Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2013, 12:25 PM #1912
96 Ls lnteg
Hola
 
96 Ls lnteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
96 Ls lnteg is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
96 Ls lnteg is a Paintball photographer
96 Ls lnteg owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
6.1 is out
__________________
ProPaintball
Planet Eclipse
96 Ls lnteg is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 01-28-2013, 12:44 PM #1913
erayser
AlternativePB.com
 
erayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
erayser is a Moderator
erayser is a Supporting Member
erayser is BST Legit
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96 Ls lnteg View Post
6.1 is out
Nice way to start the week off. Now how long we wait for the utjb to be released.
erayser is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 12:49 PM #1914
FusionKid11
The Chubby Kid is here
 
FusionKid11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
FusionKid11 supports Team VICIOUS
not updating at all
__________________
Kick Rocks *****
FusionKid11 is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 12:59 PM #1915
96 Ls lnteg
Hola
 
96 Ls lnteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
96 Ls lnteg is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
96 Ls lnteg is a Paintball photographer
96 Ls lnteg owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Super Bowl Sunday

http://9to5mac.com/2013/01/28/evad3r...ak-for-ios-6-1
__________________
ProPaintball
Planet Eclipse
96 Ls lnteg is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 01:05 PM #1916
erayser
AlternativePB.com
 
erayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
erayser is a Moderator
erayser is a Supporting Member
erayser is BST Legit
I'm staying on 6.0.2, but I have a feeling the utjb will be released for 6.1. Last time that happened, Apple released a bogus patch build (xxxxa to xxxxb), and stopped signing the "a" build, to break the JB install.
erayser is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 01:20 PM #1917
erayser
AlternativePB.com
 
erayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
erayser is a Moderator
erayser is a Supporting Member
erayser is BST Legit
Looks like AT&T is still unlocking phone's for free. I requested to unlock 2 iPhone 4's last night, and just got my emails this morning saying that I am eligible to have the requested iPhone's unlocked, and the instructions on how to complete the unlocks on both iPhones.
erayser is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 01:51 PM #1918
erayser
AlternativePB.com
 
erayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
erayser is a Moderator
erayser is a Supporting Member
erayser is BST Legit
Jailbreakers Should Update to iOS 6.1 Using iTunes, Not Using OTA Software Update!

Quote:
Pimskeks of the Evad3rs Dev-Team reveals that those looking to apply the new iOS 6.1 jailbreak should update to the firmware using iTunes.

"If you people plan to upgrade to iOS 6.1 please don't do an OTA upgrade. Please make a full restore using iTunes."

Just moments ago Planetbeing confirmed that their untethered jailbreak works with new iOS 6.1 final firmware released by Apple today and MuscleNerd hinted that the jailbreak will be released this Sunday.

So in other words to be safe and if you want to be able to rerestore your A5+ devices after the SHSH window is closed make sure you do a restore with itunes and then pull and save your 6.1 shsh blobs for that device.
As you remember before those with A5 devices with factory installed firmware or OTA installed firmware could not use their blobs to be able to rerestore to the same firmware version.

You WILL NOT QUALIFY for restores if you got to your current 6.x via an OTA update
•the tickets saved by Cydia, redsn0w, and TinyUmbrella do not cover OTA update ramdisk images
•even if they did, it’s the “wrong kind” of ramdisk (you’d need to start at that earlier pre-OTA FW)
•devices fresh from factory or refurb may fall in the “does not qualify” category (your results will vary)
•it’s okay if you previously got to 6.1 via an OTA update, as long as your current 6.1 was installed via a normal iTunes restore. All that matters is how you got to your latest 6.1
So if you already did an OTA 6.1 update you can just go to itunes and click restore.
erayser is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 02:25 PM #1919
BrOkEbAllEr916
 
 
BrOkEbAllEr916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: northern Cali
Annual Supporting Member
BrOkEbAllEr916 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
BrOkEbAllEr916 posts videos on PbNation
BrOkEbAllEr916 plays in the APPA D5 division
Thanks for the heads up .... Almost clicked update from my phone !
__________________
luxe mob
BrOkEbAllEr916 is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 02:41 PM #1920
96 Ls lnteg
Hola
 
96 Ls lnteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
96 Ls lnteg is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
96 Ls lnteg is a Paintball photographer
96 Ls lnteg owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/macga...3/HLLNM3qG2oc/
__________________
ProPaintball
Planet Eclipse
96 Ls lnteg is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 07:30 PM #1921
96 Ls lnteg
Hola
 
96 Ls lnteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
96 Ls lnteg is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
96 Ls lnteg is a Paintball photographer
96 Ls lnteg owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
http://www.theverge.com/2013/1/28/39...n-leaked-image


__________________
ProPaintball
Planet Eclipse

Last edited by 96 Ls lnteg : 01-28-2013 at 08:26 PM.
96 Ls lnteg is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 07:33 PM #1922
tchs_drummer06
1+1+1=2
 
tchs_drummer06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Georgia
So I have never used TU before. Forgive me if I sound extremely ignorant. I owned a jailbroken iPhone 4, but there was less hubbub about how to do everything with that one.

I downloaded TU, plugged in my phone, and pressed Save SHSH. There's one listed in the window that says iPhone5_World 6.1

However, I'm in the process of downloading the 6.1 update via iTunes (as I read on MR). Will I need to repeat that process once the update is installed, and have I done everything I need to do if I do only that?

Thanks for the help
__________________
BradTater
Georgia Southern Eagles - Join The Journey - Sun Belt 2014
"It's better to have died a young boy than to fumble this football" - John Heisman
tchs_drummer06 is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 07:38 PM #1923
96 Ls lnteg
Hola
 
96 Ls lnteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
96 Ls lnteg is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
96 Ls lnteg is a Paintball photographer
96 Ls lnteg owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Select your device on the left an choose save your shsh
__________________
ProPaintball
Planet Eclipse
96 Ls lnteg is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 07:53 PM #1924
erayser
AlternativePB.com
 
erayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
erayser is a Moderator
erayser is a Supporting Member
erayser is BST Legit
They just want you to save your blobs for this JB, because they are expecting apple to release a 6.1.1 update soon after with the exploit fixed. Just in case your iPhone gets stuck on the boot logo... and forced to restore to 6.1.1, you can still get back to 6.1 to re-jailbreak.
erayser is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 08:06 PM #1925
tchs_drummer06
1+1+1=2
 
tchs_drummer06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Georgia
I'm getting error 3194 when I try to restore. Is there any issue if I just update? I'm on 6.0.2 currently.
__________________
BradTater
Georgia Southern Eagles - Join The Journey - Sun Belt 2014
"It's better to have died a young boy than to fumble this football" - John Heisman
tchs_drummer06 is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 08:20 PM #1926
ProtoBaller1991
Come to VLN my child
 
ProtoBaller1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago
ProtoBaller1991 donated to help Peyton Trent
Quote:
Originally Posted by tchs_drummer06 View Post
I'm getting error 3194 when I try to restore. Is there any issue if I just update? I'm on 6.0.2 currently.
working so far for me on my iphone 5
__________________
OG-Seven Deadly Sins
I do tv show things
320gb External Hard Drive F/S
My Instagram
ProtoBaller1991 is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 08:22 PM #1927
96 Ls lnteg
Hola
 
96 Ls lnteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
96 Ls lnteg is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
96 Ls lnteg is a Paintball photographer
96 Ls lnteg owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Quote:
Originally Posted by tchs_drummer06 View Post
I'm getting error 3194 when I try to restore. Is there any issue if I just update? I'm on 6.0.2 currently.
https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
__________________
ProPaintball
Planet Eclipse
96 Ls lnteg is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 08:32 PM #1928
erayser
AlternativePB.com
 
erayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
erayser is a Moderator
erayser is a Supporting Member
erayser is BST Legit
Quote:
Originally Posted by tchs_drummer06 View Post
I'm getting error 3194 when I try to restore. Is there any issue if I just update? I'm on 6.0.2 currently.
That's one thing I don't like abut TU. It updates and adds and IP to your host file. I aways make a copy of my host file before running TU. After saving my shsh blob, I open up the host file, and comment out the IP that was added.
erayser is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 08:36 PM #1929
tchs_drummer06
1+1+1=2
 
tchs_drummer06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Georgia
Quote:
Originally Posted by erayser View Post
That's one thing I don't like abut TU. It updates and adds and IP to your host file. I aways make a copy of my host file before running TU. After saving my shsh blob, I open up the host file, and comment out the IP that was added.
If I just choose to update in iTunes, wouldn't that provide the same result as using the Restore method?

Sorry for the stupid questions here. I just want to make sure I do it right.

Here's where I stand:
iOS 6.1 is downloaded via iTunes
I can choose "Update" and I'd assume it will work
I can choose "Restore" and I get this error
I can't edit the host file (permissions)

What's the difference in choosing restore and update?
__________________
BradTater
Georgia Southern Eagles - Join The Journey - Sun Belt 2014
"It's better to have died a young boy than to fumble this football" - John Heisman

Last edited by tchs_drummer06 : 01-28-2013 at 08:46 PM.
tchs_drummer06 is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 08:38 PM #1930
96 Ls lnteg
Hola
 
96 Ls lnteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
96 Ls lnteg is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
96 Ls lnteg is a Paintball photographer
96 Ls lnteg owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
I've never had a issue where I actually need to use my blobs
__________________
ProPaintball
Planet Eclipse
96 Ls lnteg is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 09:03 PM #1931
tchs_drummer06
1+1+1=2
 
tchs_drummer06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Georgia
And now for some reason my laptop has gone into the startup repair screen.
__________________
BradTater
Georgia Southern Eagles - Join The Journey - Sun Belt 2014
"It's better to have died a young boy than to fumble this football" - John Heisman
tchs_drummer06 is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 09:09 PM #1932
erayser
AlternativePB.com
 
erayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
erayser is a Moderator
erayser is a Supporting Member
erayser is BST Legit
Quote:
Originally Posted by tchs_drummer06 View Post
If I just choose to update in iTunes, wouldn't that provide the same result as using the Restore method?

Sorry for the stupid questions here. I just want to make sure I do it right.

Here's where I stand:
iOS 6.1 is downloaded via iTunes
I can choose "Update" and I'd assume it will work
I can choose "Restore" and I get this error
I can't edit the host file (permissions)

What's the difference in choosing restore and update?
To edit your host file, you can use "Notepad". Right click and run as administrator. Remove or comment out the added IP, and save.

How I read it is you need to update to 6.1 through iTune's, but don't update using OTA. If you updated through OTA, then you would need to do a restore. Anyone here read it the same way?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96 Ls lnteg View Post
I've never had a issue where I actually need to use my blobs
No issues with me either... but just good to have just in case. My wife was stuck on the boot logo while jailbroken in the past... and I didn't save blobs to downgrade. However, she didn't want a jailbroken iPhone anymore... so it was okay with her.
erayser is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump