Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 08:55 PM #1
SmartyJones
Best in the World
 
SmartyJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
SmartyJones helped look for balloons
SmartyJones is playing at Living Legends III
SmartyJones has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
SmartyJones has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
SmartyJones has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
ICS question with windows 8

Hey guys

I just got a new Windows 8 PC and everything has been working fine up until now. The way my house is setup, I have a DSL modem in one room and I play on my 360 in a different room. So I have been going on xbox live through Internet Connection Sharing through my PC. I set this up on my new system and it was working fine. I was on xbox live though, and I couldn't connect to my friends' parties and it said my NAT type was moderate. I tried a bunch of things, including port forwarding, port triggering, and WPS settings. Then I was on my Network connections page on my control panel. I right-clicked on the ethernet connection (which is the cord from my PC to my xbox) and it had manual IP/subnet/DNS input already in there. From previous experience, I thought it was best when all that information was acquired and assigned automatically. So I changed it to automatic and now I can't connect to xbox live. I tried manually entering in IP numbers on my xbox as their website suggested, but I got no results. I've also tried restarting my PC, xbox, and modem, but none of that has worked. Any suggestions?
__________________
Buffalo Bills, Buffalo Sabres, New York Yankees, Detroit Pistons, Notre Dame
University Of Notre Dame Class of 2010
ZENYATTA - Thanks for all the memories!
2009 STS Most Accurate Poster of the Year
2010 STS:F MVP

XBL - noarmsduck
SmartyJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:06 PM #2
AuxiliaryPie
iLurk
 
AuxiliaryPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NE Ohio
When i tried ICSing on Win7 last week i couldnt get it to work, instead i just highlighted both my wifi card and ethernet port, right clicked and hit "bridge connections". Then set the 360 to automatic and it worked without a hitch

edit-
i followed this video:

it isnt the best, but it shows you what i mean
__________________
J.F.G.I.- Just ****ing Google It
AuxiliaryPie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:14 PM #3
SmartyJones
Best in the World
 
SmartyJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
SmartyJones helped look for balloons
SmartyJones is playing at Living Legends III
SmartyJones has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
SmartyJones has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
SmartyJones has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
That works, thanks

I still would like to know what I could do with ICS though.
__________________
Buffalo Bills, Buffalo Sabres, New York Yankees, Detroit Pistons, Notre Dame
University Of Notre Dame Class of 2010
ZENYATTA - Thanks for all the memories!
2009 STS Most Accurate Poster of the Year
2010 STS:F MVP

XBL - noarmsduck
SmartyJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:19 PM #4
AuxiliaryPie
iLurk
 
AuxiliaryPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NE Ohio
glad it works. When i had the xbox off my laptop internet would be janky, to fix it i just highlighted the two connections again and unbridged. dont know if thats necessary, but thats what i did to fix it
__________________
J.F.G.I.- Just ****ing Google It
AuxiliaryPie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:25 PM #5
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
ICS is networking for hobos. I can't believe it's still included in W8.
__________________
ST:Tech -- Three solid failures away from emptying large quantities of ammunition into a daycare.
Oedipus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:08 PM #6
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
yeah, I felt borderline homeless when I had that set up a while back.
__________________
wat
wat
wat
wat
wat
Promagistrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:05 AM #7
SmartyJones
Best in the World
 
SmartyJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
SmartyJones helped look for balloons
SmartyJones is playing at Living Legends III
SmartyJones has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
SmartyJones has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
SmartyJones has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
It's kind of the only option when the room I play xbox in isn't near my modem. I really don't want to have a 50 ft ethernet cable going all the way through my house.
__________________
Buffalo Bills, Buffalo Sabres, New York Yankees, Detroit Pistons, Notre Dame
University Of Notre Dame Class of 2010
ZENYATTA - Thanks for all the memories!
2009 STS Most Accurate Poster of the Year
2010 STS:F MVP

XBL - noarmsduck
SmartyJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:06 AM #8
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
It is not the only option, but it is the #1 preferred option for 13 year olds who can't/don't buy an ethernet bridge.
__________________
ST:Tech -- Three solid failures away from emptying large quantities of ammunition into a daycare.
Oedipus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:34 AM #9
SmartyJones
Best in the World
 
SmartyJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
SmartyJones helped look for balloons
SmartyJones is playing at Living Legends III
SmartyJones has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
SmartyJones has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
SmartyJones has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Why pay an extra $200 for an ethernet bridge when I can just do this for free and it's just as effective?
__________________
Buffalo Bills, Buffalo Sabres, New York Yankees, Detroit Pistons, Notre Dame
University Of Notre Dame Class of 2010
ZENYATTA - Thanks for all the memories!
2009 STS Most Accurate Poster of the Year
2010 STS:F MVP

XBL - noarmsduck
SmartyJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 01:48 AM #10
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
You don't have to tether your xbox to your laptop, for one thing. It's also not very effective, seeing as how you ended up simply bridging the connections together in order to make it work.
__________________
ST:Tech -- Three solid failures away from emptying large quantities of ammunition into a daycare.
Oedipus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:23 PM #11
SmartyJones
Best in the World
 
SmartyJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
SmartyJones helped look for balloons
SmartyJones is playing at Living Legends III
SmartyJones has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
SmartyJones has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
SmartyJones has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Seems like bridging would be the best solution then. I'd do that any day when there are no tangible negative affects and the alternative is spending $100+ (It's not $200, my original guess was wrong) on a physical ethernet bridge.
__________________
Buffalo Bills, Buffalo Sabres, New York Yankees, Detroit Pistons, Notre Dame
University Of Notre Dame Class of 2010
ZENYATTA - Thanks for all the memories!
2009 STS Most Accurate Poster of the Year
2010 STS:F MVP

XBL - noarmsduck
SmartyJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump