline  
Old 08-03-2001, 11:21 AM #13
Jester
Team MirrorImage
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
 has been a member for 10 years
Since no one else went to look, here is the link to what SonicPro said on the Mac Dev web site about using preset tanks and a Gladiator...

http://pub25.ezboard.com/fmacdevfrm1...icID=233.topic

Since most of you won't follow the link...

This cut and pasted from the site.
==Begin Quote==
Re: Gladiator Question?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
the glad will work fine with a preset tank it was actually built to work with them as well as an adjustable, if you want to go low preesure in the future you will allready have part of what you need with the glad.
==End Quote==

Jester
__________________
Play Honoribly. Only your honor can never be taken from you. You must conciously betray it.
Jester is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump