Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
i4 Rapid lens change system. 290 Degrees of Horizontal and Peripheral Vision Co-molded Soft Low Profile Mask Soft, Lightweight Ear Protection
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $99.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 620
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  37%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Dye Precision - I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles Reviews
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles My favorite mask i have ever used, it takes less than seconds to take it apart if you wanna clean it or change the lens. The view from them is fantastic you can see everything and not have part of...
Report this review to a moderator   #12783
xxMastaShakexx
Hoes on my Dick
xxMastaShakexx's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 805 cali
xxMastaShakexx owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
xxMastaShakexx owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
xxMastaShakexx supports Team VICIOUS
xxMastaShakexx is for the Gunfight
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: Easy to breath, big range of view
Cons: low profile
My favorite mask i have ever used, it takes less than seconds to take it apart if you wanna clean it or change the lens. The view from them is fantastic you can see everything and not have part of the mask block your view. To me this is the best mask in every aspect, it looks sexy, it's easy to work with, and you can breathe so well while using it. Only bad part is it has a low profile so if you have a bigger head you might wanna get a sandana or bandana
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles I love my i'4s i have used these for more then 3 years. They look cool and the lense are easy to change. The only problem i dont like is that its hard to breath.
Report this review to a moderator   #29702
yungiceflip
Ransom
yungiceflip's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In my house
yungiceflip plays in the PSP
yungiceflip owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
yungiceflip supports Team VICIOUS
yungiceflip supports Team VICIOUS
yungiceflip is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
yungiceflip supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: small, looks great, lense
Cons: hard to breath
I love my i'4s i have used these for more then 3 years.
They look cool and the lense are easy to change.

The only problem i dont like is that its hard to breath.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles The goggles have never fogged up on me, ever. They are really comfortable to wear. Little on the expensive side but worth it. If you are a bigger player, it exposes your chin a little bit.
Report this review to a moderator   #37464
rjsonne54
Best Coast is no Coast
rjsonne54's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, SD
rjsonne54 posts videos on PbNation
rjsonne54 is an NCPA player
rjsonne54 plays in the APPA D4 division
rjsonne54 is a top reviewer
rjsonne54 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Dont fog ever, comfortable, looks great.
Cons: a little small for big guys
The goggles have never fogged up on me, ever. They are really comfortable to wear. Little on the expensive side but worth it. If you are a bigger player, it exposes your chin a little bit.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.9/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles *Update after 5-6 more paintball days with the I4* - Mask still feels super tight and light, love it. - Dunno if it was a factory defect or not but the thermal portion of my lens started to peel off,...
Report this review to a moderator   #4938
gspin2k1
 
gspin2k1's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: *671*
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.95
Pros: Light, field of vision, lens
Cons: small on jaw, no visor, hearing
*Update after 5-6 more paintball days with the I4*
- Mask still feels super tight and light, love it.
- Dunno if it was a factory defect or not but the thermal portion of my lens started to peel off, I used some super glue to re-stick it. I figured it'd cost me more to ship it back to DYE for a warranty replacement. Seems to work fine.
- For those who are wondering, I am 5'9 and 210 lbs. So I'm not tiny.
- Mask still doesn't fog, which is awesome
- Went on a somewhat rainy day, and an included visor..or visor option could have helped a little
- The HD lens is really an awesome concept (basically like comparing a clear lens to an amber lens when you go skiing/snowboarding). Again I do not know if it'll make you play better, but I do notice it helps define edges of people, paintballs, bunkers, etc.
- Straps is still good and tight, which is why you no longer need a chin strap even during big dives.
- I finally got shot in the jaw under my right ear. It hurt A LOT, and continued to sting the rest of the night. I was not happy about it. Who shot me..my own teammate in my back corner.
- I have come to realize although the mask is small on the bottom and doesn't cover your chin or jaw well. Most of the time you are looking down and have your arms up to cover your jaw with your shoulder (like a boxer) when you play. So Chances of getting shot in the chin or jaw is actually not that likely when you play, unless of course you get shot by your own teammate like I did.
- OVERALL: still very happy with my mask, and all my other masks I have are now just for my friends and family to use. The price is high, but it's not terrible. If protection of your forehead, chin and jaw is a ABSOLUTE must for you...then you may have to consider another mask, but all the benefits that come with this mask makes it absolutely worth it.

~G



*Initial Review*
So I bought the I4 last week and finally got to take it for a test run last friday. Looks are going to be a personal thing, but to me, I like how the I4 looks. Even though at the same time I'm not a fan of the E-Vent (which looks very similar...go figure). The rubber is very soft on the mask which makes it comfortable and may lead to potential bounces. The HD lens on it actually does work well, with it make you play better, probably not, but it is a nice feature. Also the thermal lens IMO works much better than the I3/I3 Pro thermal lens. I constantly fog up those thermal lenses (even with the DYE fan), but with the I4 (with no fan) fogging was not an issue for me for once (I sweat a lot). And of course the number one thing about the I4 is the quick change lens system. It's extremely easy and reliable.

The price of the mask is standard with most DYE masks, and $100 isn't a bad price to pay for one of your most important if not THE most important piece of paintball gear. I'd rather have 1-2 good masks that I love than 10 that are just meh, but again it's up to you. The mask also fits very tightly and snug to the face, which does create a smaller profile and does help eliminate that "I'm wearing a paintball mask/helmet" feel when you play.

There are really only two things about the i4 that bug me. 1) the lower portion is very small. I have a "strong" jaw so the sides of my jaw stick out even when I'm not talking, which if/when I do get hit there...will probably hurt a lot. Also when you are speaking your chin sticks out a lot too. So pray the time you get hit in the lower portion of the mask is not the same time you are talking to your team. At the same time the top portion also comes down low, so sandana/turtle cap/bandana is probably a must to avoid huge forehead bruises/welts. the one advantage to the small size of the mask, is that it has made the mask very light. Probably one of if not the lightest mask on the market right now.

DYE has also done away with the chin strap. I guess it's unnecessary, and well works well for me. The DYE i4 also does not come with a visor which could come in handy during rainy days...so during those days I guess I'll stick with my I3 pros. Lastly, I'm not sure if it was just the day I was playing, my ears are going bad, or perhaps the mask itself. But I found I had a little more trouble hearing people friday than I typically do. Again could be due to a number of factors, but I can't leave out the possibility the mask may have affected my hearing.


Regardless the mask is a great mask. It's not perfect but it's well worth every penny and worth a consideration for anyone looking for a new mask.

~G
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles I expected more durability from a DYE product than this. I am all about DYE, haven't played for a few years and getting back into it, i pony'd up on a nice mask. should have found an old event...
Report this review to a moderator   #39959
Lurch_man
Step over the line...
Lurch_man's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: FL
Lurch_man posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: nice looking, light, good visibility
Cons: ears break, too pricey
I expected more durability from a DYE product than this.

I am all about DYE, haven't played for a few years and getting back into it, i pony'd up on a nice mask.

should have found an old event from Empire.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles i have had this mask for a lil over a month now and nothing but praise for it. it looks awesome and fits well. the hd lens is great and doesnt fog even during a hot rainy florida summer day. the camo...
Report this review to a moderator   #6433
modifiedflorida
MdifiedfloridA
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: springhill,fl
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $95.00
Pros: see review
Cons: none as of yet
i have had this mask for a lil over a month now and nothing but praise for it. it looks awesome and fits well. the hd lens is great and doesnt fog even during a hot rainy florida summer day. the camo looks awesome. the field of vision is great. lens removes with ease. i cant say enough... some notes would be to try them on first some complain of fit. it offers no throat or neck protection for those wussy girls who are scared and put there neck in the way of oncoming paintballs. by far one of the best purchases since i started playing.. kudos dye!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles nice mask and looks great, just feels small compared to i3s
Report this review to a moderator   #36879
redvsblue23
DYLARDIAS MAXIMUS
redvsblue23's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Edwardsburg, MI
redvsblue23 is BST Legit
redvsblue23 plays in the APPA D4 division
redvsblue23 has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
redvsblue23 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $85.00
Pros: comfortable, clear, light on your face
Cons: could cover a little more face
nice mask and looks great, just feels small compared to i3s
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles when the dye mask was first intoduced i had a bad feeling about it. i thought it made the player look like a bug, and i just didnt like it. after alot of guys on my team started to buy them i grew to...
Report this review to a moderator   #6463
getupfront
CHILD SOLDIER
getupfront's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: McDonough, Ga
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: see review
Cons: see review
when the dye mask was first intoduced i had a bad feeling about it. i thought it made the player look like a bug, and i just didnt like it. after alot of guys on my team started to buy them i grew to like the look. i went out looking for a new mask a few weeks later and was stuck between the grill, i4, and i3 pro.
i went with the i4, and was not dissapointed, now to my pros.

PROS
light
comfy
hd lense
small
softears
CONS
jaw protection
lenses scratch up easy
quickchange is helpful but annoying
breathing, in and out.

please rate my review honestly
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles This mask is simply AMAZING. Now time for a pros and cons list. Pros: The mask fits very well, and at the same time granting an excellent field of view! It is lightweight, easily adjustable, and not...
Report this review to a moderator   #42060
aksince94
 
aksince94's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Vernal, Utah
aksince94 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
aksince94 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
aksince94 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Wide range of view, looks mean, minimalistic
Cons: small for some faces
This mask is simply AMAZING. Now time for a pros and cons list.

Pros: The mask fits very well, and at the same time granting an excellent field of view! It is lightweight, easily adjustable, and not constricting on your head. The mask is also aesthetically pleasing, in my honest opinion the best looking one on the market.

Cons: Some could argue that the price is steep, and that the mask doesn't completely cover your face if you have a bigger head.

Ultimately, I would give this mask a strong 10 out of 10. It protects you, feels well on the face, and looks absolutely amazing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision I4 Thermal Paintball Goggles I got these in a gear package for 09. I loved the way they looked, and how large the lenses were. My only complaint was that they were a little small, and that my mouth was exposed when yelling.
Report this review to a moderator   #13172
laxplayer9352
USMC
laxplayer9352's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jax, NC
laxplayer9352 is a Supporting Member
laxplayer9352 is a Paintball photographer
laxplayer9352 supports our troops
laxplayer9352 plays in the APPA D3 division
laxplayer9352 is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: Looks, light, lens system
Cons: Small
I got these in a gear package for 09. I loved the way they looked, and how large the lenses were. My only complaint was that they were a little small, and that my mouth was exposed when yelling.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Add New Review