Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Rotor Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
Length: 8 1/2 inches Height: 4 3/4 inches Width: 4 1/4 inches Empty Weight: 1.3 lb. Loaded Weight: 2.6 lb. Power Source: 3 AA batteries Battery Life: 50,000 plus shots!! Capacity: 200+ balls Feed Rate: 50+ bps!! Tool-less disassembly
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $149.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 1212
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  64%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Rotor Reviews
Dye Precision Rotor The rotor is a great loader for almost any gun! They will keep up with high firing rates and are so easy to take apart. I always love demoing this loader in the store to show customers the amazing...
Report this review to a moderator   #12962
SpeedBallDEVIL
Certified KEE Technician!
SpeedBallDEVIL's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
SpeedBallDEVIL donated to help Peyton Trent
SpeedBallDEVIL owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
SpeedBallDEVIL supports Bob Gurnsey
SpeedBallDEVIL supports our troops
SpeedBallDEVIL is reppin' sidebar 4 life
SpeedBallDEVIL has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: Light Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean!
Cons: Tuning Capabilities
The rotor is a great loader for almost any gun! They will keep up with high firing rates and are so easy to take apart. I always love demoing this loader in the store to show customers the amazing engineering put into it!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor excellent hopper and amazing to use. light, and fast just a perfect hopper
Report this review to a moderator   #8727
fightingclam322
 
fightingclam322's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: none!
Cons:
excellent hopper and amazing to use. light, and fast just a perfect hopper
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor I have a proto slg 2008 with every up you can get on it and with the rotor it shoots like bullets. HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS HOPPER!!!!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #5668
Luscher
 
Luscher's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Langhorne, PA
Luscher plays in the PSP
Luscher owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Luscher supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Fast. Reliable. amazing
Cons: Nothing. It is worth its price!
I have a proto slg 2008 with every up you can get on it and with the rotor it shoots like bullets.

HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS HOPPER!!!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor Weight: Okay so I just got this loader and out of the box it was great, first thing I noticed was how heavy it was it's definitely "not" the lightest of loader after a weight test on my digital...
Report this review to a moderator   #4877
phantomette
I AM DA MUFFIN MAN!
phantomette's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SunnY CaLi
phantomette plays in the USPL
phantomette owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
phantomette plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: fast stripping, strong shell, quiet, fast
Cons: jams easy, heavy, no rip drive, too quiet
Weight:
Okay so I just got this loader and out of the box it was great, first thing I noticed was how heavy it was it's definitely "not" the lightest of loader after a weight test on my digital scale, the test showed (vlocity w crown 1.03 lbs, pulse stock 1.04 lbs, Rotor 1.06 lbs) you can definitely feel it on your gun. I do like the solid feel of the shell tho, it feels strong and very sleek!

Battery life:
With new out the box recharchable batteries I only got less than 2000 rnds before the batteries died, and they were fully charged!
Rotor claims 50,000 shots per 3 AAs which = 25 boxes before needing to change them, I got less than 1800 rnds off new fully charged NIMH batteris at that, that would mean my batteries would have to have been less than 5%charged to get that ridiculous life! I dont think that was the case w those batteries. Ill try this test again w standard duracells nib
**(should have added a rip drive option) this = Fail due to the fact that this loader does not have a rip drive for the price tag of $150 your screwed when your batteries die in the field like they did with me, and i couldn't manually feed them.

loudness:
I noticed that this loader is extemely quiet on the gun and when filled w paint I almost could here nothing, only drawback to that is that, you don't know when you are out of paint because in play and you really can'y see through the smoke tint windows or lid Dye provided, because the shell is so dark in the inside. You dont know your out of paint till your shooting nothing (hopefully Dye can make a clear top half for this loader soon!)......... (in my opinion if it was designed for the pro player in mind this would have been released as an option right away, so to me that = FAIL!)

Breakdown:
easy breakdown of major components and simple in parts is all I have to say, the loader is stripped in seconds! Best feature of the loader!

Speedfeed option:
once again why not release this right away?????? if the loader was designed with the pro player in mind? even if there is a speedfeed option soon it will also take 2-3 minutes at least to change it out lid to lid, that = FAIL

Speed:
awesome on speed, and consistent flow of paintballs

Jamming:
I notice this is really sensitive to jams, I got 2 jams in 2 games.

Feeding:
never popcorned which was good but still, I wish the front would slope more like the back to create a channel into the feedcone, I found that the last remaining balls would sit in the front and i would have to tilt the loader upwards to make the balls fall into the drivecone this is because the inside tray angles downward towards the front(maybe a lil longer front nose w another spring loaded ramp in the front like the back would be really nice) ovaerall okay cone feeding but needs improvement

So in a breakdown here are my negatives and positives of the loader:

negatives:
*too quiet you cant tell when your loader is empty, untill its too late!
*jams very easy (jammed twice on me within 2 games)
*weighs the most of all loaders
*no speedfeed option yet (and even still the new speedfeed option will takes 2-3minutes to put on and require tools!)
*the smoke see through windows fails? you cant see through them clearly enough into the loader while playing)
*front of loader needs to slope more to creat a slant into the loader cone ( I found my balls were staying in the front of the loader because there is no slope like a vlocity) I would have to tilt my loader upward to get the last remaining balls to feed

**(should have added a rip drive option) this = Fail

positives:
*quiet is okay to an extent
*simple super fast breakdown
*strong shell material reducing damage or crack possibilities
*simple in parts
*Feed rate is nice and smooth
*doesnt popcorn

***overall Ill rate it a 7 out of 10...and if this was the best there desingners could come up with, and if this is all their pro players said it needed then thay need to find better designers and players, cause in my opinion the Prophecy loader has them beat.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.2/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor Note: for the price i put $0 as i did not pay for it. And i would tell anyone to never buy one for the price of $150 hey there The Dye Rotor is simply a solid loader, in a nutshell. The way it...
Report this review to a moderator   #5487
Tampa_USF2009
Mini Cooper S
Tampa_USF2009's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Elmira NY
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.01
Pros: Fast. Battery Life. Tooless. no programming
Cons: ugly. heavy. WAY over priced. antijam is junk.
Note:
for the price i put $0 as i did not pay for it.
And i would tell anyone to never buy one for the price of $150


hey there

The Dye Rotor is simply a solid loader, in a nutshell.
The way it operates is nice. Very simple. Its simply turn on, and turn off.

Battery life is superb. I get 6x more life out my rotor over my older halo v35.

I think Dye has it made.
They made a loader that does its job, and can feed faster than you need (alot of ppl like having excess ya know).
It is WAY to simple for the $150 you pay. No nice features. Its heavy. The thing is Ugly. And you never know when your out of paint. The antijam doesnt even work.

Dye makes a killing off what they charge retailers (over $100 per loader for a typical store, and less for something like actionvillage by buying more volume). And this thing probly costs nothing to manufacture....(at least planet eclipse over-charges becuase they put so much back into the game with teams and events.)

At least the Prophecy has extensive features, and its been in design more years and the magna drive is absoultely awesome to not break balls.

The prophecy at least has RF and programming. Holds more balls. Is MUCH lighter weight.



The Dye Rotor again is a solid loader. feeds fast and reliable.

but if you pay $150 for it.

Your a dumb ****. plain and simple.

This thing is worth $80 brand new, tops. too simple for the price theyre charging....If it was $100 id think it was a fair deal.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.2/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor till now i had no problem with reballs or with paint. nice innovations like the rotor system, shell material, anti jam no need for ajusting speed or anything like this. if you have the money buy...
Report this review to a moderator   #4808
CrySmack
 
CrySmack's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: light, design, toolless, batterie life, feedrate
Cons: not halo or vl speedfeed compatible
till now i had no problem with reballs or with paint.
nice innovations like the rotor system, shell material, anti jam

no need for ajusting speed or anything like this.

if you have the money buy it

in a few weeks i will do a longer review
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.1/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor THE ROTORZ QUICK N NEVER SKIPPED A BALL OR GOTIN A BALL STUCK IN IT WHILE PLAYING
Report this review to a moderator   #6680
.:FLipZ-1523:.
.:-PRoTo MaTRiX RaiL-:.
.:FLipZ-1523:.'s avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: .:PaRaMouNT LA:.
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: NICE LOOKIN AND FAST
Cons: LIL BIT HEAVY
THE ROTORZ QUICK N NEVER SKIPPED A BALL OR GOTIN A BALL STUCK IN IT WHILE PLAYING
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor I have been using my Rotor for about 2 months, and I love it. I have had the same set of batteries in it since I got it (~10 cases through it so far), and I haven't noticed any decrease in speed or...
Report this review to a moderator   #5470
AndrewFalk
Zeus Dick
AndrewFalk's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The North East
AndrewFalk plays in the PSP
AndrewFalk plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Battery life, consistency, ease of maintenance
Cons: Speed
I have been using my Rotor for about 2 months, and I love it. I have had the same set of batteries in it since I got it (~10 cases through it so far), and I haven't noticed any decrease in speed or consistency. The shell is ridiculously easy to take apart, and that is my favorite thing about it.

The only thing that I don't really like is that it seems to be capped at 18 bps or so, on gun. This really doesn't matter all that much, but I wish it was a bit faster. I will probably turn the tension up just a bit. And even though it tops out at 18 bps or so, it is still very consistent right up to the last ball. There is almost zero popcorning at all.

I also have the quick feed on it and it works great. The stock lid also works great, and is very easy to open and close, and you don't need to break it in, like you needed to with Halos.

I highly recommend the Rotor to anyone! 9/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor light, fast, easy disassemble, nice. Only con is every now and then it jams. But its a very consistent hopper! A++
Report this review to a moderator   #5507
atrocity19877
THUG LIFE ...
atrocity19877's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Location: Location
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: jam
light, fast, easy disassemble, nice. Only con is every now and then it jams. But its a very consistent hopper! A++
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor I was real hesitant to pick up a rotor. I heard a lot of mixed reviews about them. Some good, some bad. After my Magna crashed I picked one up. I wished I did a long time ago. I have shot maybe 9-10...
Report this review to a moderator   #6884
aust10n
I really need ... to kill
aust10n's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Richmond
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $135.00
Pros: Spring loaded, anti jam, battery life.
Cons: Over fill it will jam a couple times.
I was real hesitant to pick up a rotor. I heard a lot of mixed reviews about them. Some good, some bad. After my Magna crashed I picked one up.
I wished I did a long time ago. I have shot maybe 9-10 cases through this rotor with zero problems. Only problem would be me jamming paint into and it jamming up. I pull back on the anti jam feature and its smooth.
Mine hasn't crushed paint or not want to feed paint. I was concerned with the preset 50BPS wouldn't work with my gun, but the two work great with each other.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Add New Review