Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2012, 08:52 PM #1
srybabecondombroke
 
 
srybabecondombroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
running mac os on my windows laptop...HELP!!

so i'm wanting to switch my OS on my laptop to either linux, ubuntu, or mac os. I've heard that ubuntu is a better choice than linux, but looking for some advice here, never switched an os before. hoping for some walk thru with this.

thanks guys
__________________
That's how I roll- Ŧhe Ŧiminator

Cause you are the kind of guy who wants to get HIV early in life and regret making the decision to have sex with infected monkeys.- Shocker-V-Sport
srybabecondombroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 10-23-2012, 08:59 PM #2
paintballking72
Yummy! :-)
 
paintballking72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Midwest(Ks) ((316))
paintballking72 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
OSX has to be hacked to run on PC's. Google hackintosh.
paintballking72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:03 PM #3
srybabecondombroke
 
 
srybabecondombroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
isi it worth doing tho? ive heard of hackintosh, but heard as well that mac os will not run as well on any computer as it would on a mac. I think im gonna go with ubuntu, heard good things about it. now when i install the new os (regaurdless of which one i go with) will i want to uninstall windows?
__________________
That's how I roll- Ŧhe Ŧiminator

Cause you are the kind of guy who wants to get HIV early in life and regret making the decision to have sex with infected monkeys.- Shocker-V-Sport
srybabecondombroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:06 PM #4
paintballking72
Yummy! :-)
 
paintballking72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Midwest(Ks) ((316))
paintballking72 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Only way I would install mac osx on a PC, is if it was a desktop that I built.
paintballking72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:19 PM #5
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
If you have to ask questions like this, just use Ubuntu...

It will be easier to setup, work with more hardware, and more people will be able to help you solve issues.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:52 PM #6
ProtoBaller1991
Come to VLN my child
 
ProtoBaller1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago
ProtoBaller1991 donated to help Peyton Trent
if you want mac OS just buy a mac
__________________
OG-Seven Deadly Sins
I do tv show things
320gb External Hard Drive F/S


Instagram
ProtoBaller1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:20 PM #7
srybabecondombroke
 
 
srybabecondombroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
just went with ubuntu..pretty easy and self explanitory. im diggin it, little sluggish imo tho
__________________
That's how I roll- Ŧhe Ŧiminator

Cause you are the kind of guy who wants to get HIV early in life and regret making the decision to have sex with infected monkeys.- Shocker-V-Sport
srybabecondombroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:21 PM #8
DrewDodson89
 
 
DrewDodson89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
__________________

Kiwi!
ಠ_ಠ
DrewDodson89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:44 AM #9
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by srybabecondombroke View Post
just went with ubuntu..pretty easy and self explanitory. im diggin it, little sluggish imo tho
Ubuntu is far from the lightest Linux distrobution, but if it's sluggish, you've done something wrong, or are using really ****ty hardware. It definitely isn't slow on any modern hardware.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 12:04 PM #10
srybabecondombroke
 
 
srybabecondombroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
nvm, much better now. just some setup stuff that kept popping up and slowing it down. I installed it on my old dell studio 1536 before i did on my daily use laptop.so yea, it was some ****ty hardware i was using at first.

edit: so now when i go to download programs such as iTunes and uTorrent etc. what os do i choos the download for? mac, ios, windows, android?
__________________
That's how I roll- Ŧhe Ŧiminator

Cause you are the kind of guy who wants to get HIV early in life and regret making the decision to have sex with infected monkeys.- Shocker-V-Sport

Last edited by srybabecondombroke : 10-24-2012 at 01:04 PM.
srybabecondombroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:29 PM #11
Diametunim
 
 
Diametunim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Texas
Diametunim owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Arch > all.
Diametunim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:32 PM #12
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by srybabecondombroke View Post
nvm, much better now. just some setup stuff that kept popping up and slowing it down. I installed it on my old dell studio 1536 before i did on my daily use laptop.so yea, it was some ****ty hardware i was using at first.

edit: so now when i go to download programs such as iTunes and uTorrent etc. what os do i choos the download for? mac, ios, windows, android?
Linux. If given the option, get Debian packages. Make sure they're the right architecture for your install.

Also, seeing that you don't seem to be interested in doing anything past basic use, most programs you'll need can probably be found in the Ubuntu Software Center if they exist for Linux platforms. If not, you can probably find a substitute there. You're not gonna find iTunes.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:58 PM #13
srybabecondombroke
 
 
srybabecondombroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
gotcha. thank you kindly
__________________
That's how I roll- Ŧhe Ŧiminator

Cause you are the kind of guy who wants to get HIV early in life and regret making the decision to have sex with infected monkeys.- Shocker-V-Sport
srybabecondombroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 09:11 PM #14
jrad004
 
 
jrad004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: missouri
jrad004 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
jrad004 supports DLX Technology
Hey man if you want to install Mac shoot me a pm
__________________
White/Gold DLX Luxe 1.0 W/2.0 Ups-http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?p=84448249#post84448249
jrad004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 09:14 AM #15
*knock-out05*
Where's my boomstick?!
 
*knock-out05*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Keesler AFB, MS
*knock-out05* posts videos on PbNation
*knock-out05* is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
*knock-out05* is Legendary
>install MAC
>HAHAHAHAHA
__________________
the Chive

T:GDT Rave | BBB | iPod/Zune/iPhone/iPod Touch Repair | WTB Broken iPods

ST: Tech : Danny, smartest in STT.
*knock-out05* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 04:40 PM #16
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
install pp in but for max io speeds
__________________
wat
wat
wat
wat
wat
Promagistrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump