Originally Posted by dlee1
and i agree. but when a first referee checks you out and you are called "clean", most/all players will play on. having the second referee calling the "clean" player out is a correct call, but major penalty on top of the elimination is a little confusing.
anyhow, ISU played a great match and it definitely showed in the broadcast. It was a nailbiter until the end, even though i knew the outcome of the match.
the broadcast looks real solid with couple exceptions in minor editing details but i'm being overly critical.
Not true at all for an obvious hit.
There's two ways to handle the situation.
The first way is that if you have an obvious hit, then as you suggest, if you get a ref to call you clean and the hit is found later, no penalty is assessed.
That is an invitation to cheating. Cheating players will attempt to hide the hit during a paint check, so that if they ref misses it and calls them clean, they just got a free license to cheat since they won't get penalized for it later.
The second, and proper way, is that if the player has an obvious hit and plays on, it is a major penalty no matter what - even if a ref mistakenly calls in clean in the meantime. That puts the onus on the player - who should have a very good idea where he is hit (it's obvious) - to make sure the ref checks the spot where the player was probably hit and to make it easy for the ref to do so.