Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2007, 01:49 PM #1
therealmr
\\\\\ i go on walks /////
 
therealmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Behind your eyes
therealmr is a Moderator
 has been a member for 10 years
therealmr is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Has anybody here used a 1.4x or 2x extender?

I'm thinking about getting one of these for my 70-200 f/2.8 IS for some sporting events. I don't have enough money to buy a prime 300, 400, etc. In addition I don't want to digicrop my pictures.

Was wondering if any of you have used this before. Experience with it?
__________________
xyz

I want to be remembered for the
people I helped make memorable;
personal success is overrated if it
doesn't help everyone's progress.
therealmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 09-12-2007, 02:09 PM #2
Super Nosey (Banned)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I know MattD used one. If you don't mind not being able to shoot at 2.8 anymore then go for it.
Super Nosey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 03:19 PM #3
LAX
 
 
LAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Im a traveling Monkey
LAX is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
LAX has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
LAX has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
yea but that still gives you a decent lens thats capable of 400mm at close to f4, er f5.6 i think it would be. still good compared to a 200f4 lens doubled.
__________________
I was probably lying up there^^^^
LAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 03:20 PM #4
Ghs421
 
 
Ghs421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: dc suburbs,md
If your not shooting for the sole purpose of selling/making prints then both will be fine. However a shot with a 70-200 and 2x at f5.6 will start losing resolution fairly quickly when you enlarger 8x10 and beyond. Basically they will both work, but you must understand the limitations it will uphold with sharpness, print size, focus speed etc. I use the canon 1.4x all the time with great success but I am also using it with an L prime. I use the tamron 2x converter simply because I can probably count the amount of times I've truly needed on my hands and it still gets the job done fairly well. Focus speed does slow, but it is not hard to work with. I reccomend the "cheap" Tamron converters because you probably wouldn't notice the difference in quality with a Canon unless you print big a lot. Each Tamron will run you between $100-$150 I think. The Canons are like $300 a piece.
Ghs421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 03:22 PM #5
...Lost
#17
 
...Lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Riverside Ca
...Lost is a Supporting Member
...Lost is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by therealmr View Post
I'm thinking about getting one of these for my 70-200 f/2.8 IS for some sporting events. I don't have enough money to buy a prime 300, 400, etc. In addition I don't want to digicrop my pictures.

Was wondering if any of you have used this before. Experience with it?
I have the 70-200 2.8 IS and the 1.4 II extender. I got really good results on My 1DMIIN. Didnt have focusing issues or IQ. It's still fast as well.

you can check out my zoo pictures on my flickr for examples. ( see Sig )
__________________
"Originally posted by elTwitcho: I climb with my penis and hold my camera between my teeth. My arms I use for carrying beer and women."

ST: Photo - Don't Burn Me Bro
My Web Site

Flickr


Blog
...Lost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 07:51 PM #6
geekyrocketguy
 
 
geekyrocketguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Honolulu?
Canon's bodies only AF to f/5.6. Any slower, and you'll have to manual focus. Keep this in mind if you're consideing the 2X converter (2 stop light loss) with an f/4 lens.
__________________
Be a nonconformist and contribute to my photo fund.

My Photo Site
geekyrocketguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 08:50 PM #7
Ghs421
 
 
Ghs421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: dc suburbs,md
Not on a 1-series
Ghs421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 09:15 PM #8
tonybhall
Mag Daddy
 
tonybhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bama: Roll Tide!
Annual Supporting Member
tonybhall is a Moderator
 has been a member for 10 years
tonybhall supports our troops
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekyrocketguy View Post
Canon's bodies only AF to f/5.6. Any slower, and you'll have to manual focus.
what? Im not understanding this comment.
__________________
Bryan

I'm not saying that stupidity should be punishable by death. But I do think we should remove all the warning labels and let the problem take care of itself.
tonybhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 09:30 PM #9
geekyrocketguy
 
 
geekyrocketguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Honolulu?
Canon's bodies (apparently with the exception of the 1D series) will only autofocus with f/5.6 and faster lenses. If you have an f/8 or f/11 lens, you have to manually focus it.
__________________
Be a nonconformist and contribute to my photo fund.

My Photo Site
geekyrocketguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 10:14 PM #10
therealmr
\\\\\ i go on walks /////
 
therealmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Behind your eyes
therealmr is a Moderator
 has been a member for 10 years
therealmr is reppin' sidebar 4 life
I have an f/2.8 L series lens on a 20d. I fairly confident that your comment applies to me. What camera bodies are you talking about...?

The way it looks now, I'm probably going to end up going with the 1.4.
__________________
xyz

I want to be remembered for the
people I helped make memorable;
personal success is overrated if it
doesn't help everyone's progress.
therealmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 10:18 PM #11
geekyrocketguy
 
 
geekyrocketguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Honolulu?
I think the all the non-1D bodies have this issue.

With a 2.8 lens, you could safely use a 2X extender. A 1.4X would be fine and dandy as well. A 1.4X extender makes your lens into an f/4 lens. A 2X extender would make it a 5.6 lens. You lose light when you add extenders.
__________________
Be a nonconformist and contribute to my photo fund.

My Photo Site
geekyrocketguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 10:46 PM #12
tonybhall
Mag Daddy
 
tonybhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bama: Roll Tide!
Annual Supporting Member
tonybhall is a Moderator
 has been a member for 10 years
tonybhall supports our troops
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekyrocketguy View Post
Canon's bodies (apparently with the exception of the 1D series) will only autofocus with f/5.6 and faster lenses. If you have an f/8 or f/11 lens, you have to manually focus it.
wow. I did not know that. But then, I've never owned a lens slower than 5.6 so I guess it really doesn't matter to me. All of my lenses are f2.8.
__________________
Bryan

I'm not saying that stupidity should be punishable by death. But I do think we should remove all the warning labels and let the problem take care of itself.
tonybhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 11:37 PM #13
therealmr
\\\\\ i go on walks /////
 
therealmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Behind your eyes
therealmr is a Moderator
 has been a member for 10 years
therealmr is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekyrocketguy View Post
I think the all the non-1D bodies have this issue.

A 2X extender would make it a 5.6 lens. You lose light when you add extenders.
Hence why I said I didn't think it applied to me. 2 stops is a lot of light. And as for the nifty fact, I didn't know that either Weird.
__________________
xyz

I want to be remembered for the
people I helped make memorable;
personal success is overrated if it
doesn't help everyone's progress.
therealmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump