Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2012, 02:02 PM #1
iPaintYou
..needs a better username
 
iPaintYou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 513
Overclocking Help

Hey guys, I decided that overclocking was a skill that I needed to learn but have been struggling to get anything to work on my current computer. If any of you could help me out, I'd appreciate it. I've done my research and have been tinkering with settings for about an hour now but every time I save and exit the BIOS my computer freezes up when booting (usually after it lists the processor and current clock).

Relevant system specs are as follows:

C2Q Q9550 (E0)
2x2GB PC2-6400 Memory (Link)
XFX 780i Motherboard
SLI'd EVGA 260s (216 Core Edition)
800W PSU
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Here are the settings that I am trying to use without success (Note I am trying to OC the Q9550 to 3.2GHz for starters, leaving memory at 800MHz):

XFX 780i BIOS Template (P09)

CPU Multiplier: 8x
CPU N/2 Ratio: Disabled (so that it doesn't go to 8.5x)
PCIe x16_3, MHz: 100
SPP <-> MCP Ref Clock, MHZ: Auto
nForce SPP --> nForce MCP: 5x
nForce SPP <-- nForce MCP: 5x
CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled
HT Spread Spectrum: Disabled
PCIe Spread Spectrum (MCP): Disabled
SATA Spread Spectrum: Disabled

FSB - Memory Clock Mode: Unlinked
FSB (QDR), MHz: 1600
MEM (DDR), MHz: 800

Memory Timing Setting: (I've tried both Optimal and Expert. Optimal sets everything to Auto and when I try Expert I just set what Optimal sets it to)
tCL (CAS Latency): 6
tRCD: 6
tRP: 6
tRAS: 18
Command Per Clock (CMD): 2T
tRRD: 3
tRC: 24
tWR: 5
tWTR: 10
tREF: 7.8uS

Limit CPUID MaxVal: Disabled
Intel SpeedStep: Disabled
CPU Thermal Control: Disabled
C1E Enhanced Halt State: Enabled
Execute Diable Bit: Enabled
Virualization Technology: Enabled

(Voltages)
CPU Core: I've tried up to 1.25V for starters
CPU FSB: 1.3V
Memory: I've tried 1.800V -Just under 1.900V
nForce SPP: I've tried up to 1.4V I believe
nForce MCP: I've tried up to 1.6V
HT nForce SPP <-> MCP: I usually leave this at AUTO but have tried 1.3V

GTLVREF Lane 0: AUTO
GTLVREF Lane 1: AUTO
GTLVREF Lane 2: AUTO
GTLVREF Lane 3: AUTO

Any ideas or suggestions as to what settings you think should work? In my opinion something is wrong with either the voltage or memory settings but that doesn't really narrow it down. Thanks in advance for any help.

EDIT: I just read a guide for overclocking my processor and the guy suggested that the RAM voltage be set to +0.250V. Could this be my problem? My RAM's stock voltage is 1.8V meaning I would need to be setting it to 2.050V.
__________________
TOXIC RAGE #17
G6R. SL-68 II.

Last edited by iPaintYou : 12-08-2012 at 02:18 PM.
iPaintYou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 03:26 PM #2
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Try going a bit less than 3.2ghz... The key to proper, safe overclocking is to make really small steps to see exactly what's stable.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 02:39 PM #3
iPaintYou
..needs a better username
 
iPaintYou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 513
Well, I think I'm on to something here. I got the system to boot once clocked at 3.0GHz but it crashed after a couple of minutes. Now I am going through and setting my voltages one by one at 2.83GHz to see what my motherboard will take and what it won't (I'm trying to bump everything up just slightly in preparation for the OC). If the computer boots and I can get through a page of reddit before it crashes I'm calling it ok (even though it could still be unstable). So far I found that my NB can't be set to 1.4V at stock clocks but it seems to be fine at 1.35V. Seems strange to me. I'll post back if I can get 3.0GHz stable. Thanks for the help so far.
__________________
TOXIC RAGE #17
G6R. SL-68 II.
iPaintYou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 02:56 PM #4
diablodow
The fluffy snake player
 
diablodow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charlotte
diablodow supports Cereal Killerz 2
diablodow is for the Gunfight
So I don't know a ton about computers but no over clock my phone consistently and it sounds like your pushing it too hard. Try to bump voltages at each frequency that might help you out. Stability is a ***** to find and good luck
__________________
NMP paintball.
ΣΦΕ
diablodow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:09 PM #5
iPaintYou
..needs a better username
 
iPaintYou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 513
Yea, I think I was definitely approaching it the wrong way. I did a ton of research and had all the settings written down that I thought would work. They didn't. I'm taking Supra's advice now and taking baby steps. Right not I have the CPU FSB/SPP/MCP/HT/RAM voltages set up one notch as well as timings manually plugged in. Everything appears to be running fine so now it's time to bump up the core voltage and see if I can push the FSB a little.
__________________
TOXIC RAGE #17
G6R. SL-68 II.
iPaintYou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:31 PM #6
diablodow
The fluffy snake player
 
diablodow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charlotte
diablodow supports Cereal Killerz 2
diablodow is for the Gunfight
Also keep in mind that every processor is different for OC. My tablet loves OC with undervolting but my gfs same tablet can't handle it even OV so baby steps to find what works for you
__________________
NMP paintball.
ΣΦΕ
diablodow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:45 PM #7
Evac.
Wolfpack
 
Evac.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Queens
Annual Supporting Member
Evac. is a Paintball photographer
Evac. plays in the PSP
good luck overclocking on a 780i. My god that was the worst experience i ever had
Evac. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:49 PM #8
iPaintYou
..needs a better username
 
iPaintYou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 513
Ok, just tried 3.00GHz with the following settings. 353x8.5 boots to Windows and then freezes once I log in but 333x8.5 with the same settings is fine. What am I needing to change to get 353x8.5 to work?

CPU Multiplier: 8x
CPU N/2 Ratio: Enabled
PCIe x16_3, MHz: 100
SPP <-> MCP Ref Clock, MHZ: 200
nForce SPP --> nForce MCP: 5x
nForce SPP <-- nForce MCP: 5x

FSB - Memory Clock Mode: Unlinked
FSB (QDR), MHz: 1412
MEM (DDR), MHz: 800

Memory Timing Setting: Expert
tCL (CAS Latency): 6
tRCD: 6
tRP: 6
tRAS: 18
Command Per Clock (CMD): 2T
tRRD: 3
tRC: 24
tWR: 5
tWTR: 10
tREF: 7.8uS

(Voltages)
CPU Core: 1.300V
CPU FSB: 1.2V
Memory: 1.875
nForce SPP: 1.35V
nForce MCP: 1.525V
HT nForce SPP <-> MCP: 1.25V

GTLVREF Lane 0: AUTO
GTLVREF Lane 1: AUTO
GTLVREF Lane 2: AUTO
GTLVREF Lane 3: AUTO

Edit:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evac. View Post
good luck overclocking on a 780i. My god that was the worst experience i ever had
Since you have experience, would you mind taking a look at what I just tried and see if anything looks off to you? I'm running those same settings right now except instead of 353x8.5 it's 333x8.5. I'm pretty sure I shouldn't touch my RAM since it's unlinked and currently working.
__________________
TOXIC RAGE #17
G6R. SL-68 II.
iPaintYou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:57 PM #9
Evac.
Wolfpack
 
Evac.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Queens
Annual Supporting Member
Evac. is a Paintball photographer
Evac. plays in the PSP
everytime i tried even increasing the multiplier or the voltage by the smallest amount, i could not get anything stable.
Evac. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 04:05 PM #10
iPaintYou
..needs a better username
 
iPaintYou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 513
Ah, I see. I know a fair amount about computers (I work in IT, am studying IT-Networking, A+ Certified , etc.) but have never overclocked before. All I can say is that it's a ***** with this board so far.

Edit: I'm giving up on this for now (it's exam week, need this computer working). I got it to be stable at 3.0GHz but the performance gain is not worth the voltage settings I needed to get there. No matter what I do, I can't bump the NB voltage from 1.35V to 1.4V without it crashing which is what I think is holding me back from anything higher than 3.0GHz.

Edit 2: I think I might have found the problem. I'm pretty sure that chip-sets run off the 3.3V rail. The PSU that I am currently using reads no higher than 3.18V in the BIOS. That might be why my NB is being picky and thus why I'm not able to get a stable OC. Looks like it's time to upgrade to a quality Corsair PSU. I want to get another year out of this rig before I upgrade.
__________________
TOXIC RAGE #17
G6R. SL-68 II.

Last edited by iPaintYou : 12-09-2012 at 11:47 PM.
iPaintYou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump