Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Rotor Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
Length: 8 1/2 inches Height: 4 3/4 inches Width: 4 1/4 inches Empty Weight: 1.3 lb. Loaded Weight: 2.6 lb. Power Source: 3 AA batteries Battery Life: 50,000 plus shots!! Capacity: 200+ balls Feed Rate: 50+ bps!! Tool-less disassembly
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $149.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 1211
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  64%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Rotor Reviews
Dye Precision Rotor It was expansive. Its a great hopper and it looks great. Easy to use and clean!
Report this review to a moderator   #20342
ego0809
Me Gusta
ego0809's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jerzy
ego0809 owns a Planet Eclipse SLS
ego0809 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
ego0809 supports Team VICIOUS
ego0809 supports our troops
ego0809 is Legendary
ego0809 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $195.00
Pros: low profile,easy to clean and use.
Cons: expansive,
It was expansive. Its a great hopper and it looks great. Easy to use and clean!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor Works great. I have had a lot of hoppers. So far best one yet. Never had a problem. Owned around 4 and never had a problem with any of them from v1 all the way to v2
Report this review to a moderator   #14969
justjoe
Peanut butter and Jaaaam!
justjoe's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Strip Club, Indiana
justjoe supports Cereal Killerz 2
justjoe supports our troops
justjoe is reppin' sidebar 4 life
justjoe is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: strong, feed rate
Cons: price
Works great. I have had a lot of hoppers. So far best one yet. Never had a problem. Owned around 4 and never had a problem with any of them from v1 all the way to v2
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor I have had 7 Rotors (yes, 7), a Halo B, and a Magna so far. The Rotor blows the rest out of the water. I don't think I'll ever switch for a long time. Defects? The earlier model Rotors had some...
Report this review to a moderator   #6940
AtLp8baLL3r
Who Wants Watermelon?
AtLp8baLL3r's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atlanta
AtLp8baLL3r helped look for balloons
AtLp8baLL3r owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
AtLp8baLL3r plays in the APPA beginner division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: See Review
Cons: See Review
I have had 7 Rotors (yes, 7), a Halo B, and a Magna so far. The Rotor blows the rest out of the water. I don't think I'll ever switch for a long time.

Defects?
The earlier model Rotors had some problems such as blue LED not lighting up, feeding issues, etc.

Jamming?
I have personally never had any of my Rotors jam on me. Many, many cases have gone through it, and it has been fine. If it does happen to jam, the anti-jam shark fin kind of works, but sometimes you may have to take the Rotor off the feedneck to clear the feedstack. When using the anti-jam, it may seem not to work, but really all you need to do is pull it hard. A lot off people only pull it lightly, so that may be why there are many complaints about the anti-jam not working. You have to pull the anti-jam fairly hard to clear the jam.

How I like to check for jams before games is to simply pull on the anti-jam shark fin. If for some reason it moves very easily without any resistance, the Rotor is probably jammed (not confirmed). In this case, I like to just take off the Rotor and empty out the ball stack.

Reballs?
The Rotor is horrible with reballs honestly. Maybe it's because mine are a bit old and non-oiled, but nevertheless it feeds extremely slow. You will probably have to shake it around to get balls to come up.

Batteries?
Runs on 3 AA Bateries and last a very long time. Older, weaker batteries will have a slower feed rate though.

Appearance/Profile?
This probably has the smallest profile out of all the hoppers out there while still holding close to the same amount of paintballs. This is also the best looking hopper IMO, and can be customized with color kits to your liking.

Feeding?
The Dye Rotor feeds very fast. It is probably impossible to outshoot it on semi. These days, there is a bps cap at nearly all fields and every tournament, so it feeds fast enough for anyone. The Rotor also has very little to no popcorning (balls bouncing around when feeding) unlike other hoppers.

Maintenance?
Easiest hopper to take apart. Period. No one can even touch the Rotor in this category. I can take the Rotor fully apart within seconds. This is very convenient if anything ever gets into the hopper.

Pros:
Quiet
Only Uses 3 AA Batteries
Long Battery Life
Smooth Feeding
Easy Maintenance

Cons:
Hard to tell when low on paint
Some factory defects in early Rotors
Early Rotors do not have upgraded center arm piece
Suck with reballs

Please rate my review. I spend a good bit of time trying to give you guys information.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor Good hopper, works great and never skips a beat on working. But these things like to jam...more than they should. I clean mine after every day of playing and it usually never fails that the next time...
Report this review to a moderator   #34876
applebutt89
Been here since 04
applebutt89's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 704 to 804
applebutt89 plays in the PSP
applebutt89 supports Team VICIOUS
applebutt89 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
applebutt89 is Legendary
applebutt89 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $110.00
Pros: Easy to use/clean
Cons: Jams more than I would like
Good hopper, works great and never skips a beat on working. But these things like to jam...more than they should. I clean mine after every day of playing and it usually never fails that the next time I play it will jam at least once.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor easy to take a part and has never let me down, problem is like any other dye product is it cost and arm and a leg to afford it
Report this review to a moderator   #14625
devilspaintball
Hustle, Fight, Grind!!!
devilspaintball's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY and NJ
devilspaintball plays in the USPL
devilspaintball plays in the PSP
devilspaintball is an NCPA player
devilspaintball plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: easy to take a part
Cons: pricey i feel
easy to take a part and has never let me down, problem is like any other dye product is it cost and arm and a leg to afford it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor This is, in essence, the perfect loader. I love the looks, it's easy to take apart and clean, it rarely jams, and doesn't eat batteries (only uses 3!). Overall, the perfect loader! BUY THIS.
Report this review to a moderator   #12200
dude1it
Christopher R.
dude1it's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Erie, PA
dude1it helped look for balloons
dude1it supports Team VICIOUS
dude1it is an NCPA player
dude1it is a top reviewer
dude1it is Legendary
dude1it is Boss
dude1it is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: NONE at all
This is, in essence, the perfect loader. I love the looks, it's easy to take apart and clean, it rarely jams, and doesn't eat batteries (only uses 3!).

Overall, the perfect loader!

BUY THIS.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor The Rotor is perhaps one of the most advanced and easiest loaders to use and maintain to date. Full disassembly takes seconds and it's rather easy to clean. You should never be able to break the...
Report this review to a moderator   #16489
L8r_H8r
Timers are ready
L8r_H8r's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: *407*
L8r_H8r supports our troops
L8r_H8r supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: Easy disassembly, fast, reliable, sturdy
Cons: None for me, but brand new ones being expensive.
The Rotor is perhaps one of the most advanced and easiest loaders to use and maintain to date. Full disassembly takes seconds and it's rather easy to clean. You should never be able to break the shell, it's practically a tank. Some complain about getting frequent jams and breaking fragile paint. I myself, very RARELY get jams and have never broken paint, and I've been using the Rotor since it's introduction. Those who get jams are either using terrible paint, or just highly unlucky. I have yet to use the SEED upgrade kit, but the Rotor is fine as is. If you're looking to get one, find one USED for the fraction of the price for a new one. A used one will function just as well as a new one since they are durable and highly reliable.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor I have had this hopper for a long time, I have started with the v1 rotor. Then worked my way up to the v3. I have never had a problem with it at all. A must buy for paintball
Report this review to a moderator   #22109
paintballer123321
D-Botch!!!
paintballer123321's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
paintballer123321 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
paintballer123321 is a top reviewer
paintballer123321 is Legendary
paintballer123321 is Boss
paintballer123321 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: fast, sleek, realiable
Cons: nothing
I have had this hopper for a long time, I have started with the v1 rotor. Then worked my way up to the v3. I have never had a problem with it at all. A must buy for paintball
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor The rotor is possibly one of my favorite hoppers. it is durable and can take a beating and be thrown in the water and still run. The issue is it gets fussy with certain types of paint. i have had a...
Report this review to a moderator   #13653
KidInfamous
There can only be One
KidInfamous's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
KidInfamous plays in the PSP
KidInfamous donated to help Peyton Trent
KidInfamous supports Team VICIOUS
KidInfamous posts videos on PbNation
KidInfamous is a top reviewer
KidInfamous is Legendary
KidInfamous is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: Durable
Cons: pricey and jam.
The rotor is possibly one of my favorite hoppers. it is durable and can take a beating and be thrown in the water and still run. The issue is it gets fussy with certain types of paint. i have had a few jams that took a while to clear although the new virtue arm helps. the other issue is a little dirt in the hopper makes it lock up as well. and now they are getting pricey but best hopper out there.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor I bought the first gen rotor before the shark fin. I did like that the rotor was super simple to operate and field strip. My main complaint was the antijam was mostly useless. Pulling on the...
Report this review to a moderator   #12683
calvman
Clickety screeeee
calvman's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
calvman is a Mega Moderator
calvman is a Supporting Member
calvman has been a member for 10 years
calvman is playing at Living Legends VII
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: ease of disassembly
Cons: anti jam
I bought the first gen rotor before the shark fin. I did like that the rotor was super simple to operate and field strip. My main complaint was the antijam was mostly useless. Pulling on the trigger did nothing to alleviate jams. When the improved part was released. Instead of sending the part to replace what I feel was a defective part, Dye insisted on charging for the part.

When it worked, it was a fine loader.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Add New Review