Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2011, 11:13 AM #1
NickbMke
 
 
NickbMke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas
NickbMke plays in the APPA D5 division
Question SP1 L7 Bolt Installation Problem..

Hey guys.. this sp1 has a virtue board so # of flashes = dwell x2.

I put in my L7 bolt and when I first gassed it up it was leaking like crazy.. I pulled to bolt out and pushed the retainer screw deeper into the back bolt and the it didn't leak anymore.. so I put some paint in my hopper and it cycled but didn't put out enough pressure to launch a ball.. they just sat in the breech or rolled out of the barrel.

Can someone give me detailed instructions on installing the L7 bolt? Does it matter which way the retainer screw part goes into the back bolt.. should I take the screw off of it?

Thanks.

Last edited by NickbMke : 03-11-2011 at 02:33 PM.
NickbMke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 03-11-2011, 11:15 AM #2
NickbMke
 
 
NickbMke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas
NickbMke plays in the APPA D5 division
Could my dwell be too low?
NickbMke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 12:10 PM #3
justicexd
mowing faces since '83
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Did you try a fresh battery?
justicexd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 12:13 PM #4
NickbMke
 
 
NickbMke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas
NickbMke plays in the APPA D5 division
Brand new battery.

It was the dwell. I had it too low. It was at 14. I bumped it up to 25 and I have no problems. It leaked again, but then I just re-did how I set the bolt in it. Now there are no problems. I just went out and blazed through a pod of some fairly brittle dxs. No breaks, no prolems.

Thanks!
NickbMke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 02:29 PM #5
justicexd
mowing faces since '83
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
25 is way too high for a techt bolt...is that a stock sp-1 or a blackheart sp-1.?
justicexd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 02:34 PM #6
NickbMke
 
 
NickbMke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas
NickbMke plays in the APPA D5 division
Quote:
Originally Posted by justicexd View Post
25 is way too high for a techt bolt...is that a stock sp-1 or a blackheart sp-1.?
It has a virtue board, so 25 = 12.5ms.
NickbMke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 02:54 PM #7
justicexd
mowing faces since '83
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I would set that dwell down to the lowest setting possible or your air efficiency will drop dramatically. Also, since you have a virtue board, you might want to replace the front banjo on the board with a 360qev so you can get the dwell even lower.

You said you had a leak, where would that be, down the barrel?
justicexd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 08:28 PM #8
NickbMke
 
 
NickbMke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas
NickbMke plays in the APPA D5 division
Quote:
Originally Posted by justicexd View Post
I would set that dwell down to the lowest setting possible or your air efficiency will drop dramatically. Also, since you have a virtue board, you might want to replace the front banjo on the board with a 360qev so you can get the dwell even lower.

You said you had a leak, where would that be, down the barrel?
The leak was just superficial.

I didn't think you could put a qev on the virtue board..
NickbMke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump