Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2009 (Ego9) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
The latest Ego from Planet Eclipse. Completely redesigned solenoid. Now without QEV's! Supposedly faster, and more efficient than previous Ego's. And the 09 has the most aggressive milling to date.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $1,250.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 128
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  76%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  22%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2009 (Ego9) Reviews
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) They are hands down the best markers a tournament player can own. Insanely reliable and consistent. You won't regret picking one up.
Report this review to a moderator   #17396
rdm3000
Slightly Removed
rdm3000's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: eatbabies
rdm3000 is a Supporting Member
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: looks
Cons: price
They are hands down the best markers a tournament player can own. Insanely reliable and consistent. You won't regret picking one up.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) This is my review there are many like it, but this one is mine.
Report this review to a moderator   #15111
Rebeltilldeath3
Suicide Messiah
Rebeltilldeath3's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Between heaven and hell
Rebeltilldeath3 has been a member for 10 years
Rebeltilldeath3 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $555.55
Pros: all of them
Cons: none at all
This is my review there are many like it, but this one is mine.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) Sold my 08 Vicious Ego to buy a 09 Vicious Ego. Great gun but wasn't as smooth as my 08.
Report this review to a moderator   #12850
snkp360
ERMAHGERD
snkp360's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Napa, CA
snkp360 plays in the PSP
snkp360 supports Team VICIOUS
snkp360 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: Reliable
Cons:
Sold my 08 Vicious Ego to buy a 09 Vicious Ego. Great gun but wasn't as smooth as my 08.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) This is a great all-around gun, its light, HOT and easy to maintain. It is on the expensive side but isn't outlandish for a tournament level gun like the EGO I have had and used EGO '05, '06, '07,...
Report this review to a moderator   #8190
Strobbe24
 
Strobbe24's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Strobbe24 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $950.00
Pros: Planet Eclipse, Light, Compact, LCD display
Cons: Shreds cheep paint, ASA comes lose
This is a great all-around gun, its light, HOT and easy to maintain. It is on the expensive side but isn't outlandish for a tournament level gun like the EGO I have had and used EGO '05, '06, '07, '08, Etek 1, Etek 2, SL66, SL74, SL8R, and SL94 so i have used or owned almost all guns that Planet Eclipse has ever made and (other than the SL74, and 94) The Ego 9 has been my favorite and even new the '09 was 500 dollars cheaper than its SL counterparts. The Grip is now even smaller at the top than bottom making it easier to hold and lighter. The grips however must be made for only the Ego 9 and detailing on them falls apart quickly especially if you ware gloves. The only other negative thing is that cheep paint just gets destroyed and will continue to get worse unless you just stop shooting that paint and buy more. Its a great gun but is a bit expensive if ur on a budget. I would recommend this gun for anyone
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) Not the smoothest shooting Ego of all time but still one of the greats!
Report this review to a moderator   #16851
sweetd330
 
sweetd330's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland
sweetd330 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
sweetd330 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
sweetd330 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
sweetd330 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
sweetd330 supports Pev's Paintball
sweetd330 is Legendary
sweetd330 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: "Bulletproof"
Cons:
Not the smoothest shooting Ego of all time but still one of the greats!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) Awesome gun, egos have gotten better each year. I will always own an ego.
Report this review to a moderator   #13500
tchalien
RETIRED LU Coach
tchalien's avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Lynchburg
tchalien has been a member for 10 years
tchalien plays in the PSP
tchalien owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
tchalien owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tchalien posts videos on PbNation
tchalien plays in the APPA D4 division
tchalien is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: EVERYTHING IS GREAT
Cons: nothing
Awesome gun, egos have gotten better each year. I will always own an ego.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) awesome marker to pick up when your starting or getting back into the sport price is high when brand new
Report this review to a moderator   #15648
token508
HOLDING IT DOWN!!!
token508's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Taunton, MA
token508 owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
token508 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
token508 is Legendary
token508 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: weight size
Cons: price
awesome marker to pick up when your starting or getting back into the sport price is high when brand new
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) I have a 2009 Vicious Ego WHITE/PURPLE. I love this gun it is 1 of 2 egos i own and i have to say it is amazing. My gun hasnt broken down since i bought her. Everything comes in the box and you dont...
Report this review to a moderator   #11910
TriggerAdict
SoCalKilla
TriggerAdict's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
TriggerAdict owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
TriggerAdict owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TriggerAdict posts videos on PbNation
TriggerAdict has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TriggerAdict has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Fast,Reliable,Good Price
Cons: No Cons Thus Far
I have a 2009 Vicious Ego WHITE/PURPLE. I love this gun it is 1 of 2 egos i own and i have to say it is amazing. My gun hasnt broken down since i bought her. Everything comes in the box and you dont need anything else.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) This is not my first ego or my first gun but this is the best gun i've ever shot. I had a redz ego7 before it and a vice before that and a pmr before that. I have shot luxes and all types of DMs but...
Report this review to a moderator   #6725
whats paintball
 
whats paintball's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: MD
whats paintball owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
whats paintball supports Team VICIOUS
whats paintball plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,200.00
Pros: Smooth, Accurate
Cons: shoots poorly with bad paint
This is not my first ego or my first gun but this is the best gun i've ever shot. I had a redz ego7 before it and a vice before that and a pmr before that. I have shot luxes and all types of DMs but i truly prefer this over any gun i've shot.

Weight: This gun is light. Any gun is generally the same weight once it has a loader, tank, and paint in it. This is a very balanced and light though.

Shot: The ego, like all poppits has a pop sound signature but can be tuned to shoot smooth. I messed with my lpr a little bit and just lube the hell out of it and replace the o-rings alot. This makes your gun quiet and smoother. If you take care of your ego it will take care of you. The other great hing is if you dont like to take care of your gun you dont have to and it will still shoot fine

This gun is bullet proof reliable and is just fun to play with and shoot. If you have the money or can trade on here definitely do it. Eclips has great customer service and is a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend this gun to any mid-level to tournament ballers who will be shooting decent paint because crappy paint doesnt shoot great out of these but that's more of the paint than the gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2009 (Ego9) I've been using my 09 Ego for the past several weeks now and I must say it is one of the most impressive guns PE has released behind the SL8r. While the 09 stays in the same weight category as the...
Report this review to a moderator   #4851
Aznac872
NthgVenturedNthgGained
Aznac872's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cuomo's Fantasy Factory
Aznac872 has been a member for 10 years
Aznac872 works for a Paintball manufacturer
Aznac872 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Aznac872 is Legendary
Aznac872 is Immortal
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Lightweight, Easy to maintain, Great CS
Cons: Weight wise same as 08
I've been using my 09 Ego for the past several weeks now and I must say it is one of the most impressive guns PE has released behind the SL8r.

While the 09 stays in the same weight category as the 08, its subtle changes that set this newest model apart.

First the solenoid. PE has built a reputation on simple, easy to maintain markers, and the 09 does not let up. Eliminating the QEV block, the solenoid now sits directly under the rammer housing, providing instant transfer direct to the rammer. This cuts down even farther on parts that can fail and reduces the number of air hoses inside the gun to just 1. This is by far the best feature on this model.

The new purge system allows the user to degas the gun without worrying about having a stored shot left, perfect for avoiding an accident. The redesigned poppet valve provides consistent flow and reduces the sound signature when compared to an 08 considerably.

This together with a redesigned grip frame a la UL gives the gun a great feel as well.

The new LCD board now features a speaker for navigating the menus and for in game reminders. The new quick start up and power off features are also a welcome feature when you need to quickly get the gun up and running at the start box.

Overall I am extremely impressed with PE's newest incarnation of the Ego line and look forward to breaking the gun in farther. Out of the box the reg was pretty consistent at about +/- 8FPS and will only get better in time. As with prior models the efficiency is excellent. I won't comment on that here as the gun is not properly broken in yet.

All in all I would recommend this gun to anyone looking for a top of the line marker. The simplicity and performance out of the box are second to none.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Add New Review