Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2009 (Ego9) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
The latest Ego from Planet Eclipse. Completely redesigned solenoid. Now without QEV's! Supposedly faster, and more efficient than previous Ego's. And the 09 has the most aggressive milling to date.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $1,250.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 128
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  76%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  22%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2009 (Ego9) Reviews
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) I got this gun about 4 months ago, and have a strict rule never to do a review until you get about 5 cases through a gun. 7 cases later... this gun is AWESOME. I'm going to break the down the...
Report this review to a moderator   #8094
SuicidePhil
^PSP owes me for this!
SuicidePhil's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
SuicidePhil owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
SuicidePhil supports Team VICIOUS
SuicidePhil is for the Gunfight
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: See Review
Cons: See Review
I got this gun about 4 months ago, and have a strict rule never to do a review until you get about 5 cases through a gun.

7 cases later...

this gun is AWESOME. I'm going to break the down the Internal and External Pros and Cons of the Ego9 in the review to follow.

EXTERNALLY
The marker just looks smooth. milled and anno'd with the utmost care and attention from the people at PE, this gun is a huge piece of eye candy and is sure to grab the attention of everyone at the field. A+

The barrel that comes with the marker is the new Shaft III barrel. This two piece barrel is extremely accurate and slightly over bored, so you never have to worry about paint sticking inside your barrel. a very accurate and reliable barrel. A+

No external cons*****

INTERNALLY

The Ego 9 comes stock with the LCD Emortal Board, which eliminates any reason to ever have to buy and aftermarket board. Fully customizable, with two custom slots where you can save your favorite settings and load them whenever you want to play, make this one of the best boards around. the only thing i hear people complaining about is that the board caps at 15.5 bps. but honestly, who needs to go higher? this a tournament gun made with tournament rules in mind. A+

the Ego 9 also comes stock with a pair of wired eyes, as compared to most guns that come with ribbon eyes. the sleek eye covers make cleaning and maintaining your markers eye system very user friendly and the wired eyes themselves are extremely reliable. A+

The Zick rammer kit that comes in the Ego 9 is a nice touch, but honestly the kick and sound signature of this gun are still very noticeable. in my personaly opinion i like to feel my gun buck a little bit, and i don't mind the noise, but some people base most of their purchases on how loud a gun is and how much kick it has. Irrational if you ask me. B

With its ramped face design and cupped bolt face, the Cure 2 delivers a reduced sound signature and a gentle touch of the ball, and all but eliminates ball breakage. the stock bolt is an EXCELLENT addition. only upgrade would be the Cure 3+, and i highly recommend doing that. A+

INTERNAL CONS

the finger detents you find on the ego 9 are a bit annoying. unable to be pushed back into the gun when a ball is fired like regular detents, the finger detents tend to get shredded pretty fast and you'll find yourself having to replace then more often than you'd like to

The Plank Kit is a permanent solution to the solenoid turrets temporary one. all it does it restrict air flow in the solenoid, which allows for a smoother cycle and reduced sound signature, but you'll have to install it yourself, which means taking out the solenoid. so if your not used to tinkering with guns, get ready for a leak from your solenoid. if you mount it just one millimeter off, you'll have a nice leak on your hands.

ALL IN ALL

a very very nice gun. smooth shot, highly accurate. comes stock with the best installed but you can still upgrade it to make even that much better. i HIGHLY recommend anyone looking to buy a tournament gun to go out and get yourself and ego 9 immediatedly.

a 5 STAR gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) By far way better than the 08 ego. Reminds me of just an improved 07 ego. I have been through the ego sequence, and this one is the smoothest, most accurate, and light weight of them all
Report this review to a moderator   #23145
paintballer123321
D-Botch!!!
paintballer123321's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
paintballer123321 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
paintballer123321 is a top reviewer
paintballer123321 is Legendary
paintballer123321 is Boss
paintballer123321 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: balanced
Cons: little loud
By far way better than the 08 ego. Reminds me of just an improved 07 ego. I have been through the ego sequence, and this one is the smoothest, most accurate, and light weight of them all
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) awesome reliable performing marker. Efficient and works awesome all the time. Early issues with plank kit needed.
Report this review to a moderator   #19519
abenguyen
Abe Na-Goo-Yen
abenguyen's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: DFW, TX
abenguyen owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
abenguyen owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
abenguyen posts videos on PbNation
abenguyen plays in the APPA beginner division
abenguyen supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: workhorse, efficient
Cons: plank kit
awesome reliable performing marker. Efficient and works awesome all the time. Early issues with plank kit needed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) this year ego is by far my favorite. i believe it is the most well balanced and easiest to work on. i never had a single issue with my 09 ego and im actively trying to find it to buy it back.
Report this review to a moderator   #12468
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE
Playoffs??? PLAYOFFS!!??
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is a Supporting Member
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE has been a member for 10 years
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE plays in the PSP
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.00
Pros: reliable, light weight, great on air, accurate,
Cons: somewhat fragile, easy to scratch
this year ego is by far my favorite. i believe it is the most well balanced and easiest to work on. i never had a single issue with my 09 ego and im actively trying to find it to buy it back.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) I bought the American Flag Ego in the tail end of 08 (09 ego), It was by far the best purchase I have ever made as far as a paintball gun goes, i shot the gun for 2 years with out a hickup or and...
Report this review to a moderator   #20202
TimTaylor
Zombies make me smile.
TimTaylor's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dos Cinco Tres
TimTaylor owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TimTaylor is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,350.00
Pros: light, fast, RELIABLE
Cons: grips wear out fast
I bought the American Flag Ego in the tail end of 08 (09 ego), It was by far the best purchase I have ever made as far as a paintball gun goes, i shot the gun for 2 years with out a hickup or and issue, other the wearing the grips off it, i am very hard on my equipment, and this gun held up like and ak47 no matter how much dirt mud water and grim(sometimes a twist tie) I ran threw it if never failed not 1 time. I can honestly say i have never been happier shooting another gun. I purchased a 11 ego and for the first few weeks of owning it I still shot the 09 more, i liked the way the 09 felt better then the 11. the 09 ego is one of the best paintball guns ever made.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) I have had my 09 Ego since they came out and it is an absolutely awesome marker. It has never given me problems and has been extremely reliable. It is always ready to go and even if I don't do...
Report this review to a moderator   #24193
Venemous Fire
 
Venemous Fire's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CC, Texas
Venemous Fire is playing at Living Legends V
Venemous Fire owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Venemous Fire supports Team VICIOUS
Venemous Fire has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Venemous Fire has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
Venemous Fire is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,050.00
Pros: Reliable,smooth,feels good,
Cons: no cons
I have had my 09 Ego since they came out and it is an absolutely awesome marker. It has never given me problems and has been extremely reliable. It is always ready to go and even if I don't do maintenance on it. Consistent and smooth. Great marker!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) I picked ups vicious ego9 and just any other ego...the effiency is great but they are completely inaccurate and loud...but still the easiest gun to maintain...I would suggest picking one up
Report this review to a moderator   #39682
evil balla 21
Bay State Rebels
evil balla 21's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MASS
evil balla 21 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
evil balla 21 plays in the APPA D5 division
evil balla 21 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
evil balla 21 is Legendary
evil balla 21 supports DLX Technology
evil balla 21 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: Effiency, maintenance
Cons: Loud, inaccurate
I picked ups vicious ego9 and just any other ego...the effiency is great but they are completely inaccurate and loud...but still the easiest gun to maintain...I would suggest picking one up
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) Bought this from my team captain after it was broken in, paid 1100 CAD for it, which I figured was a pretty good price for a broken in ego 9. Here are the Pro's and Con's that I have observed after a...
Report this review to a moderator   #6141
Ionic Moron
Al Gore Raped My Igloo
Ionic Moron's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 306, Canada
Ionic Moron helped look for balloons
Ionic Moron owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Ionic Moron supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,100.00
Pros: See Review
Cons: See Review
Bought this from my team captain after it was broken in, paid 1100 CAD for it, which I figured was a pretty good price for a broken in ego 9. Here are the Pro's and Con's that I have observed after a bit over a month of use.

Pro's
  • stock OLED display
  • Preset for all major tournament rules
  • under 2 lbs
  • Amazing stock 2pc barrel
  • great stock colour sheme options
  • No corners cut in quality
  • smooth and kickless shots (amazing for a poppit)
  • Perfect balance
  • Game-ready right out of the box

Con's
  • You're paying for the Planet Eclipse Ego name
  • Grips wear fast
  • Most ego 9's have a rammer o-ring shredding issue (but PE fixed it with a free new barb)


If you have any questions or comments please shoot me a PM.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.9/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) Beautiful gun nice and fast. The only time i chopped paint was when i use s*** paint and it was once. The barrel on it is great as well. i dont even use my sly kit that much anymore. The grips are...
Report this review to a moderator   #5441
SNAKE3368
 
SNAKE3368's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Visalia, Ca
SNAKE3368 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
SNAKE3368 supports Team VICIOUS
SNAKE3368 is for the Gunfight
SNAKE3368 supports Sherwood Forest
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,350.00
Pros: Fast Light Reliable
Cons: nothing just buy good paint
Beautiful gun nice and fast. The only time i chopped paint was when i use s*** paint and it was once. The barrel on it is great as well. i dont even use my sly kit that much anymore. The grips are nice. they stick to my hand and glove perfectly. Definetley a must. the bolt is a beauty and the extra trigger finger area is great if you have full fingered gloves. maintenance is easy. just throw it in the bag and go lol. it comes ready to go. when i got it I just through my hopper and tank on and played. So go and buy it! It'll be worth every penny.....(1349.61)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) I had a 05 ego, and then last year around this time I went on a gun whoring phase. I was lucky enough to trade a lot of markers and was able to afford getting an Ego9 for my 26th birthday. Out of...
Report this review to a moderator   #6544
duos_scythe
Luke 12: 4-6
duos_scythe's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Alanson, MI.
duos_scythe owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
duos_scythe posts videos on PbNation
duos_scythe has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
duos_scythe is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
duos_scythe is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,150.00
Pros: Light, accurate, efficient, easy to maintain.
Cons: I couldn't find a con.
I had a 05 ego, and then last year around this time I went on a gun whoring phase. I was lucky enough to trade a lot of markers and was able to afford getting an Ego9 for my 26th birthday.

Out of the box it was + / - 3fps on my hand held chrono. It was also ball on ball accurate, I was shooting at a 2" diameter pole over 50' away and was hitting it 3 - 5 times in a row by just bringing the ego up to snap shoot.

Went and played some rec ball and had some people say I was shooting "hot" I walked off the field and bet everyone (about 10 people) $100 that I was shooing in the 280 range. I held my chrono up and shot, 281, 284, 281, 285, 281, 284. Too bad no one paid up.

This is hands down my favorite marker after owning 18 or 19 different markers in a 12 span, even though about 12 where in the last year.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Add New Review