Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2005, 02:53 PM #1
team overkill
 
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston
Bolt Mods!!!!!!!!!!

i need to know how to do the bolt mods caz my trix is a gas hog!!!!
team overkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 06-27-2005, 03:00 PM #2
Hand Model
 
 
Hand Model's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Jersey - 908
Go here.

Register. Matrixowner.com is a nice little site. I think they're all there. It shows the different kinds of top hat mods and stuff.
__________________
feedback
Empire Tourney Pants and Proto Backpacker 05

[quote=gremlin75]lol...... :D Hand Model gets a big :tup: from me

later
gremlin"
Hand Model is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 03:19 PM #3
gremlin75
.....I got nothing!
 
gremlin75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Taylor, MI
gremlin75 is a Moderator
gremlin75 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
gremlin75 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
gremlin75 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
gremlin75 is Legendary
Once the search feature is back up (when ever the hell that may be) I will hunt down the threads where I explained how to do them (or if I get bored later I will just re type them)

later
gremlin
gremlin75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 03:47 PM #4
gremlin75
.....I got nothing!
 
gremlin75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Taylor, MI
gremlin75 is a Moderator
gremlin75 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
gremlin75 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
gremlin75 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
gremlin75 is Legendary
Ah hell Im bored already......

Top Hat mod
Get a length of rubber or vinyl tubing (5/8i.d.x 7/8o.d.), Stretch it over the stock top hat (this will take some work) then cut off the excess. This will make the stock top hat just 1/32 larger then the evolve top hat.



Bolt stop mod
For this you want to drill, dremal, or mill out the area between the stock bolt stop holes so that the end result looks like this



Back plug mod (aka the ghetto c4 mod)
Again you will want to drill, dremal, or mill/lath the stock back plug to look more like the c4 back plug. Increase the area around the plug and create 4 "air channels"



Disclaimer: I take no responsibility for any damage done to you, your bolt, or your gun by doing any of these modifications. This is a simple helpful guide for those who feel they are skilled enough to do these modifications on there own.



Edit 7/24/06: So after over a year I finaly got around to testing this kit out....

Shooting it with a dwell of 14 at 280fps using a 68/4500 tank I was getting 5 pods and a hopper off 2000psi. So the math would say you will get just over 1700 shoots off a 68/4500....but we all know math doesnt always work in paintball so I would say expect to get about 1600 shoots with a ghetto mod'd bolt kit like this one....Not to bad for $1 of rubber tubing and some mill work to the back plug and bolt stop.


later
gremlin

Last edited by gremlin75 : 08-01-2006 at 02:55 AM.
gremlin75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 05:29 PM #5
team overkill
 
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston
so i i do any of these mod or all of them i will get more shots out of my tank right?
team overkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 06:17 PM #6
gremlin75
.....I got nothing!
 
gremlin75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Taylor, MI
gremlin75 is a Moderator
gremlin75 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
gremlin75 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
gremlin75 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
gremlin75 is Legendary
The main one that will increase efficiency is the top hat mod. The other 2 should also help as well. Do not expect to see a huge increase in efficiency. All the mods together will only add a few extra pods per tank.

later
gremlin
gremlin75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 04:16 PM #7
GyOzA
 
 
GyOzA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
would tape work for this mod?
GyOzA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 04:26 PM #8
Hand Model
 
 
Hand Model's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Jersey - 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by GyOzA
would tape work for this mod?
Yes. Electrical.
__________________
feedback
Empire Tourney Pants and Proto Backpacker 05

[quote=gremlin75]lol...... :D Hand Model gets a big :tup: from me

later
gremlin"
Hand Model is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 05:33 PM #9
someperson39
 
 
someperson39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: san diego
someperson39 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
how much electrical tape would you have to use to make it work.about how many times do you wrap it?
someperson39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 09:55 PM #10
{Justiss Leeg} ATHF
worst member ever
 
{Justiss Leeg} ATHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: howell, NJ
{Justiss Leeg} ATHF is a Supporting Member
i dont know excatly how much length wise. but i know it has to be about 1/8" in tape
__________________
"Originally posted by Delmarva Paintball
For rec play we use the surrender rule. Most players point their gun and shout "Bang". One time as a young player was the last on his team and his opponents were closing in, he jumped up, threw down his gun and ran off the field screaming "Bang me! Bang me! Just please don't hurt me!"
{Justiss Leeg} ATHF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 03:02 AM #11
Looney_07
.agg ga/\/gsta.
 
Looney_07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Marion,Va
 has been a member for 10 years
Would it do any better if I already have an Evolve bolt kit? I'm sorry, I'm new to Matrix's. I dont even think I spelled that right...
__________________
My Feedback+27-0
Smackz
Facebook




TEAM SHOCKER
Looney_07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 09:28 AM #12
gremlin75
.....I got nothing!
 
gremlin75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Taylor, MI
gremlin75 is a Moderator
gremlin75 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
gremlin75 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
gremlin75 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
gremlin75 is Legendary
Yes the evolve bolt kit is made to up the efficiency of a matrix. all the mods here are already one on a evolve kit that is what makes it better.

later
gremlin
gremlin75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 10:32 AM #13
~TeAm NaStY~
 
 
~TeAm NaStY~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: one of the OC
 has been a member for 10 years
I used Duct tape... is that gonna mess up my gun i havent noticed anything wrong
__________________
Reasons To Go Wit A Paintballer
10. We r good at moving our fingers extremely fast in small places* 9. We like to slide into our positions* 8. We clean our barrels 7. We like to push hard, but not so hard we get hit* 6. We love to be aggressive* 5. We always wear protection* 4. We can pop off 1000's of rounds without getting tired* 3. We always listen to directions* 2. We dont mind getting a little dirty* 1. All of us have at least a 10" barrel on us"
~TeAm NaStY~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 10:38 AM #14
gremlin75
.....I got nothing!
 
gremlin75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Taylor, MI
gremlin75 is a Moderator
gremlin75 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
gremlin75 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
gremlin75 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
gremlin75 is Legendary
Na it shouldnt mess anything up.

later
gremlin
gremlin75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 09:25 AM #15
empire_049
the sin man
 
empire_049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ottawa, ON
I tryed to do the ghetto tap mod with the aluim ( dunno how to spell it) and after i take a few fast shots the tape i put on starts to come off and go into the bolt etc, and yes i cleaned the top hat before hand etc to make sure the tape stays on but it never does for me... if i where to use e-tape just by it self would that work? or is that just for the newer bolts (dm4, proto and 5)?
__________________
pbnation:
MY FEED BACK!
TORONTO PAINT BALL:
MYFEED BACK!
Gator Glaze Fan Club # 78
Imfamous fan # 388
LEGACY FAN #335
HK ARMY SUPPORT
empire_049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 10:51 AM #16
gremlin75
.....I got nothing!
 
gremlin75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Taylor, MI
gremlin75 is a Moderator
gremlin75 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
gremlin75 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
gremlin75 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
gremlin75 is Legendary
Electical tape will unravel over time also, thats why I alwasy say use tubing. You can get a foot of it for a dollar and it will stay in place just about forever.

later
gremlin
gremlin75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 11:13 AM #17
empire_049
the sin man
 
empire_049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ottawa, ON
ok any type of tubeing u would sugest to use? or anything sould work good?
__________________
pbnation:
MY FEED BACK!
TORONTO PAINT BALL:
MYFEED BACK!
Gator Glaze Fan Club # 78
Imfamous fan # 388
LEGACY FAN #335
HK ARMY SUPPORT
empire_049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 11:48 AM #18
dyepb20
 
 
dyepb20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wisconsin
dyepb20 is a Supporting Member
Where would you buy this tubing?
__________________
feedback
dyepb20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 12:44 PM #19
empire_049
the sin man
 
empire_049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ottawa, ON
gremlin75 u sure about the e-tape because i see on the protos and dm4,5 that they are using the e-tape? well i am going to give it a test when i get my matrix back from tmc and ill let u know if it holds up or plops off
__________________
pbnation:
MY FEED BACK!
TORONTO PAINT BALL:
MYFEED BACK!
Gator Glaze Fan Club # 78
Imfamous fan # 388
LEGACY FAN #335
HK ARMY SUPPORT
empire_049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 01:16 PM #20
Hand Model
 
 
Hand Model's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Jersey - 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by empire_049
gremlin75 u sure about the e-tape because i see on the protos and dm4,5 that they are using the e-tape? well i am going to give it a test when i get my matrix back from tmc and ill let u know if it holds up or plops off
The newer trixes operate the same....The bolt kit is the same on the matricies but the newer ones have fewer parts.
__________________
feedback
Empire Tourney Pants and Proto Backpacker 05

[quote=gremlin75]lol...... :D Hand Model gets a big :tup: from me

later
gremlin"
Hand Model is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 01:29 PM #21
empire_049
the sin man
 
empire_049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ottawa, ON
yes i know that but i how come on the dm4, proto and 5's the e-tape works? but old the old school ones it wouldn't? it doesnt make much sences to me could someone clear this up for me? much thanks
__________________
pbnation:
MY FEED BACK!
TORONTO PAINT BALL:
MYFEED BACK!
Gator Glaze Fan Club # 78
Imfamous fan # 388
LEGACY FAN #335
HK ARMY SUPPORT
empire_049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump