Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Ricochet Development LLC - Apache Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Ricochet Development LLC
8552 N Dysart RD
Suite 200C
El Mirage, AZ 85335

Email: nonexistant
Website: http://nonexistant
The Ricochet Apache is the lightest of all the super fast loaders weighing in at only 16oz with batteries.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $21.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 11
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  9%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  55%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  18%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  18%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Ricochet Development LLC - Apache Reviews
Ricochet Development LLC Apache Period of Product Use: 2 Years Paintball Experience: April 1997 - Present Similar Products Used: Valken V-Max, Odyssey Halo B, Draxxus Pulse, JT Velocity Strengths: Interesting Design, Not A Bad...
Report this review to a moderator   #24126
deltapaintball
Josh Foote (R)
deltapaintball's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Jersey
deltapaintball is a Supporting Member
deltapaintball donated to help Peyton Trent
deltapaintball supports our troops
deltapaintball has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
deltapaintball supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $49.99
Pros: Interesting Design, Not A Bad Price At The Time.
Cons: Cheap Plastic Shell, Cheap Lid.
Period of Product Use: 2 Years

Paintball Experience: April 1997 - Present

Similar Products Used: Valken V-Max, Odyssey Halo B, Draxxus Pulse, JT Velocity

Strengths: Interesting Design, Not A Bad Price At The Time.

Weaknesses: Cheap Plastic Shell, Cheap Lid.

Review: When this product came out in the early 2000's, it was well received by those moving from mechanical markers to electros as it could keep up with most non ramping guns. With ramping being more and more common, the hopper was just unable to keep up with the new markers of today. Along with the plastic shell being cheap, it always felt like it was one drop away from breaking in pieces.

Conclusion: As stated, when I was moving into the world of electros, this was a great purchase, as it wasn't overly expensive, but at the same time could help me transition into electros.

Rating: 6/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Ricochet Development LLC Apache Nowadays everyone would accuse this of being a Pinokio rip off. The Apache was the premiere hopper from Ricochet. The sleek design supposedly helped create bounces, and allowed paint to even roll...
Report this review to a moderator   #15046
o5pr3y
Watch out for Snakes!!
o5pr3y's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vallejo, CA
o5pr3y plays in the PSP
o5pr3y plays in the APPA D4 division
o5pr3y has achieved Level 6 in PbNation Pursuit
o5pr3y is Legendary
o5pr3y is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: Lightweight, Fast
Cons: Quick battery drainer, Poor design
Nowadays everyone would accuse this of being a Pinokio rip off. The Apache was the premiere hopper from Ricochet.

The sleek design supposedly helped create bounces, and allowed paint to even roll along the edges, making it splat on whatever was behind you. The feed design was a similar wheel like what was found in a Revy, but it used a ribbon like today's Pinokios.

Pros: Lightest hopper, similar to VLocity
Fast. 20bps
Cool, unique look

Cons: The feed ribbon would tend to become less responsive over time
Weak plastic means after a few poor slides, the shell is toast.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Ricochet Development LLC Apache I bought this loader because i heard it was a tank, and could with stand anything. Well that wasn't the case for me. Very first game i sprinted to my bunker, back left, and didn't even slide. When i...
Report this review to a moderator   #5386
sconn
MTU_Paintball
sconn's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
sconn owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
sconn is an NCPA player
sconn plays in the APPA beginner division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $21.99
Pros: cheap price
Cons: very weak
I bought this loader because i heard it was a tank, and could with stand anything. Well that wasn't the case for me. Very first game i sprinted to my bunker, back left, and didn't even slide. When i started to shoot i noticed that the loader was gone. I looked back only to see it on the ground with a broken feedneck, splitting out every ball it had. It was about only 10 feet from the starting board. I believe that i cant call it reliable, because it lasted me about three seconds.

I called ricochet only to find out that they are out of business. So all in all i would not recomend this loader. 20 bucks for a loader that lasted three seconds, not a reliable or good investment at all.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Ricochet Development LLC Apache I have returned to paintball about a year ago while at a work related paintball outing and felt it was time to get some nice gear again. I had bought a Spyder MR3, very unreliable, but when it...
Report this review to a moderator   #6211
vnandez
VICTOR
vnandez's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New York
vnandez has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $35.00
Pros: Light, cheap, Fast
Cons: Ugly, !!! BIG !!!
I have returned to paintball about a year ago while at a work related paintball outing and felt it was time to get some nice gear again. I had bought a Spyder MR3, very unreliable, but when it worked I needed to get a fast hopper to keep up with the marker. As I looked around the Apache was cheap and fast. At that time I was not willing to spend the $150 for a top of the line loader so the $35.00 seemed to be a bargain for a fast loader. As it turns out the Apache is a great hopper. It can go through at least two boxes of paint before changing the battery. I have taken it apart once to clean and see the internals. The rest of the time I just stick a rag inside and wipe it down after a day of playing. I have used the Apache consistently for over six months and not once have I had a jam in the hopper. The tab in the loader makes for a reliable feed rate into your marker while shooting.

And now for the cons: IT's HUMONGOUS! This thing sticks out about like a sore thumb when your behind a bunker. I have had more hopper hits with this thing than I can remember. The lid is a bit hard to open and close. The feedneck on my Apache is the one without the o-rings but I always have trouble making it fit on any clamping feed neck. LOUD as hell! The motor can be heard after every shot whirring around. The Apache will do about 15bps but at times it can be inconsistent in its feed rate if your walking the trigger in semi and very inconsistent if your ramping.

I am about to upgrade to a force fed loader but will keep this for a backup. Overall it is a good hopper for the price. With its ease in maintanieance and its great reliability I will have this loader for many years to come.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Ricochet Development LLC Apache I won a set of them in a tournament in 2003 and I tried it before I sold it, one of the worst loaders ive ever used it was hideous to start and the tab feed system work like very poorly, the lid...
Report this review to a moderator   #21997
TimTaylor
Zombies make me smile.
TimTaylor's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dos Cinco Tres
TimTaylor owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TimTaylor is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.01
Pros: capacity
Cons: everything else
I won a set of them in a tournament in 2003 and I tried it before I sold it, one of the worst loaders ive ever used it was hideous to start and the tab feed system work like very poorly, the lid broke the first time i used it, i was very happy to be rid of it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Ricochet Development LLC Apache I first got my Ricochet way back in...jeez...2005ish? I got mine right when they came out. I was in the market for a fast hopper, and i was a little wary of using a halo with my brand new (at the...
Report this review to a moderator   #5300
eatafetus
knows you love it.
eatafetus's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: I Chill in Ill
eatafetus has been a member for 10 years
eatafetus supports our troops
eatafetus plays in the APPA D5 division
eatafetus is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
eatafetus is Legendary
eatafetus supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Lightweight, fast, tough as nails
Cons: fugly.
I first got my Ricochet way back in...jeez...2005ish? I got mine right when they came out.

I was in the market for a fast hopper, and i was a little wary of using a halo with my brand new (at the time) Dye dm3. My captain showed me this little box waaaaay in the back of the display case and said that I should try it out. Hello, apache.

Appearance - Ok, lets not beat around the bush, this thing is a ugly beast. deflection technology is apparently a function over form design. I probably could make mine pretty presentable if i just cleaned it, but I sorta want to see how much abuse this thing can take. Not much else to say here. I used to pay my captain back for making me buy a nice but ugly loader by yelling "DEFLECTION TECHNOLOGY!" everytime I got a bounce off the hopper. It happened quite a bit, and became a team inside Joke.

Performance - Haha talk about an underdog. This thing is a pretty fast and consistant little loader. Its sorta loud when it feeds, but it spins everything you pull the trigger, so your gun shooing will give you away. It uses a different sensor that other hoppers. Instead of an eye or a microphone, it uses a small tab that is pushed back by the incoming balls down the feedtube. Everytime the tab is bumped, it loads. That means that dirty paint or not, this thing will feed no matter what. Quite reliable.
It looks like an eggy on the inside, and small ball tray that pushes the balls down the stack in what I like to call "force feed lite." As stated it will hit around 20 bps, which is more than enough with today's 10 bps cap in psp.

Reliability - Holy friggin crap. This thing is a tank. Here's the miserable existance of my apache. It was used rather unthoughtfully for two seasons, untill I finally bought a halo. No maintaince work other than semi-regular cleaning was ever done to it. It was thrown in a bag and forgotten for about a year, then taken out an played with again. I got shot directly on the rear of the loader, right smack dab on the LCD screen. It went blank. ****. I turned the loader off, turned it back on, and it performed like new. Screen turned back on and everything. It sat for another year in my old teamates bag outside in the cold Chicago winter, and last summer I finally got it back from his theiving ***. I let my noob work friends use and abuse it, and they have, resulting in probably 100 hopper shots, several fall-on-your-***-land-on-your-loader incidents, and it was even laying on the ground (grass) and my boss dropped a N2 tank from standing height right onto the Apache. Everytime something bad happends to this thing, its like Rocky...It gets back up and beats the **** out of those Russian bastards.

The one thing I dont like about them is the feedneck. Although I have never broken mine, I get the feeling that its not as tough as the other loaders. It uses some orings on the neck to be better gripped by your feedneck. This also can affect how it is held by the feedneck, making it slightly prone to wiggle around unless you have that ***** clamped on there really tight. If I had the spare time and money, I would like to reinforce the neck just to see what it would do.

Value - Apparently you can get these for like 30 new now. Wow. Yea, thats not a bad buy. Sure, people will make fun of you for having the ugliest loader possible, but its sure is light,fast, and reliable. Isn't what the end goal is? make sure you have a clamping or adjustable feedneck.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Ricochet Development LLC Apache I bought this hopper to use on my Angel LCD so i could have a sweet old school setup. It worked extremely well even after all these years. Screen worked fine, fed balls consistently, and looks...
Report this review to a moderator   #42663
Intern1
 
Intern1's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gallifrey
Intern1 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Intern1 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $25.00
Pros: old school!
Cons: Heavy
I bought this hopper to use on my Angel LCD so i could have a sweet old school setup. It worked extremely well even after all these years. Screen worked fine, fed balls consistently, and looks awesome. Only cons are it weighs a ton and it crazy tall, but it fit my build so overall I am pleased with it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Ricochet Development LLC Apache The hopper is pretty good. and pretty quick too. With My sp1 I can out shoot it with just semiautomatic. pretty good for a back up hopper though.
Report this review to a moderator   #10445
Michael Kilroy
MiketheSpi
Michael Kilroy's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.00
Pros: cheap
Cons: ugly looking, not fast enough
The hopper is pretty good. and pretty quick too. With My sp1 I can out shoot it with just semiautomatic. pretty good for a back up hopper though.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Ricochet Development LLC Apache you can find better loaders out there, especially used ones. these were decent at best when they came out and now are obsolete.
Report this review to a moderator   #40096
Ronald_Raygun
Chris, GA (R)
Ronald_Raygun's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Statesboro
Ronald_Raygun owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Ronald_Raygun has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Ronald_Raygun has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Ronald_Raygun supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $20.00
Pros: cheap
Cons: slow, heavy
you can find better loaders out there, especially used ones. these were decent at best when they came out and now are obsolete.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Ricochet Development LLC Apache Great hopper just makes the gun a little top heavy but hardly noticable.
Report this review to a moderator   #6672
Shadowbair
 
Shadowbair's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $21.99
Pros: Speed, Reliable, cheap
Cons: a little heavy
Great hopper just makes the gun a little top heavy but hardly noticable.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review