Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - PMR (Proto Rail 09) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
The Matrix Rail™ features incredible 3D body styling, dual-durometer adjustable feed neck, a fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a low pressure bolt kit and metal logo inserts. Bottom line. Great gun.
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $445.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
 Reviews: 52
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  38%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  48%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  4%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - PMR (Proto Rail 09) Reviews
Proto Paintball PMR (Proto Rail 09) This gun (2009 edition) is pretty great for the used price but everything on it seems to just cause me issues. The eye harness is a piece of crap design that I have broken twice through normal use....
Report this review to a moderator   #24427
masterofTHUMBS
boom headshot
masterofTHUMBS's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 703
masterofTHUMBS posts videos on PbNation
masterofTHUMBS is an NCPA player
masterofTHUMBS supports Pev's Paintball
masterofTHUMBS plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: fast, worth the price (used)
Cons: orings can be a PITA
This gun (2009 edition) is pretty great for the used price but everything on it seems to just cause me issues. The eye harness is a piece of crap design that I have broken twice through normal use. The vertical ASA has had a few issues with pinched orings. The bolt has had pinched orings. And I hate the UL frame. Taking off the grip is stupid but whatever. I feel like I'm taking care of it like I should but certain pieces are just a pain. But when this gun does work, it definitly performs excellent.

Overall, I definitly got my money's worth but I would probably never go back to another proto. In fact, I plan on selling this one soon and getting maybe an automag or autococker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR (Proto Rail 09) I grabbed this gun for $160 with a 68/45 out of hydro tank so it was a great great value for the price I paid. Visuals It looks very nice. The all aluminum body and trigger frame is very sleek and...
Report this review to a moderator   #32058
mercerasian
Thai-Son Le
mercerasian's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Middle Georgia
mercerasian owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
mercerasian owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
mercerasian plays in the APPA beginner division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: UL Frame, Soft Bolt, Aluminum Body and Frame
Cons: Air Hog and no PSP 3 Shot
I grabbed this gun for $160 with a 68/45 out of hydro tank so it was a great great value for the price I paid.

Visuals
It looks very nice. The all aluminum body and trigger frame is very sleek and solid.

Handling/Performance
It feels great in the hands and is very light. The 14-inch stock barrel makes aiming very easy and manipulating bunkers that much easier. The soft bolt hasn't broken a single ball yet. The trigger has a little side-to-side play in it but nothing that would affect performance. The hand screw feedneck isn't preferred but does the job fine in keeping my Halo B loader secure. The on/off airport leaks when I first screw in a tank but is always sealed up after a few shots (probably just requires that extra pressure to tighten up the seals). A lever on/off ASA would probably be preferred but not necessary. The macroline fittings coming out of the side aren't preferred but they aren't noticeable in game; I have no problem switching hands even though they come out the side. This marker does okay on air; not the most efficient marker but it gets 7 pods on a 68/45 tank so no complaints there.

Reliability
It has yet to break down on me. The only known problem is the leaking airport/ASA and that clears itself up in the first few shots.

Overall
This is my first marker and I'll probably stick with it for a long, long time. It's just a great shooter for any price much less the price I paid for it. It looks and feels solid and has a very soft shot with almost no kick. I'd recommend it to anyone.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR (Proto Rail 09) Good gun for the money a little hard to get the bolt out but besides that its a good gun
Report this review to a moderator   #24622
NYOC~DEVIL
NYOC PAINTBALL MILITA
NYOC~DEVIL's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York
NYOC~DEVIL owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
NYOC~DEVIL supports Team VICIOUS
NYOC~DEVIL has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
NYOC~DEVIL has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
NYOC~DEVIL is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
NYOC~DEVIL supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: great gun
Cons: Air hog
Good gun for the money a little hard to get the bolt out but besides that its a good gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR (Proto Rail 09) Good gun for a starter. They shoot alright and operate fine, but I would not heavily trust one with heavy use.
Report this review to a moderator   #13743
paintballer14t
FLEXAN.FIN.S
paintballer14t's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Goshen, NY
paintballer14t is playing at Living Legends VII
paintballer14t supports Team VICIOUS
paintballer14t is an NCPA player
paintballer14t plays in the APPA D4 division
paintballer14t supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: cheap and works great
Cons: not so reliable
Good gun for a starter. They shoot alright and operate fine, but I would not heavily trust one with heavy use.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR (Proto Rail 09) have the dye ultralight airforce edition and love this marker, only two little things have happened is a leak in the macroline which just swapped out a new one and fixed it, and left side eye cut out...
Report this review to a moderator   #9566
pbEric00
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: fast and accurate
Cons: air hog
have the dye ultralight airforce edition and love this marker, only two little things have happened is a leak in the macroline which just swapped out a new one and fixed it, and left side eye cut out for awhilem but juse reran the wires and plugged everything back in and started working again
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR (Proto Rail 09) I love my PMR. It has been an absolute workhorse. However, it gets finicky in really cold weather. Overall, great beginner or intermediate marker.
Report this review to a moderator   #39229
PurpleNinjaX2
Want A Cookie?
PurpleNinjaX2's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
PurpleNinjaX2 is playing at Living Legends VI
PurpleNinjaX2 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
PurpleNinjaX2 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
PurpleNinjaX2 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: looks, barrel, good shot
Cons: battery life, efficiency`
I love my PMR. It has been an absolute workhorse. However, it gets finicky in really cold weather.

Overall, great beginner or intermediate marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR (Proto Rail 09) I love the 09 PMR with UL Grip barrel the 2 piece proto barrell is great. very light and accurate. no barrelbreaks after 4 cases.it is almost a dye ultralight barrel minus 3 rows of...
Report this review to a moderator   #9416
SantaMonicaLocal
 
SantaMonicaLocal's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
SantaMonicaLocal owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: See Review
Cons: See Review
I love the 09 PMR with UL Grip

barrel
the 2 piece proto barrell is great. very light and accurate. no barrelbreaks after 4 cases.it is almost a dye ultralight barrel minus 3 rows of porting.

Upgrade suggestion![/color] I Suggest Getting a Furious 2 part Barrel system!!!

feedneck
the stock feedneck is good.its a thumbscrew feedneck. Sometimes its hard to get it fully tight, but it is easily adjustable, works well with the Viewloader

eyes

eyes are fine. no chops at all. only downside is that they are ribbon eyes.

Upgrade suggestion![/color]
Get The Hater Eyes lines eyes rule with this gun!

regulator
the hyper 3 reg is great. it is basically the same reg as the dm9s have. the dms just have a grip over it. this is very consistant. Solid

bolt
this bolt is very nice and is extremely soft on paint. its 2 piece and is a pain to lube.

ASA
the on/off asa is great. no leaks. ever

grips
the sticky grips are a beautiful thing never slip and over the UL frame it makes the gun so easy to hold! best grips out!

trigger
this ul trigger is used on many of the dms. soo GD soft! A-

board
the stock board comes with 4 different firing modes and they are semi psp millenium and nxl fullauto. theser r honestly all the firing modes u need. it comes tournement ready.it doesnt really skip shots.

Upgrade suggestion![/color] Get the Hater Board!!! 22 firing modes make this gun a fun toy

frame
this gun comes with the famous 45 ul frame which is also on all the dms. it is the most confortable and most easy to handle. this is absolutely the best frame out there.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR (Proto Rail 09) I mean, it was my first gun, it always broke, it never shot consistent, I hated it but I will always remember it as my first real gun. (Passed tippmann and spyder)
Report this review to a moderator   #42320
Texas Paint
Gig 'Em HO!
Texas Paint's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Texas Paint owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Texas Paint is an NCPA player
Texas Paint plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: First gun for me
Cons: A lot, not consistent, always breaks, ugly
I mean, it was my first gun, it always broke, it never shot consistent, I hated it but I will always remember it as my first real gun. (Passed tippmann and spyder)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR (Proto Rail 09)
Report this review to a moderator   #44258
Wapakalypse95
 
Wapakalypse95's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2014
Wapakalypse95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Air Hog
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR (Proto Rail 09) I can honestly say, that of all the guns i have used in my time playing, the rail has been the best value. for the money, this gun shoots the best. ive played many tournaments using a rail over a dm...
Report this review to a moderator   #12377
whitekidintheghetto
Axe + Cashews?
whitekidintheghetto's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nor Car
whitekidintheghetto plays in the PSP
whitekidintheghetto owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
whitekidintheghetto supports Team VICIOUS
whitekidintheghetto plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Shoots AMAZING, smooth, quiet, comfortable
Cons: Stock barrel is only 1 piece
I can honestly say, that of all the guns i have used in my time playing, the rail has been the best value. for the money, this gun shoots the best. ive played many tournaments using a rail over a dm or ego. it feels good and shoots great. A+++
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review