Having an issue installing a vid card - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 05-24-2006, 06:19 PM #1
dimenticatodio187
so many ways to get paid
 
dimenticatodio187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Having an issue installing a vid card

Well Im trying to install a GeForce FX 5500...Im doing as it says, but once its install and trys to boot up...i get a black screen after the windows screen. I think/know i should try to uninstall my onboard vid card's driver, but it wont allow me, is there anyway to bypass it? Or a way to remove the driver?
__________________
Gator Glaze's 06 Infamous
dimenticatodio187 is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 05-24-2006, 06:25 PM #2
a-5_pwner
ford's gay
 
a-5_pwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
try re-seating the card and make sure you didnt shock da card
a-5_pwner is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 06:29 PM #3
Halfbaked
Mmmk
 
Halfbaked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
The first peice of hardware the system checks for is the video card, if it shows up when it POST's then its prolly not broken. i really never had this problem, but yes try reseating it. P.S. You should not have to uninstall onboard drivers.
Halfbaked is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 06:33 PM #4
dimenticatodio187
so many ways to get paid
 
dimenticatodio187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
a-5_pwner: thats what the guy at bestbuy told me...we tried it with a new card...still no go.
Halfbaked: It reads the vid card when it boots up but after it goes to load the desktop...nothing.
__________________
Gator Glaze's 06 Infamous
dimenticatodio187 is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 06:41 PM #5
dhsdrumer
ASM All the Way!!!!
 
dhsdrumer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
dhsdrumer is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
dhsdrumer has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
It's because it's still booting to the onboard. Im not sure on how to turn it off. It would be in the bios but i don't know where or know how to becuase i have never delt with onboard.

Try it boot it up with the card in and the video cable into the onboard. if it shows up then you must look on the internet on how to disable the onboard.

EDIT: What kind of motherboard is it? I will help look on google to figure out how to turn off onboard.
__________________
Old Feedback
dhsdrumer is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 06:56 PM #6
dimenticatodio187
so many ways to get paid
 
dimenticatodio187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
dhsdrumer: Ive gone into my BIOS to turn off the onboard and switch it to the PCI...Im not sure on the kind of motherboard...came ina computer a while back, is there anywhere on the board to check?
__________________
Gator Glaze's 06 Infamous
dimenticatodio187 is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 07:34 PM #7
dhsdrumer
ASM All the Way!!!!
 
dhsdrumer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
dhsdrumer is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
dhsdrumer has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Yeah you might be able to check on the board. Is It a custom build or prebuilt(as in bought from best buy or something)?

Edit: http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000193.htm

Try that
__________________
Old Feedback

Last edited by dhsdrumer : 05-24-2006 at 07:37 PM.
dhsdrumer is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 12:33 PM #8
deejay88
pballer2oo7 | skrip_kid
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norman, OK
deejay88 plays in the APPA D5 division
Can't be 100% certain...but to me it sounds like you're on the right vcard...but Windows (I'm going to assume this as your OS) is having a prob w/ it.

As the POST is finishig up, push F8. This SHOULD bring up the Windows advanced startup menu. You want to start with Enable VGA Mode. This sets everything down to use very basic colors and resolution. This should allow you to get into the GUI and install the proper drivers. Maybe....
deejay88 is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump