Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Vibe Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Vibe
 Manual: Download the manual for Smart Parts Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $150.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 58
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  43%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Vibe Reviews
Smart Parts Vibe got this gun today. had some initial problems with it, cause my battery was dead. select fire modes worked amazingly. DO NOT use this with a gravity hopper i tried. it didnt work, had to go get an...
Report this review to a moderator   #3745
bassplayerbyheart
woodsball.
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: IL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $140.00
Pros: just about everything, i love how small it is
Cons: not to much...
got this gun today. had some initial problems with it, cause my battery was dead. select fire modes worked amazingly. DO NOT use this with a gravity hopper i tried. it didnt work, had to go get an egg II. idk how, but i chopped a ball. wasnt cheap paint either. couldnt tell if it was in the breech or if it was the end of the barrel... works fine on CO2, cept mine. found out my tank had a leak in it today, saving for HPA now.

stock barrel is pretty accurate, the end of mine is narrower than the rest i think... it broke a ball or two on its way out...

the bolt out back is a really good design i love it. the gun is... well you cant really feel it to much. (its light) getting the trigger adjusted was a little tricky, but not to hard.

this comes with almost NO directions, theres almost like a quick start guide for it, and thats it. mine came with that, a paper describing how to change firing modes, and a paper describing the two types of air you can use.

the reg. works good, leaked out the expanded liquid like it was supposed to. tested that first. the feed neck is pretty decent, holds my egg just fine and pretty tight.

i dont like the fore grip, it sits to close to the trigger guard, but that might just be me. its not a bad thing, just takes getting used to.

11 bps is fine for me, dont wanna waste to much paint. hopefully they will raise that with the new board. but i play woodsball... so it doesnt matter to much.

final thoughts

great gun. love the trigger, like the select fire. durable. easy cleaning.

dont like the foregrip, barrel is decent. the outlet for extra air on the bottom needed getting used to, broke like 3 o-rings on it. thats about the only complaints
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Vibe First Look: When I opened the box I smelled the composite material. Then I looked at the side of the box which had a Smartparts barrel blocker and a baggie with allen wrenches. Sadly no lube was...
Report this review to a moderator   #7015
Cheeseisawesome
 
Cheeseisawesome's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: PLanet Fridon,Drafonis
Cheeseisawesome owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Cheeseisawesome supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $149.99
Pros: It is equivalent to an 08 slg .
Cons: The battery wiggles in the gripframe.
First Look: When I opened the box I smelled the composite material. Then I looked at the side of the box which had a Smartparts barrel blocker and a baggie with allen wrenches. Sadly no lube was included. Under the plastic case there is a warrant registration card and a manual. In the plastic case there was also a barrel included on the side. It looked pretty average so I didin't pay much attention to it. Then I picked it up and it was suprisingly light which pleased me. So the first impression was 4 stars.

Shooting: When I gassed it up it made a leaking noise near the feedneck which horrified me. I unscrewed the tank and shot it. The reg keeps one shot. Then I screwed the tank in again and it didn't leak so I discarded that from my mind. Then I added paint into my eggy 2 and went to the shooting range. It had a little kick but not enough to annoy me. The shooting experience was 4 stars.

Accuracy: When I shot it one ball at a time it had a normal spread, Then I walked the trigger at it's 11 balls per second. The balls started going all over the place. So DO NOT SHOOT FULL AUTO. It deserves 3 stars. It dissapointed me. ***Update: I got a SP Freak Jr kit and now it has HEAVANLY accuracy***

Final: This marker is the best I have ever ever seen for 150$. It deserves 4 stars because of it accuracy,
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Vibe I recently purchased the Smart Parts Vibe with the Blackheart board and eyes installed by the manufacturer. I am upgrading from a Spyder Pilot ACS and the difference is remarkable. This is the...
Report this review to a moderator   #5833
GODCYPH
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $225.00
Pros: speed, weight, performance
Cons: possibly air efficiency
I recently purchased the Smart Parts Vibe with the Blackheart board and eyes installed by the manufacturer. I am upgrading from a Spyder Pilot ACS and the difference is remarkable. This is the first electro-pnuematic marker I have ever used in my 10 years of playing paintball, as I have used nothing but Spyders in the past.

Appearance

This marker looks very slick. I love the mostly-black non-reflective body (the only parts that aren't black are the sides of the bolt chamber, the back of the bolt assembly and the aftermarket wedge/asa I put on - they are red on my Vibe). The marker is very compact which is nice, but the foregrip is just a little too small for me (I have big hands).

Performance

Firing modes abound. Not only does the Blackheart board increase the bps cap from 11 bps to 20 bps, it also provides many firing modes such as PSP, Millenium, NXL, CFOA, Semi-Auto (capped and uncapped), Auto Response, in-game selectable fire, burst (2-4), rebound, and even fully-automatic.

There is virtually no kick-back. It is more akin to a vibration than actual kick. This increases accuracy because the marker moves very little from shot to shot.

Compared to Spyder blow-back markers, the Vibe is virtually silent. When paired with a 32 Degrees Whisper barrel, you can barely hear if fire when you're right on top of it.

The Vibe's trigger takes a bit of getting used to - it is very light but has quite a bit of travel. I can really only be adjusted one way, and even then not that much. From starting point to activation (solenoid tripped) can be adjusted to within a hair's breadth, but there is nearly a quarter inch of travel after activation. There is a small screw halfway down the trigger to be used as a stopper but it isn't long enough to touch the back of the trigger frame even when it is fully extended. This results in a substantially longer trigger pull than could be potentially possible. Not really a con, just a minor nuisance for me.

Originally, the Vibe used a low-force bolt as it's only form of anti-chop. Along with the Blackheart board, Smart Parts has installed a vision anti-chop system (eyes). This works very well indeed, as I have shot nearly 2 cases of tournament grade paint through the Vibe with nary a single break. Even the vision ACS has settings, which include: classic, delayed (shot is delayed a fraction of a second before firing if a ball is not detected), and forced delay (hold trigger for one second to force fire). The eyes emit a blue light (the same, I believe, for every color marker) when the vision ACS is on. I suppose this is to indicate when the system is active, however the led on the trigger frame also indicates the same thing (green when on, red when off). My only concern with this is possible drain on battery life.

I thought Brian, the guy at my local paintball shop from which I purchased the Vibe, was joking when he remarked that "this thing has incredible range" while chrono-ing my new marker. He was right - the Vibe has considerably more range than my Spyder Pilot ACS. With a proper paint/barrel match, the Vibe will shoot straight as an arrow, placing ball on top of ball at around 50 yards.

Having read all of the reviews on this site prior to purchasing the Vibe, I trusted that this marker would be efficient on air "after the reg has been broken in". I am sorry to report that, due to my Vibe being only a month old and possibly not fully "broken in", air efficiency is fairly poor. I am currently using a 72/3000 Pure Energy HPA tank preset to 850psi output. With this tank i can shoot approximately 600-800 shots on one tank of air consistently. I will give it some more time to "break in", but I fear that it will not get much better at this point. It may be necessary to purchase an aftermarket regulator to obtain the efficiency everyone else seems to be experiencing. Not quite sure, but this may be due to the Blackheart board - I have adjusted the dwell settings according to the manual but I ended up with a setting that is actually 1ms higher than the default setting.

Also of note is the performace degrading first-shot drop-off problem, in which the first shot fired after the marker has sat unused for a few minutes doesn't complete a full volume shot - sometimes the ball won't even leave the breach, causing a "double-shot" to occur. This is potentially a very bad situation to be in because if you are not prepared, your very first shot will break paint and you will need to clean out the barrel before you can shoot again. This can be remedied, however, by setting the FSDO option of the Blackheart board, so it is not really a con. I currently have mine set at 6ms extra dwell for the first shot.

The Vibe's stock barrel, while only 9 inches long, shoots straight enough but is still only a typical stock barrel.

Reliability

I have owned the Vibe for only a month so I can't comment much on reliability. What I can say is that it has not failed me yet. No leaks, no misfires, and only a small problem with first-shot drop-off, easily remedied, which I described above.

At the same time, I cannot rate reliability lower than my own experiences, hence the 5-star rating.

Value

As I have mentioned above, up to this point I have only used Spyder markers. The Smart Parts Vibe outperforms any other marker in it's price range to date that I know of. With the Vibe's ability to utilize either CO2 or HPA and it's performance at stock setup, I can't think of a better marker for a beginner or someone looking to upgrade from a blow-back marker.


I feel it is necessary to mention a minor problem I had with the feed neck. I am currently using an Empire MagnaDrive loader and it seems that you can quite easily tighten the feed neck clamp so tight as to not allow the hopper to feed balls into the breach. This is fixed easily by loosenng the clamp just a little - the clamp still holds tight enough but doesn't prohibit the balls from feeding. Again, not really a con - just something to be aware of.


If you've made it this far, thank you. I have spent alot of time researching and testing to make this review as accurate as possible. All in all, it is my opinion that the Smart Parts Vibe deserves an Excellent rating, and anyone thinking about purchasing one should hesitate no further.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Vibe I bought my marker for 100$ off this forum Ive used this gun for a year now and it still works great! ive never changed an oring in this marker. And the only breaks ive had was with 2 year old...
Report this review to a moderator   #7723
kjellopa92
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: price, reliable, bob
Cons: maybe barrel
I bought my marker for 100$ off this forum
Ive used this gun for a year now and it still works great! ive never changed an oring in this marker. And the only breaks ive had was with 2 year old paint.

Ive used som brittle and bad paint but this marker does not break paint, i had maybe 3 breaks with some 2 year old whitebox paintballs but that was in the winter.

The barrel is a bit short, ive used the stock barrel all the time and it works but i would recommend a cp 12" or 14" 1piece.
Its got this wierd "pop" sound when it shoots, i dont know why.

If your looking for your first electro or just a cheap electro i would get this marker. The select fire is genius in the woods.

its easy to clean it too, bob(bolt out back) is very nice.
Light and nice marker, even though its some sort of plastic or whatever it does NOT break. high quality
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Vibe This is my second smart parts Vibe. The first one i owned i purchased the week the Vibe was released from Smart Parts. Honestly though this was a terrible experience for me.. i got it and right out...
Report this review to a moderator   #29080
paintballcrazy94
 
paintballcrazy94's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ontario,Canada
paintballcrazy94 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
paintballcrazy94 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballcrazy94 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballcrazy94 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballcrazy94 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: Efficient, smooth shooter, quiet, upgradeable, BOB
Cons: 11bps cap, Regulator looks ugly
This is my second smart parts Vibe. The first one i owned i purchased the week the Vibe was released from Smart Parts. Honestly though this was a terrible experience for me.. i got it and right out of the box it leaked and didnt shoot worth anything, so the next day i go back to my local store and get another one.. i get home and the same problem! So i brought that one back and just moved on with my life and bought an HPA Tank. Now i kind of blamed myself for this because I always hated Smart Parts so why did i buy one of there markers..

Now though i got a chance to buy one that had a nasty leak in the regulator off of a friend, so for the marker and some other little add ins i paid 90 bucks canadian for this little shooter. Right away i bought a CP reg and an On/Off ASA and a 16 inch linear barrel.

The thing i love about the Vibe is how smooth it actually shoots, I truly love spool valve markers. They can be found for sale at a very good price and are perfect for people getting into the sport. The stock regulator has a release valve with releases dangerous liquid co2 so it doesnt harm the marker, this means beginners can use co2 safely. Also it comes with a nice feedneck which secruely holds most loaders. It has Bolt Out Back design meaning very fast maintenance. The trigger is one of the best plastic triggers ever.. BUT.. its still plastic.. The spool valve design without the hammer is my favourite.

Overall we have a very nice shooter here, and if you can get over the whole 11bps shooting (or buy a blackheart board) then this is the gun for you, cheap and fun!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Vibe Overall this isn't a bad marker. I've been playing for ~7 years now and I've owned and played with quite a few markers. Now I haven't played with anything really over the 600$ mark but I don't feel...
Report this review to a moderator   #4422
Murdox
One With The Gun
Murdox's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $139.99
Pros: Efficient, Durable, Fun
Cons: Appearance, Feedneck,
Overall this isn't a bad marker. I've been playing for ~7 years now and I've owned and played with quite a few markers. Now I haven't played with anything really over the 600$ mark but I don't feel that it will compromise this review.

PROS:

This gun once the regulator has been worked in has excellent efficiency for this price range and comparable to most higher end guns. I use a 70/4500 CrossFire Stubby and after I had the reg worked in I managed to shoot ~1600 shots on one fill (8 pods and 3 hoppers)

I've ran into wooden bunkers and smacked this thing off the walls, slid through the mud and even watched it fly out of my hands as I came across some water and it didn't even phase this gun. It has excellent resistance to water (some people worry about this).

FUN! This marker is overall much more fun to play with than any other marker I've used. My friend and I were playing some walk-on ball and we were using the F7's and I personally enjoyed playing with my Vibe over the F7 and he also agreed. It's just a real joy to use.

CONS

I find that the outter body makes the marker look bloated and just ugly. I'm sure some accessories will come out to address this problem later on.

Feedneck, while the feedneck does hold my loader on really well it doesn't seem to hold the loader on squarely so occasionally the balls will get stuck on the inner ridge of the feedneck. It isn't anything major, just a shake and the balls are feeding once again, but it's still annoying.


OVERALL

I gave this marker 5 stars for Value because for the PRICE RANGE this marker is top of the line. Nothing seems to be able to compete with it (with in the price range once again)

I really enjoy this marker, and recommend it for a fun marker to just muck around with and to loan to others as well as to new comers to the sport who need a dependable, reliable and efficient marker.

*** I can't really comment on CO2 efficiency because I don't use it ***
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.9/5 stars.
Smart Parts Vibe First of all - Thumbs up to Smart Parts! They made a reliable and fast marker for a low price. This marker is great for beginners as a back up, or even for an intermediate player. Over all, Ill give...
Report this review to a moderator   #4442
Brandontron
 
Brandontron's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ontario
Brandontron supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $149.99
Pros: Price, Easy to clean, Very Upgradable.
Cons: Stock barrel = Meh
First of all - Thumbs up to Smart Parts! They made a reliable and fast marker for a low price. This marker is great for beginners as a back up, or even for an intermediate player. Over all, Ill give it a 9/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Smart Parts Vibe i found the vibe on ebay for 50. bought it right away because i thought that it would suck and it was actally really nice. iwhen i got it there was no manual or any thing. so i got it a really liked...
Report this review to a moderator   #4932
paintballer0032
 
paintballer0032's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ohio
paintballer0032 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: bolt out the back
Cons: only 11 bps
i found the vibe on ebay for 50. bought it right away because i thought that it would suck and it was actally really nice. iwhen i got it there was no manual or any thing. so i got it a really liked the bolt out the back. i lubed it up. i wanted to put hpa on it but i could figure out how to change to that mode. so i put co2 on it and shot 11 bps easy. i honestly like the vibe trigger more than my ion trigger because i like triggers with some pull.i am thinking about getting the virtue board for it. my brother has a freak kit for his ion so i barrowed it from him and put it on the vibe. i stood bout 30-40 feet away fom a pole that is 2 inches wide. dead on overall i like the gun but the board could be alittle better but it is great for 150 new
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Smart Parts Vibe The Vibe is an all around good gun. It is easy to maintain, it is accurate, and it doesn't chop. If you are looking for a good budget gun, get this. You might need to upgrade the barrel because it is...
Report this review to a moderator   #6678
HartBoy
HartBoy
Join Date: Sep 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $149.95
Pros: Accurate, Doesn't Chop
Cons: Doesn't Come With Tools
The Vibe is an all around good gun. It is easy to maintain, it is accurate, and it doesn't chop. If you are looking for a good budget gun, get this. You might need to upgrade the barrel because it is only 10 inches, but it is a great gun. Great job SmartParts.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Smart Parts Vibe Here is my Setup: Smart Parts Vibe Smart Parts 14" Progressive Halo B w/ Suicide Shell Crossfire 68/45 Tank & A/S Co2 with On/Off Pros:Light- Even with my Halo and 68/45 tank, it is still lighter...
Report this review to a moderator   #2966
Holg
 
Holg's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Florida
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $139.99
Pros: Light, Quiet, Reliable, Select Fire
Cons: Stock Battery
Here is my Setup:
Smart Parts Vibe
Smart Parts 14" Progressive
Halo B w/ Suicide Shell
Crossfire 68/45 Tank & A/S Co2 with On/Off

Pros:
  • Light- Even with my Halo and 68/45 tank, it is still lighter than most guns I have shot. The weight is mostly due to the durable plastic that is also used in hand guns.
  • Quiet- With this being an electropneumatic gun, it is defiantly quieter than the blowbacks.
  • Reliablity- The bolt-out-back design makes it easy to maintain.
  • Select Fire- Semi-Auto, 3-Shot Burst, or Full Auto 11bps.
  • Feedneck- The stock feedneck is better than most budget markers.
  • PRICE- Only $139.99 on Action Village!

Cons:
  • Stock Battery- When I first gassed it up with Co2, it would not shoot consistently because the stock battery was dead.
  • No Select Fire- I bought my Vibe after the Select Fire Upgrade but Action Village sent me one without it. (This has nothing to do with SP)

Recommended Upgrades:
  • HPA Tank or A/S Co2
  • Barrel- Get a 14-16" that you can afford.
  • Board- When they become available, a new board with a higher bps cap will be great.
  • Trinity Trigger & Feedneck
  • On/Off ASA

The first two upgrades are the only real priorities.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Add New Review