Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2013, 01:56 PM #1
Mason74
 
 
Mason74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Mason74 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Mason74 supports Team VICIOUS
Mason74 is for the Gunfight
Mason74 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
PM8 Solenoid Wire Harness

So I was curious - I had to replace my noid because the wiring harness on the old one was having a problem - basically, right where the wires hook up to the connector that attaches itself to the board, the wires were a little stretched out.

My guess is this created an arc that would prevent the noid from firing.

Anyway - I still have the noid, and was wondering if anyone knew an answer to one of the following:

a) replace said wiring harness and attach a new one to the old noid?

b) if I could cut the wires short, and reattach them to the original connector?

c) buy another wiring harness with the same connectors on the end of them and tie the wires together (old noid and wires to new wires and connector), which I am almost certain I can find, just not sure where. If u know where I can get one that would be awesome - I know I can do this, just not sure what kind of harness to look for.
Mason74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 01-13-2013, 09:15 PM #2
mymutter
I crack myself up!
 
mymutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: the 847
mymutter is reppin' sidebar 4 life
I think some portable phones use the same harness for the batteries.
mymutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:16 PM #3
Mason74
 
 
Mason74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Mason74 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Mason74 supports Team VICIOUS
Mason74 is for the Gunfight
Mason74 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by mymutter View Post
I think some portable phones use the same harness for the batteries.
Doesn't really help answer the question.
Mason74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:53 PM #4
mymutter
I crack myself up!
 
mymutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: the 847
mymutter is reppin' sidebar 4 life
sure it does, go to best buy or radioshack with the noid harness and see if any match up, if they do, cut solder and heat shrink.
mymutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:57 AM #5
Mason74
 
 
Mason74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Mason74 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Mason74 supports Team VICIOUS
Mason74 is for the Gunfight
Mason74 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by mymutter View Post
sure it does, go to best buy or radioshack with the noid harness and see if any match up, if they do, cut solder and heat shrink.
Yep, I knew the heat shrinking/solder bit - didn't think the other part through tho.

Will have to swing by best buy tonight.
Mason74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:41 AM #6
speedy2k4
BSH University
 
speedy2k4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: MD
speedy2k4 is a Supporting Member
If the wires are broken, just clip out the broken section, strip the insulation back a bit and solder & shrinkwrap the ends. There is usually some wire to spare on those harnesses.

If the wire can't reach the socket in the board after doing that, buy a new harness and solder it in. I may have a spare.
speedy2k4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 09:11 AM #7
Mason74
 
 
Mason74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Mason74 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Mason74 supports Team VICIOUS
Mason74 is for the Gunfight
Mason74 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy2k4 View Post
If the wires are broken, just clip out the broken section, strip the insulation back a bit and solder & shrinkwrap the ends. There is usually some wire to spare on those harnesses.

If the wire can't reach the socket in the board after doing that, buy a new harness and solder it in. I may have a spare.
Yeah I know to shrinkwrap the ends, etc, and I have the tools for it. I have plenty of wire, so not worried about that.

My question about doing this though, without getting a new harness (and I simply haven't tried this yet, mainly due to time constraints), is can you reattach the wires to the male connector that plugs into the socket on the board?
Mason74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:23 AM #8
speedy2k4
BSH University
 
speedy2k4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: MD
speedy2k4 is a Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mason74 View Post
Yeah I know to shrinkwrap the ends, etc, and I have the tools for it. I have plenty of wire, so not worried about that.

My question about doing this though, without getting a new harness (and I simply haven't tried this yet, mainly due to time constraints), is can you reattach the wires to the male connector that plugs into the socket on the board?
Misread your post, thought they were torn at the solenoid end.

It is possible to remove the terminals from the connector, remove the damaged section of wire, recrimp the fresh wire and reinstall the terminals in the connector. It would be much easier to splice in a new harness though.
speedy2k4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 11:03 AM #9
tauntedmonster
Can you hear ** now?
 
tauntedmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Central MN
tauntedmonster is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
tauntedmonster helped look for balloons
If you're looking for replacements to repair a harness:

This is a link to the pins for the noid harnesses.

This is a link to a 4 pin connector that the harnesses use- the two and three pin ones are the same type as far as I know.
tauntedmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 11:04 AM #10
Mason74
 
 
Mason74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Mason74 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Mason74 supports Team VICIOUS
Mason74 is for the Gunfight
Mason74 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy2k4 View Post

Misread your post, thought they were torn at the solenoid end.

It is possible to remove the terminals from the connector, remove the damaged section of wire, recrimp the fresh wire and reinstall the terminals in the connector. It would be much easier to splice in a new harness though.
Ty no worries

Edit - I imagine the splicing would prob be the easier solution.

Basically, I used to run an empire magna with the rf switch. It was a major pain in the *** to make everything fit, and had to squish things into place, and it was basically pulling the wires out.

Last edited by Mason74 : 01-15-2013 at 11:08 AM.
Mason74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump