Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2009, 08:35 PM #22
WillIbe
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
"all it tells you to do is set your dewll high enough for the gun to cycle..."

...without drop-off.

put your dwell to 30 and report back. if you havent' tried it with air yet then hold on the name calling until you do.
__________________
"Originally posted by PBMT: Oh, and btw, you worrying about grammar on internet forums is like watching a special olympics race judge yelling at a contestant for going outside of his lines on the track...no one cares and you look like an idiot doing so."
WillIbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 06-05-2009, 08:39 PM #23
spug
spuggles
 
spug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NY
Annual Supporting Member
spug is a Moderator
spug is a Supporting Member
spug is BST Legit
spug donated to help Peyton Trent
spug supports our troops
spug is Legendary
If you think the dwell is only there to make it cycle, you are mistaken.

You can have the dwell set and cycle fine, but it may still be too low to be consistent.

After setting the dwell it is recommended that you shoot over a chrono to see how consistent it is. if the consistency is good, then you're done. if it's not, you need to keep raising the dwell until it becomes consistent.

Colin at DeadlyWind actually uses a totally different method to set the dwell, which totally eliminates the thoughts that "if it cycles, the dwell is right".

Set the dwell very high and shoot over a chrono. Keep lowering the dwell a few clicks at a time, shooting a few shots over the chrono between adjustments. Once you get to the point that lowering the dwell decreases the velocity, or causes inconsistency, you're too low. Bump it back up a few clicks and you're good to go.

I will reiterate for the last time. Just because YOU THINK your dwell is high enough, doesn't mean it is.
spug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 08:13 AM #24
jonotwist
fistfull o'sunshine & joy
 
jonotwist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NE ohio
Annual Supporting Member
jonotwist is playing at Living Legends VII
jonotwist plays in the APPA D4 division
jonotwist supports Empire
has anyone even thought of checking to see if the reg might be needing service?

Clean out the piston first. check the orings, re-grease the sucker.
__________________
Speak, if you're worth the listening
vintage old feedback High Tech Shiny Feedback

Breakout Actions Sports Wenies Buy Elsewhere
jonotwist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 08:44 AM #25
spug
spuggles
 
spug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NY
Annual Supporting Member
spug is a Moderator
spug is a Supporting Member
spug is BST Legit
spug donated to help Peyton Trent
spug supports our troops
spug is Legendary
The very first reply to the thread already mentioned this.

The thread starter says he's already done it.

This is why it helps to read the thread before posting.
spug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 11:52 AM #26
newpbpimp
FZ6!
 
newpbpimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
i dont know about you but i always ran my gun at 180. any lower and i get about 240fps. any higher and it gets over 305fps. why not just run the gun off semi and switch the firing can to stock. try to isolate the problem first then go from there. dont just make a general repair and expect it to work perfectly. oh and 3 questions! has it just begining to happen or has this happend in the past? like when did you get the bolt and fireing can? just recently?
__________________
Primary: SP ION--CP trigger, TechT L6 bolt, CP reg, CP drop with on/off, CP 14" 2 piece OR Scepter barrel kit, SP pro grips, CP feedneck

Ion Parts for sale
Xbox 360 stuff
pimp magnet
Hooters bandana
iRiver T10 MP3
Lava Lamp
newpbpimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 01:35 PM #27
Guess 005
Stage 5.1 Master
 
Guess 005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *847*Chicago Suburb*847*
Ok so i didnt read the entire thread, but here goes...

Look inside the "tail" end of your NDZ firing can, is there an o-ring in it?

Look at the tail of your bolt, are there 2 o-rings?

If you answered yes to both of these, theres your problem.
__________________
Looking For RevolutionTT Invites...PM ME
Guess 005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 07:03 PM #28
DRE2
David Evans
 
DRE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Altos Hills
all the o-rings where just replaced on the entire gun, but i will check the reg or have it rebuilt
__________________
hi everybody
DRE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 07:28 PM #29
Guess 005
Stage 5.1 Master
 
Guess 005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *847*Chicago Suburb*847*
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRE2 View Post
all the o-rings where just replaced on the entire gun, but i will check the reg or have it rebuilt
read what i wrote above btw...
__________________
Looking For RevolutionTT Invites...PM ME
Guess 005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 09:13 PM #30
DRE2
David Evans
 
DRE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Altos Hills
ya there's two o-rings at the tail. and i just reset my dwell to 30 so once i get some air i'll let you guys know how that goes.
__________________
hi everybody
DRE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 09:51 PM #31
Guess 005
Stage 5.1 Master
 
Guess 005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *847*Chicago Suburb*847*
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRE2 View Post
ya there's two o-rings at the tail. and i just reset my dwell to 30 so once i get some air i'll let you guys know how that goes.
I also said to check inside the firing can tail portion to see if there is an o-ring inside of it, where the tail of the bolt fits into.
__________________
Looking For RevolutionTT Invites...PM ME
Guess 005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump