Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2010, 02:16 PM #1
protopaintballer
.happy.
 
protopaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Des Plaines, IL
protopaintballer is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
protopaintballer is a Paintball photographer
protopaintballer plays in the PSP
protopaintballer is Legendary
Godaddy site question

just wondering if anyone that has used godaddy.com for a hosting site has anyproblems getting a site uploaded and functioning because i uploaded a website via ftp client that godaddy has and i created a website from iweb and uploaded it to the host. but when i goto the url that i have it shows the web site can not be found, is there something that i am missing in activating or something that i need to do different?
i cant find anything helpful in the help section on godaddy.com so anyhelp here is welcomed and thanks in advance.
protopaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 02-13-2010, 02:21 PM #2
Thor06
 
 
Thor06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NY
What's the link?

I use iWeb to upload onto fatcow.com and it sometimes takes 15 min to fully update the changes.
Thor06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 02:23 PM #3
protopaintballer
.happy.
 
protopaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Des Plaines, IL
protopaintballer is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
protopaintballer is a Paintball photographer
protopaintballer plays in the PSP
protopaintballer is Legendary
zachleard.com

ive waited about 2 hours for changes and nothing happened. i also published the site to a folder and then took the contents of the folder and added it like it told me to do on the help thing for godaddy.
protopaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 02:31 PM #4
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
I've never had problems with them. All the free applications they allow you seem to install within a few minutes for me.

Call them, their customer service is actually pretty damn good.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 03:25 PM #5
satamusic
ɔısnɯ
 
satamusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: ɹd
i only use godaddy for domains now, but few clients still have hosting with them, so i deal with them on a regular basis. phone support is faster than email.

link to content?
__________________
If The World's A Stage, I Want To Operate The Trap Door.

.alien.interceptor. bob.long.reg. hammer.head.freak. pulse. lp.crossfire.

satamusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 11:54 PM #6
knuckhead09
MJMfX.com Designer
 
knuckhead09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: back in somich
Annual Supporting Member
knuckhead09 is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
I've never had problems with them. All the free applications they allow you seem to install within a few minutes for me.

Call them, their customer service is actually pretty damn good.
Everything that requires 'setup time' takes an eternity on goDaddy. I've sat around for half a day waiting for a Wordpress install to finish. On cPanel it takes 2 minutes tops, the length of time to copy the files and create the database. I don't know how it can possibly take any longer than that, but goDaddy found a way.

I absolutely despise goDaddy hosting, but they're good for domain registration.
__________________
knuckhead09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 01:11 AM #7
PbGoods
Need to pay student loans
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NJ
PbGoods is reppin' sidebar 4 life
I despise GoDaddy all together, sure they have good prices on domains but when they annoy the hell out of you as you try to purchase the domain - No thanks, I rather pay the few extra dollars to only have to go through 2 pages before I purchase a domain instead of the 5+ that GoDaddy puts you through.

Could it be that your name servers are not set up correctly?
PbGoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 01:21 AM #8
digitard
GregRedHastings.com
 
digitard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Annual Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
digitard works for a Paintball manufacturer
digitard plays in the APPA D5 division
digitard is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
digitard supports Empire
I've used Dreamhost for the past 3yrs and love it. I even host GHTP.net on it.
digitard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump