Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 06:57 AM #1
mazeofmystery
Makin' a comeback!
 
mazeofmystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
mazeofmystery has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
couple questions!

So i have a couple questions i need assistance with.

1. Im going to be recording my xbox gameplay as well as recording my voice.
Both via usb devices. However, my pc is located in my room. Will using usb
extension cords affect recording quality?

2. My parents have a pc of their own that is hella slow on the net. They have
really good internet though. Could it be due to an old company modem?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Semi-auto only balla
Coaching is the lamest part of paintball today.
mazeofmystery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 11-14-2012, 08:08 AM #2
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
1. How are you planning on recording the same video that you're supposed to be seeing on the TV?

2. Probably something on the computer's end of things. Technically it could be the modem but I doubt that it would be. What kind of speeds are they supposed to get compared to what they're actually getting?
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:09 AM #3
AllWowNoSham
Free Agent
 
AllWowNoSham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Texas
AllWowNoSham plays in the APPA beginner division
AllWowNoSham has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Immpossibel
AllWowNoSham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:06 AM #4
mazeofmystery
Makin' a comeback!
 
mazeofmystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
mazeofmystery has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
1. How are you planning on recording the same video that you're supposed to be seeing on the TV?

2. Probably something on the computer's end of things. Technically it could be the modem but I doubt that it would be. What kind of speeds are they supposed to get compared to what they're actually getting?
1. I will be using an Elgato HD capture card that runs from my tv
to my pc: http://www.elgato.com/elgato/na/main...tureHD.en.html

2. It's supposed to be 10MBps, but I found i was getting less that 1.5! (You need a speed minimum of 1.5MBps in order to live stream from the new call of duty game)
I've tried resetting the modem and router, defragging, clearing out the cache. Everything.
__________________
Semi-auto only balla
Coaching is the lamest part of paintball today.
mazeofmystery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:47 AM #5
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazeofmystery View Post
1. I will be using an Elgato HD capture card that runs from my tv
to my pc: http://www.elgato.com/elgato/na/main...tureHD.en.html

2. It's supposed to be 10MBps, but I found i was getting less that 1.5! (You need a speed minimum of 1.5MBps in order to live stream from the new call of duty game)
I've tried resetting the modem and router, defragging, clearing out the cache. Everything.
1. Interesting, never seen something like that that passes the HDMI through. Anyway, longer cables aren't particularly good, especially for things like video streams. How long exactly will the cable be? According to everything I'm reading, every 5 meters, you'll need a powered hub.

2. Are you confusing megabits and megabytes, perhaps? Most internet providers advertise in megabits, where many real-world measurements use megabytes, which is going to be 1/8 the same speed in megabits (as there are 8 bits in one byte). How are you doing the testing? Is the computer setup on wireless? If you can, try bypassing the router and plugging a computer directly into the modem and running at speed test. Speedtest.net is a good place to test.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:01 AM #6
mazeofmystery
Makin' a comeback!
 
mazeofmystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
mazeofmystery has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
1. Interesting, never seen something like that that passes the HDMI through. Anyway, longer cables aren't particularly good, especially for things like video streams. How long exactly will the cable be? According to everything I'm reading, every 5 meters, you'll need a powered hub.

2. Are you confusing megabits and megabytes, perhaps? Most internet providers advertise in megabits, where many real-world measurements use megabytes, which is going to be 1/8 the same speed in megabits (as there are 8 bits in one byte). How are you doing the testing? Is the computer setup on wireless? If you can, try bypassing the router and plugging a computer directly into the modem and running at speed test. Speedtest.net is a good place to test.
1. Yeah its pretty nifty! All the big gamer youtubers use it! I'll probably need two or three power hubs...
I'm guessing 30-35 feet. Im not at home so i cant be exact. What are they exactly?

2. I probably am heh. I didnt test it, im just going by what the error mesaage said.
I always run wired as i find it to be more consistant.
I'll try the test when i get in from work!
__________________
Semi-auto only balla
Coaching is the lamest part of paintball today.
mazeofmystery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:06 AM #7
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
1. Basically it's a box that takes in any signal and outputs the same signal. But since it's powered, it's putting out the signal at "full strength". If you keep putting them in a row, with less than 5 meters between them, you can go much further without signal degradation.

2. Give it a shot and let us know. Unless someone's doing a lot of downloading during the speed test, or the computer is full of viruses, it shouldn't be a bottleneck.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:26 AM #8
mazeofmystery
Makin' a comeback!
 
mazeofmystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
mazeofmystery has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
1. Basically it's a box that takes in any signal and outputs the same signal. But since it's powered, it's putting out the signal at "full strength". If you keep putting them in a row, with less than 5 meters between them, you can go much further without signal degradation.

2. Give it a shot and let us know. Unless someone's doing a lot of downloading during the speed test, or the computer is full of viruses, it shouldn't be a bottleneck.
1. Okay cool! If i wasn't doing a live stream would it affect the data going to my computer?

2. I have a feeling in gonna have to reformat this beast. But i'll let you know the results.
__________________
Semi-auto only balla
Coaching is the lamest part of paintball today.
mazeofmystery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:33 AM #9
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
1. Sort of. It's hard to explain, others here could probably do a far better job explaining it than I could.

2. reformatting never hurts. Though usually Internet download speeds aren't one of the first things to be affected.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 09:28 PM #10
mazeofmystery
Makin' a comeback!
 
mazeofmystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
mazeofmystery has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Sorry for the delayed response, going to rearrange my place so i dont need 30 feet of cable.
__________________
Semi-auto only balla
Coaching is the lamest part of paintball today.

Last edited by mazeofmystery : 11-22-2012 at 10:13 PM.
mazeofmystery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump