CAT 5 Wired? - Page 2 - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 03-13-2007, 03:19 PM #22
undef00d
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ansGXEowns View Post
Good thing I can't preview links in firefox.
You must know a lot about the internets.
undef00d is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 03-13-2007, 03:25 PM #23
pntbllrsprky
I R Baboon
 
pntbllrsprky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minnesota
pntbllrsprky is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by undef00d View Post
You must know a lot about the internets.
if you aren't going to contribute, then don't post.
pntbllrsprky is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 03:50 PM #24
Darth Bagel
read. comprehend. post.
 
Darth Bagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Darth Bagel is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by pntbllrsprky View Post
You will pay hundreds more for things you won't really gain.

cat6 is made for long distance, as it won't drop speed as much as cat5 will.

If he uses cat5e he will get the same as he would with cat6.

Also if he does use a router and a switch, his speeds are limited threw that, and his ISP. Doesn't matter if you have cat 6 when you won't max out a cat5 wire cause of your speed.
Partial fail. At least you apparently answered his question, though. I didn't post (and I imagine others posted as they did) because his question was excessively vague and confusing.
__________________
the door is open
Darth Bagel is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 04:19 PM #25
undef00d
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pntbllrsprky View Post
if you aren't going to contribute, then don't post.
mmm no
undef00d is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 05:07 PM #26
brickwall329
i'm steve!
 
brickwall329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: *672*
brickwall329 helped look for balloons
Damn you, I need to run 100 ft of ethernet just to get my 360 in the basement, because my house isn't wired with cat5.

Lucky...
brickwall329 is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 05:25 PM #27
pntbllrsprky
I R Baboon
 
pntbllrsprky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minnesota
pntbllrsprky is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Bagel View Post
Partial fail. At least you apparently answered his question, though. I didn't post (and I imagine others posted as they did) because his question was excessively vague and confusing.
the small benifit you will gain in this case will not make up for the price. Wiring a whole house with cat6 is just stupid.

Now if you were in an office and you have a few hundred feet to go, then use by all means use cat6, but with what he was doing, it wouldn't be worth it.

edit:

not even to mention the special tools you will have to use. Cat6 is much harder to work with. It would be easier to run fiber.

Last edited by pntbllrsprky : 03-13-2007 at 05:28 PM.
pntbllrsprky is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 05:27 PM #28
Erus_Vestrum
 
 
Erus_Vestrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Wow I can't believe you just asked the most rediculous questions I've heard in a ****ing long time...

I guess there's a first for everything but holy **** that's annoying...


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category_5_cable
Erus_Vestrum is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 05:32 PM #29
pntbllrsprky
I R Baboon
 
pntbllrsprky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minnesota
pntbllrsprky is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erus_Vestrum View Post
Wow I can't believe you just asked the most rediculous questions I've heard in a ****ing long time...

I guess there's a first for everything but holy **** that's annoying...


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category_5_cable
Wow I can't believe you didn't read the first reply.

Some people aren't as educated. You want maturity with computer question I know a few forums for that. This is A) Pbnation B) Small Talk

Stupid questions are going to be asked.

Atleast be nice and answer the question nicely. It probably would have been quicker to reply with a short sweet answer then going to wikipedia, searching cat5 and linking it back and adding some extra unneeded words
pntbllrsprky is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 05:48 PM #30
ansGXEowns
 
 
ansGXEowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
ansGXEowns is a Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erus_Vestrum View Post
Wow I can't believe you just asked the most rediculous questions I've heard in a ****ing long time...

I guess there's a first for everything but holy **** that's annoying...


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category_5_cable
Sorry I'm not a genius like you.. No need to be an ***. The answers I got did just fine.
ansGXEowns is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 05:53 PM #31
Erus_Vestrum
 
 
Erus_Vestrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pntbllrsprky View Post
Wow I can't believe you didn't read the first reply.

Some people aren't as educated. You want maturity with computer question I know a few forums for that. This is A) Pbnation B) Small Talk

Stupid questions are going to be asked.

Atleast be nice and answer the question nicely. It probably would have been quicker to reply with a short sweet answer then going to wikipedia, searching cat5 and linking it back and adding some extra unneeded words
True but hey at least I took the time to answer his question lol...
Erus_Vestrum is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 06:06 PM #32
pntbllrsprky
I R Baboon
 
pntbllrsprky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minnesota
pntbllrsprky is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erus_Vestrum View Post
True but hey at least I took the time to answer his question lol...
As did I.

Most people are misinformed with networking like this

like cat6 is pretty much worthless. It is harder to work with, and unless used with all cat6, pointless.

If you run cat6 all threw your house, then use a cat5 patch cable to your computer, guess what, no bonus of speed to you.
pntbllrsprky is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 06:44 PM #33
brickwall329
i'm steve!
 
brickwall329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: *672*
brickwall329 helped look for balloons
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erus_Vestrum View Post
Wow I can't believe you just asked the most rediculous questions I've heard in a ****ing long time...

I guess there's a first for everything but holy **** that's annoying...


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category_5_cable
I've seen you ask more "rediculous" ones.
brickwall329 is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 07:57 PM #34
Erus_Vestrum
 
 
Erus_Vestrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickwall329 View Post
I've seen you ask more "rediculous" ones.
lol grammar nazi o ****
Erus_Vestrum is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 08:04 PM #35
brickwall329
i'm steve!
 
brickwall329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: *672*
brickwall329 helped look for balloons
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erus_Vestrum View Post
lol grammar nazi o ****
brickwall329 is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump