PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Old 11-27-2013, 05:06 AM #1
Buwaro
Northern Indiana PB

Buying a Lathe

I am looking into buying a lathe, I read the forum on milling machines, but I do not need to take that step just yet. To me the lathe is more important for the projects I am looking to build. I would like to be able to turn down aluminum/brass bar stock as large as 1 1/2" and up to 12" long. I was just wondering if this machine would be worth the money and would be large enough, or should I make the step up to something larger?

http://www.amazon.com/12-Mini-Metal-...ds=steel+lathe

I am just doing research now. A guy at work is teaching me how to run a lathe. I am a mechanic, so I have a basic understanding of all of this, but I have only recently learned machinist drawings, I never needed them before. Now that I understand them and how to create my own, I have been able to put some ideas I have had into a build able concept and would like to start researching now instead of waiting.

If you have any suggestions on something that may be better in the $500 price range, let me know. I would also look into the $1000 range if it were a multi use lathe/drill press or something like that.
Buwaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 11-27-2013, 07:24 AM #2
Bartman

Bartman is a Moderator
 has been a member for 10 years
Bartman is playing at Living Legends X
Bartman supports Bob Gurnsey
Bartman supports Ninja Paintball
The only advice I can give you is, buy something a little bigger then what you think you need, or want.

About 10 years ago I bought a 9X19 lathe, and over the years I have wished I would have went a little further and got a bigger machine.

If you want to work on stuff up to 12" long a 12" lathe would be at its maximum size, I always like to have just a little bit of play space, never want to run it at the max.

Bart
"Garage Mod Shop"
Bartman is offline   Reply With Quote