Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
i4 Rapid lens change system. 290 Degrees of Horizontal and Peripheral Vision Co-molded Soft Low Profile Mask Soft, Lightweight Ear Protection
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $99.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 631
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  37%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Dye Precision - I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Reviews
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Fit. I'm 6'3" 200lbs and have a mellon to match. I would say the mask covers my face like it should as long as my mouth is shut. If you have a big face or are a mouth breather, you may want to get...
Report this review to a moderator   #5690
rorhound
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: So CA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: Light, compact, easy change lense
Cons: See review
Fit.

I'm 6'3" 200lbs and have a mellon to match. I would say the mask covers my face like it should as long as my mouth is shut. If you have a big face or are a mouth breather, you may want to get something bigger. I had no problems getting hit in the jaw line area. I took a few headshots and may have just been lucky so far. We'll see as time goes on.

Weight.

Very light. Unlike other masks that feel heavy and seem to ride a lot of their weight on my nose (pinching my nostrils down) the I4's stayed where I put them and my nose stayed open make breathing easier.

Venting.

The vents above the lense allowed light to get into the inside of my mirrored lense causing a reflection/glare. It bothered me when waiting for a game to start but as soon as I was concentrating on the game, I guess I looked passed it because I didn't notice it anymore until I thought about it again. I have applied some foil tape to the vents and that has eliminated the glare but I haven't played with the mod yet so I don't know if it's going to effect fogging or sweating. A visor would be nice and that will be my next mod if the foil tape promotes too much sweating or any fogging.

The mask sits real close to my face leaving little room for air to escape or get into the mask. The vents seemed ok but I found myself getting a little overheated after a game while walking back to the staging area. Air temp was about 75 and I was recovering from a headcold so the latter may have more to do with it than the heat. I can see SAFE ways of opening the mask vents a little more for better airflow so that may be an option.

Lense.

The vision this system allows you to have is outstanding. The tabs you depress to remove the lens can be a little hard to use at first, but once the lense has been removed and replaced a few times, the system loosens up and it's a snap to change a lense.

Overall impression.

A great, lightweight goggle system. Perfect? Nope, but for me, it's the best one out there and I will continue to use it over my other masks.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles CRAZY LIGHT -Insanely COOL LOOKING -NEVER FOGS -EXTREMELY COMFTERBLE -VERY wide field of vision Weaknesses: None what so ever!!! Review: THIS MASK ROCKS!!!!!!!! It is so light I sometimes...
Report this review to a moderator   #9161
Etek3Baller
Female Body Inspector
Etek3Baller's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmond, OK
Etek3Baller owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Etek3Baller owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Etek3Baller is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Etek3Baller supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $124.99
Pros: No fog, light, good looking
Cons: slight bit small for fat people
CRAZY LIGHT
-Insanely COOL LOOKING
-NEVER FOGS
-EXTREMELY COMFTERBLE
-VERY wide field of vision

Weaknesses: None what so ever!!!

Review: THIS MASK ROCKS!!!!!!!! It is so light I sometimes forget I am wearing it. And it is VERY durable. If you don't believe me check out this vid:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OV7vXQuQ0hE

It never fogs, even in 90% humidity, while it is raining, on a 105 degree day> (I live in OK) One, of the best thing about the mask is how awesome it looks. NONE of the pictures on the internet can do it justice!!! I have the Black/Gold version and it looks SICK in person!!!!

The only thing I will say is that, if you are over 6 foot tall and weigh more then 200 lbs this mask might be a little on the small side for you. (but, hey it is extremely light)

Conclusion: Best mask out on the market!!!!!!
Rating: 10 out of 10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles I bought the I4s about 1 year ago and do not regret it. They fit nice and snug on my head (small) and allow my peripheral vision to roam free . I can easily see this mask leaving way to much head...
Report this review to a moderator   #20833
Hinjin
 
Hinjin's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Hinjin is playing at Living Legends V
Hinjin owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Hinjin posts videos on PbNation
Hinjin has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Hinjin has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: Light, small, easy to take lens out
Cons: Lens scratches easy, not good for big heads
I bought the I4s about 1 year ago and do not regret it. They fit nice and snug on my head (small) and allow my peripheral vision to roam free . I can easily see this mask leaving way to much head exposed for larger people. My chin is barely covered by the mask.

The lens removal system takes seconds and is pretty convenient. I had a lot of trouble the first time removing the lens, but I finally figured out what I was doing wrong. I was not pushing the two clips in all the way.

The thermal lenses themselves are extremely delicate. You do not even want to rub them with anything. When cleaning them, one has to use an absorbing cloth and dab at it. I have some air pockets and paint caught in between the two lenses, but that was my fault for not taking care of them correctly. Good thing it only costs $30 for another lens and not $130.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Got the Black/ Gold LE I4s and they have been by far the best goggles I have ever used. Very comfy, easy lens changing, and the small profile were the objectives Dye set out for and hit it right on...
Report this review to a moderator   #19295
hotshot44
Navy Paintball
hotshot44's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
hotshot44 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
hotshot44 supports Team VICIOUS
hotshot44 is an NCPA player
hotshot44 plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: Small Profile, soft ears, easy lens change
Cons: Small Profile
Got the Black/ Gold LE I4s and they have been by far the best goggles I have ever used. Very comfy, easy lens changing, and the small profile were the objectives Dye set out for and hit it right on the money. Wont ever use another mask. They fit my face perfectly, although I do know it is trouble for some people with bigger face getting shot in the chin. Definitely gotten bounces off the mask and even off the lens believe it or not. They definitely got the angles right on the mask to keep max bounces but not distort vision or voice.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Pros: The Dye I4 is one of the more refined masks I have owned. -The construction of the mask is top notch, and the field of view is good. -Your peripheral vision is not obstructed by the edges of...
Report this review to a moderator   #6815
sandflea_97
Gunfighter
sandflea_97's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
sandflea_97 supports Cereal Killerz 2
sandflea_97 donated to help Peyton Trent
sandflea_97 helped look for balloons
sandflea_97 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
sandflea_97 supports Bob Gurnsey
sandflea_97 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $
Pros: Weight, Size, Lens Change
Cons: Fit, View Over Nose
Pros: The Dye I4 is one of the more refined masks I have owned.
-The construction of the mask is top notch, and the field of view is good. -Your peripheral vision is not obstructed by the edges of the lens, granting you a very wide view of the field.
-The profile of the mask is very small, considerably smaller than the Flex or most other masks.
-Breathing and communication are both good.
-The lens are excellent quality, both HD factory amber lens, and the Dyetanium lens I purchased. Lens changing is pretty easy, although once in a while I have issues unlocking one side from the frame.
-The soft ears are awesome, and seem to be very high quality

Cons:
-The mask is obviously fitted for smaller faces. However, this makes sense with of the player base being younger people. The mask is not uncomfortable, but fits very snug on the face.
-The materials used to make the mask are also a little more rigid than I prefer, coming from a long history of Flexes, I like a bouncy mask.
-Also, with the small size of the mask comes more vulnerable spots. The chin of a normal sized adult is pretty exposed, especially when shouting. The ears seem fairly well covered, however.
-And while laterally the view is amazing, the wide nose of this mask leaves for a large blind spot center and low. I have not found this to be a problem in lay, but it is a noticeable area of blur. This may be an issue on wooded/ uneven fields.

-The styling on these masks won't appeal to everyone, I think they look pretty avian, other people say bug like. All personal preference.


Overall, I am pretty impressed with the mask. As a product, I do not regret buying it, and would buy again. The fit is a little too tight for me, but it's means to an end. Really, though that is my only issue with the I4. It will be a top choice for me now.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles The i4 goggle is personally one of my favorite all time masks, I used it for the near entirety of the 2012 season without an issue. I enjoyed it so much my first time using it that I bought a black...
Report this review to a moderator   #35727
aresfiend
Snake player McFatass
aresfiend's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rice Lake, WI
aresfiend has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $134.99
Pros: Comfy, light, quick lens removal, soft ears
Cons: Small, airflow
The i4 goggle is personally one of my favorite all time masks, I used it for the near entirety of the 2012 season without an issue. I enjoyed it so much my first time using it that I bought a black and gold LE version of it and didn't regret it one bit. Out of the box it came with a nice mask bag that also doubled as a microfiber cloth and did a very good job making the fine touches to the lens to make it shine.

In the entirety of the time that I used it I only encountered two issues, and those are the narrow profile of the mask (not a personal issue, but teammate related) and the airflow. While the narrowness of the mask wasn't an issue for me, it was too narrow for one of my teammates who used an i4 for a tournament then switched to a Profiler just after. I was always impressed with how well the i4's side and vertical coverage actually was (better than the Profit and Profiler) for it being such a small mask. My only personal issue is that the i4 was rather hard to breathe in due to only having limited venting in the front of the mask, that is the soul reason that I switched to the Grill.

All in all, the i4 is an awesome mask and the only thing holding it back from being something that I'd recommend left and right is the price, $110 is too high for the basic versions of the mask.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Dye i4 ThermalAPPEARANCEThe new look is just truly amazing. I have no complaints about the style. The lower profile and wide lenses are a huge bonus compared to other masks.PERFORMANCESince I first...
Report this review to a moderator   #6674
asianalex
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: in a house
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.95
Pros: wide view, variety of colors, very durable
Cons: leaves chin exposed, expensive lenses
Dye i4 Thermal
APPEARANCE
The new look is just truly amazing. I have no complaints about the style. The lower profile and wide lenses are a huge bonus compared to other masks.
PERFORMANCE
Since I first got this mask in the mail, I've used it every single time I played with my buddies on the field and in the woods. In both situations, this mask proved itself with its lightweight design and versatility.
RELIABILITY
My mask has been through some tough situations from dropping it on a sidewalk to taking direct hits on the mask. Cleanup is a breeze. Literally took me two minutes to clean the entire mask. Pull two tabs on either side and BAM, the lens is out! Simple as that.
VALUE
Although its a little on the expensive side, it's worth every penny. You get what you pay for, and this mask says it all. First of all, it's by Dye, so it's geared for the pros. But nonetheless, its a great mask for anyone who plays or is interested in playing paintball, both field games and scenario.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles these are really good goggles. if you jowles you probably wont want to use these. I "borrowed" my roomates
Report this review to a moderator   #18118
deano 177
jax warriors
deano 177's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 9OH!4
deano 177 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
deano 177 posts videos on PbNation
deano 177 plays in the APPA D3 division
deano 177 is Legendary
deano 177 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.01
Pros: they are good
Cons: fat face need not apply
these are really good goggles. if you jowles you probably wont want to use these. I "borrowed" my roomates
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Proud owner of an i3, I couldn't wait to try the next gen. First off the rapid lens change system is nice, but I have only taken the lens out three times sense owning it. If you want to take the lens...
Report this review to a moderator   #8397
Deimos280
Colorado Dragons
Deimos280's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: COLORADO SPRINGS
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.99
Pros: Very light, look like the predator
Cons: No forehead protection... and you look like a bug
Proud owner of an i3, I couldn't wait to try the next gen. First off the rapid lens change system is nice, but I have only taken the lens out three times sense owning it. If you want to take the lens out to clean it, it comes in handy (Trying to clean the lower inside lens can be a pain) I cant speak for the HD stock lens, I have never tried it, went with the tented one. As for the look, someone said I look like an "ant."... but im thinking about growing dreads and getting a shoulder mounted paintball cannon with a 3dot sight. We will see what he says then As for it being "too small" I dont exactly have a tiny head so it doesn't cover as much of my forehead as other masks, (and no visor) but its worth a couple forehead welts for a mask that doesn't have to be welded to your face so it doesn't flop around. As for taking balls to the chin (haha) I have read many reviews and a lot of people mention it. If your worried about getting "ball-chind" dont look up while playing paintball... unless your opponents have jet packs Besides, If you play tight, your barrel, hands and right/left ear/eye are all that should be exposed... or you have a chin that makes Bruce Campbell say "Damn you have a big chin!! It says right on the box "Designed with the professional in mind" Dye got rid of all the slack when designing the i4. The protection is where you really need it. It has 290 degrees of vision, ear protection that you can still hear out of, its VERY light weight and your team can still hear you talk. The performance is amazing! If there was a review for PROTECTION: I would still give it 4 stars. This is the best dome sack protector DYE has made yet.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles The i4ís are a great goggle from Dye. The only drawbacks I've seen are the face that when talking my chin and jaw is completely exposed. The only other drawback is they are just flat out expensive....
Report this review to a moderator   #25165
DiRTyBuNNy
I <3 Deer Gore
DiRTyBuNNy's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: East Tennessee
DiRTyBuNNy is a founding member
DiRTyBuNNy supports Team VICIOUS
DiRTyBuNNy has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.99
Pros: great style, dye makes bombproof gear
Cons: expensive
The i4ís are a great goggle from Dye. The only drawbacks I've seen are the face that when talking my chin and jaw is completely exposed. The only other drawback is they are just flat out expensive. There is no way around that fact. I purchased the Dye cam version.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Add New Review