Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
i4 Rapid lens change system. 290 Degrees of Horizontal and Peripheral Vision Co-molded Soft Low Profile Mask Soft, Lightweight Ear Protection
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $99.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 674
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  37%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Dye Precision - I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Reviews
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles awesome mask. Never fogged on me. It looks badass and the lens changing process is fairly easy. Definitely recommend.
Report this review to a moderator   #53569
CatsGoMooooo
 
CatsGoMooooo's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Chicago
CatsGoMooooo has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Never fogs
Cons: None i could think of
awesome mask. Never fogged on me. It looks badass and the lens changing process is fairly easy. Definitely recommend.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles the good- The I4 looks and feels incredible and with a wide variety of color options you can match it to your whole set up. It breathes very well and I have had no issues with fogging even playing...
Report this review to a moderator   #70961
cmac_spartan
 
cmac_spartan's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Atlanta
cmac_spartan has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: comfortable, good vision
Cons: small
the good-
The I4 looks and feels incredible and with a wide variety of color options you can match it to your whole set up. It breathes very well and I have had no issues with fogging even playing in very humid and very hot weather.

The cons-
The only real issue is they are small which offers less protection than most other masks. It isn't that big of an issue unless you get shot in the forehead or just below the side of your chin.

Overall I think the I4 is a great mask but if I were looking for a new mask right now I would get a Virtue VIO just because it offers a little more protection and they are very underrated therefore you will probably be the only one wearing it at the field.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles I love Dye mask systems, very easy to breathe in, great field of vision and the easy change lense is great. So many different lenses and styles of the mask. Wouldn't use anything else
Report this review to a moderator   #74049
colderthanever
colderthanever's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NY
colderthanever is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
colderthanever supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $45.00
Pros: Fov, Light, Breathability
Cons: None so far
I love Dye mask systems, very easy to breathe in, great field of vision and the easy change lense is great. So many different lenses and styles of the mask. Wouldn't use anything else
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Most everyone knows the I4s are not suitable for a big head. I love the feel and look of the mask but never felt comfortable using them. Having a large head most of my bottom jaw was exposed while...
Report this review to a moderator   #85297
crazyboarder9999
The Insurance Guy!
crazyboarder9999's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NY
crazyboarder9999 has been a member for 10 years
crazyboarder9999 plays in the PSP
crazyboarder9999 plays in the NXL
crazyboarder9999 supports Team VICIOUS
crazyboarder9999 plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Looks, feel, options
Cons: size, size, size
Most everyone knows the I4s are not suitable for a big head. I love the feel and look of the mask but never felt comfortable using them. Having a large head most of my bottom jaw was exposed while playing and was worse when trying to communicate on field. I would recommend to anyone who can properly wear the mask, that is the only reason I am rating lower on the performance and reliability, based on an overall player view. If you have a large head this is not the mask for you.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles
Report this review to a moderator   #83898
Dark_nitro
SIMDOG
Dark_nitro's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West Palm, Florida
Dark_nitro has been a member for 10 years
Dark_nitro owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Dark_nitro has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $170.00
Pros: .....
Cons: .....
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles When I got my i4's they felt amazing conformed to my face very well, my only dispute was the tightness of the strap at the back, but all I did was take out the stitching and stitched it up again but...
Report this review to a moderator   #43127
Dklizznein
"Spoooooooon!!!"
Dklizznein's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Canada
Dklizznein is playing at Living Legends VII
Dklizznein owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Dklizznein has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: Light weight, clear line of vision, conforming
Cons: Strap is to tight for fat heads
When I got my i4's they felt amazing conformed to my face very well, my only dispute was the tightness of the strap at the back, but all I did was take out the stitching and stitched it up again but giving it a little slack and now they fit amazing! One of the best goggles Ive used and I love the audio coming in and being able to comunicate much easier with team mates.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Best mask I have used so far. Its only short coming would be its breathability, which still isn't a big issue.
Report this review to a moderator   #82297
ejmyer18
 
ejmyer18's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, Tn
ejmyer18 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $110.00
Pros: FOV, Fit, Appearance
Cons: Breathability
Best mask I have used so far. Its only short coming would be its breathability, which still isn't a big issue.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Very nice, a little on the small side, if you have a big head dont buy these unless your comfortable getting shot in the mouth when yelling. The logos and other pieces glued on have a tendency to...
Report this review to a moderator   #60281
Empirecivic91
---B-More Revo Fan---
Empirecivic91's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Can-Zass
Empirecivic91 plays in the NXL
Empirecivic91 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Empirecivic91 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Empirecivic91 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: Visibility
Cons: Small
Very nice, a little on the small side, if you have a big head dont buy these unless your comfortable getting shot in the mouth when yelling.

The logos and other pieces glued on have a tendency to fall off. And if you sweat a bit the foam falls apart from itself aswell...


All in all you will get your moneys worth out of it. And look sexy doing it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Coming back to the sport in 2013, I purchased a full net setup of gear, including a Dye I4 mask. Fast forward 2 seasons and I'm now using a VForce Grill as my primary mask, and likely will soon be...
Report this review to a moderator   #66489
Erok
<-- BS 180 tail
Erok's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alaska
Erok has been a member for 10 years
Erok plays in the NXL
Erok has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Erok has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Erok has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Erok has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $129.95
Pros: Lightweight, large field of vision, never fogs
Cons: Very small, no visor, exposed jawline
Coming back to the sport in 2013, I purchased a full net setup of gear, including a Dye I4 mask. Fast forward 2 seasons and I'm now using a VForce Grill as my primary mask, and likely will soon be splitting time between a Grill and Virtue VIO. For me personally, masks designs are a bit more advanced than the I4 these days, especially in the world of high end paintball masks.

While the Dye I4 certainly isn't a poor offering in regards to high end paintball masks, it just doesn't hold up to some of the newer masks on the market. But before we get into the bad, let's review the good:
The I4's biggest asset is its field of view. It has an oversized lens that offers really solid downard vision and all around great peripheral vision. It definitely beats out my Grill when it comes to peripheral vision, especially downward. It gets the job done well enough in regards to "breathability" and hearing/voice communication on the field as well. I also like the aesthetic look of the mask, it is very sleek and encourages bounces. One last thing worth mentioning that's nice about the mask is the lens change system - I always found it to be super simple and easy, which is a big plus.

The I4's sleek and low profile design looks great, but is also one of the mask's biggest flaws. The I4 doesn't offer full face protection, even for those with smaller heads/faces - like mine. My jawline is fairly exposed in the I4, and I let the mask sit a bit low, which then exposes more of my forehead consequently. My Grill definitely offers a bit more protection for those nasty jawline and neck shots, and is just generally a much fuller mask. Additionally, the I4 doesn't come stock with a visor, and although I'll only use a visor on rainy days, it's nice to have available for when the time comes. Furthermore, Dye doesn't even make an aftermarket visor that you can purchase separately for the I4, at least as far as I know. You can however purchase a Virtue VIO visor and make it work with the I4, from what I understand.

Overall, I wouldn't say the I4 is a bad mask at all, but it just isn't as nice as some of the newer masks like the Grill and VIO.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles These goggles are very nice all around. Since I have a smaller head, they fit just right on me. The only problem that I see with them is that sometimes it can be very hard to breathe in them.
Report this review to a moderator   #46353
grubes
 
grubes's avatar
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
grubes is playing at Living Legends VII
grubes owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
grubes has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
grubes has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Great, sleek look
Cons: Nopt made for bigger heads
These goggles are very nice all around. Since I have a smaller head, they fit just right on me. The only problem that I see with them is that sometimes it can be very hard to breathe in them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review