Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Rotor Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
Length: 8 1/2 inches Height: 4 3/4 inches Width: 4 1/4 inches Empty Weight: 1.3 lb. Loaded Weight: 2.6 lb. Power Source: 3 AA batteries Battery Life: 50,000 plus shots!! Capacity: 200+ balls Feed Rate: 50+ bps!! Tool-less disassembly
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $149.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 1206
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  64%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  34%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Rotor Reviews
Dye Precision Rotor Appearance: The Rotor looks very nice. Good low profile. Performance: It feeds around 24-25 out of the box. That is much faster than needed in tournies. Reliability: It always works fine. Haven't...
Report this review to a moderator   #5943
FBHS RAINMAN
Σπ Sigma Pi
FBHS RAINMAN's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $149.95
Pros: assembly/disassembly, profile
Cons: customer service, dejam,not as fast as advertise
Appearance:
The Rotor looks very nice. Good low profile.

Performance:
It feeds around 24-25 out of the box. That is much faster than needed in tournies.

Reliability:
It always works fine. Haven't had a problem with it working or not.

Value:
Not really worth the $150 I dropped and get such a low level of customer support. It also doesn't get anywhere close the the 40 BPS advertised. The failure to live up to the advertisements really hurts the value for me. 24-25 is plenty fast, but if you advertise 40+, it better at least be able to get 40.


Pros:

Ease of maintenance:
This is quite possibly the easiest loader to clean. It literally takes me 10-15 seconds to have it completely disassembled. It is also very easy to pput back together. Takes a little longer than taking it aprat, but not more than 5 seconds longer.

Profile:
The Rotor has a very low profile. I can't believe that it holds nearly 200 balls, and it is so small.

Shell:
This shell is pretty much indestructible.

Cons:
De-jam doesn't work. I have to take it off my feedneck and shake it to un-jam it. The arm just presses up against the other paintballs and doesn't move. It works nice when there is no paint, but when there is paint, it doesn't.

Customer Support isn't good. Big on this one. A new piece came out to fix the de-jam, and they don't warranty it out. They charge you $10 to buy one, or you can pay to ship the old feed arm, and you have to pay shipping both ways. This is a .25 cent piece of plastic that they sell "as an upgrade" for $10. The new part comes on the new Rotors, but if you got an old one, you are screwed. I really expected a company like DYE to do something like this, but I guess I will have to be disappointed.

The Rotor doesn't load anywhere near the 40+ BPS as advertised without some major modification. It loads fast enough for basic tourney needs, but DYE doesn't need to be claiming 40+ when it is in the mid 20's. Not that it isn't a good loader, but I don't like companies that are dishonest about their product.


Overall, the Rotor is a very good loader, but it is lacking ina few things that make all the difference.

8 out of 10

If you have $150 that you want to drop on a hopper, I would look into the prophecy. Empire has always had A+++ customer support, and if I could go back, I would get a Prophecy instead.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor Love this loader just love it! Its small, tight, good looking, great on battery life, you can beat this loader. Only down side of this loader is that the price of it. Other then that great loader!...
Report this review to a moderator   #5107
paintdude
 
paintdude's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: HALIFAX, NOVA SCOTIA
paintdude has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: Great battery life, Small
Cons: Some say price
Love this loader just love it! Its small, tight, good looking, great on battery life, you can beat this loader. Only down side of this loader is that the price of it. Other then that great loader! Now have speedfeeds out for them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor First of all, let me say that I consider this to be the best loader I have ever checked out/owned(halo v35, empire, xsv vlocity, pulse, magna). That being said, I can not give it 100%. I have had...
Report this review to a moderator   #5708
GaelForceNY
 
GaelForceNY's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
GaelForceNY donated to help Peyton Trent
GaelForceNY supports Bob Gurnsey
GaelForceNY supports our troops
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: tool-less design, speed, sturdy
Cons: occassional jams, capacity
First of all, let me say that I consider this to be the best loader I have ever checked out/owned(halo v35, empire, xsv vlocity, pulse, magna).

That being said, I can not give it 100%. I have had jams at least once every day of play, sometimes more than once. With the jams I experienced, the anti-jam mechanism often failed to clear it. Only disassembly or emptying and shaking the loader cleared it. Despite that, I still feel it is the best out there.

People who say it has "no popcorning" are not being truthful. There is some, although very little.

One minor annoyance (you decide if it matters to you) is that it does not hold a full pod of paint (locklids). From empty, you will reload and have 10-15 overflow onto the ground. I know there is a new higher capacity lid available, but we should have been given the option at release rather than charged extra to "upgrade".

Very well made, great design, high feed rate, tight profile...it has a lot going for it. You decide if it's worth the money. After being fed up with quirky/failing loaders in the past, I think it was worth every penny, even with it's imperfections.

6/3/09 EDIT: Avoid the speed feed from Dye. I have gone through 2 in about 8-9 days of play. The fingers tear off too easily. At over 30 bucks a piece, they should not be so fragile. The design is flawed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor The new expanded top solves the capacity problem, but spending $30 on the speed feed and then another $30 on the top puts this hopper over $200. Are the looks and battery life really worth that? I...
Report this review to a moderator   #5769
bwaldman
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Speed/weight/looks/battery life
Cons: capacity/price
The new expanded top solves the capacity problem, but spending $30 on the speed feed and then another $30 on the top puts this hopper over $200. Are the looks and battery life really worth that? I guess that is up to every player, but I would say not for me.

I play mostly woods so that may impact my perspective.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor Had the Empire Magna (w/ RF Unit) previously. Though I enjoyed using the Magna, features on the Rotor not found on the Magna made me love the Rotor more. - Easy breakdown for maintenance or...
Report this review to a moderator   #6231
pballeragain
 
pballeragain's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bay Area (925)
pballeragain owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
pballeragain owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
pballeragain owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $149.00
Pros: Fast, easy breakdown, low profile
Cons: None as of yet
Had the Empire Magna (w/ RF Unit) previously. Though I enjoyed using the Magna, features on the Rotor not found on the Magna made me love the Rotor more.

- Easy breakdown for maintenance or cleaning
- No need for an RF unit (an additional cost), just turn it on
- Sits lower on my Ego

Have not experienced any problems (knock on wood) with the Rotor yet. With only having to just turn it on, I just load paint and shoot. I played a game where some paint broke in the hopper. Since the Rotor is easy to break down, it was so much easier to clean the paint inside the hopper. I was up and ready in no time because of that. I want little downtime in the equipment I use should there be a problem, the Rotor fits the bill for the hopper.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor I've put about 4 cases of paint through my new Rotor, and I have ZERO complaints. This thing feeds flawlessly no matter what. Only had one jam in 8,000 rounds, and that was due to crappy...
Report this review to a moderator   #5033
PM7SEUltralight
 
PM7SEUltralight's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairfax, VA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Everything but the price
Cons: None really!
I've put about 4 cases of paint through my new Rotor, and I have ZERO complaints. This thing feeds flawlessly no matter what. Only had one jam in 8,000 rounds, and that was due to crappy Marballizer paint at a scenario game.

Speed: Whether I'm shooting uncapped PSP or straight semi-auto, this thing simply flies. I did a drop test with a fully loaded hopper (200 rounds), and this thing cleared everything in less than 5 seconds. Good luck with that speed on a Magna, V35, etc.

Cleaning: Taking the Rotor apart is a cinch. Be sure to only use water when cleaning... like a lot of plastics, this thing doesn't like heavy chemical cleaners. You can rip this thing apart in less than 20 seconds without ANY tools.

Battery Life: Dye says 50,000+ shots on 3 fresh batteries. We'll have to see about that, but after 8,000 rounds, I've noticed zero speed difference.

Weight: This loader is a tad heavier than my V35... but the extra few ounces are completely worth the performance gain. The shell is much stronger, and not to mention only using 3 AA batteries instead of 6 in the halo will save you money in the long run.

Overall, the only gripe I had was dropping $150.00 on a new hopper. Buyers remorse only lasted a few days until I went out and played with this new loader. In all honesty, if you have the money to get the Rotor, buy it. You will not be disappointed at all! I am a bit of a Dye fanatic, and Dave Youngblood has certainly done his homework for their first loader on the market. 5 stars Dye, very well done!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor The rotor is a great loader, it can take a beating from anything. This thing is waterproof and fire proof. The only thing bad about the rotor is it only works flawlessly with PERFECT paint.
Report this review to a moderator   #26076
808_PB
 
808_PB's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
808_PB supports Team VICIOUS
808_PB supports Team VICIOUS
808_PB has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
808_PB is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Fast, nice design
Cons: Jams sometimes
The rotor is a great loader, it can take a beating from anything. This thing is waterproof and fire proof. The only thing bad about the rotor is it only works flawlessly with PERFECT paint.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor Appearance: Looks fine, small, not bulky at all. Can buy a larger top for it to increase paint capacity. Performance: It works great except for when the un-jam doe not work and you have to take the...
Report this review to a moderator   #12692
aj4455
•Ruthless Ware V.P.•
aj4455's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 813, FL.
aj4455 is a Paintball photographer
aj4455 is playing at Living Legends VII
aj4455 is an NCPA player
aj4455 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: Fast, Consistent, Small
Cons: Un-jam not working
Appearance:
Looks fine, small, not bulky at all.
Can buy a larger top for it to increase paint capacity.

Performance:
It works great except for when the un-jam doe not work and you have to take the top half off, then finger out the odd-ball that jammed it. Other than that it is fast and consistent.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor These are great loaders if you have the money, very durable and I have never had a problem with jamming. Easy to disassemble and clean. great battery life
Report this review to a moderator   #17964
bunkerkingap1
I-40 Fuel
bunkerkingap1's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Moore, OK
bunkerkingap1 has been a member for 10 years
bunkerkingap1 plays in the PSP
bunkerkingap1 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
bunkerkingap1 plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: durable and fast
Cons: looks
These are great loaders if you have the money, very durable and I have never had a problem with jamming. Easy to disassemble and clean. great battery life
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor Hands down best hopper in paintball. Fields great. Only jammed on me maybe 3 times in a year.
Report this review to a moderator   #25278
ConnorBrown21
United States Navy
ConnorBrown21's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oswego, IL
ConnorBrown21 plays in the PSP
ConnorBrown21 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
ConnorBrown21 plays in the APPA D4 division
ConnorBrown21 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $110.00
Pros: Fast, Light, Long lasting
Cons: New price
Hands down best hopper in paintball. Fields great. Only jammed on me maybe 3 times in a year.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review