Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - 09 SLG Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
A improved version of the previous SLG. New features include composite Ultralite frame with aluminum trigger, new milling, bolt silencer, and a locking feedneck
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $299.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 48
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  15%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - 09 SLG Reviews
Proto Paintball 09 SLG Pros- im going to start out with the weight of this gun. the marker with the barrel attached is about 2 pounds which is very light. the bolt is very easy to take apart and clean, grease, or replace...
Report this review to a moderator   #8777
scopedown
 
scopedown's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $225.00
Pros: look in review
Cons: look in review
Pros- im going to start out with the weight of this gun. the marker with the barrel attached is about 2 pounds which is very light. the bolt is very easy to take apart and clean, grease, or replace o-rings. this grip is very nice and fits to your hands very easy even if your hands are large or small. if you have a fast enough hopper(preferably the invert halo too hopper, it is the best hopper on the market for its cheap price and good for a beginer $69.99) you can shoot just as fast as a high end gun without braking paint because it has eyes(if you dont know eyes only allow the gun to shoot when there is a paintball in the marker in a position were u wont brake paint, and that is why u need a fast hopper so the paint gets in there fast enough).

Cons- this gun is pretty loud when you higher the fps to around 295. the barrel that the marker comes with is only 9 inches not including the threading which is very tiny. the board takes a while to get used to because it uses an LED and you have to really read the manual over and over to get things rite. it is not that accurate up to about 20 feet.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball 09 SLG When I got my slg I aired it up and the air was coming out of the bleed button so I shipped it to proto and they fixed it and when I got it back It shot great. It has a good board and is very...
Report this review to a moderator   #7198
smallfri24
 
smallfri24's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
smallfri24 is playing at Living Legends III
smallfri24 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
smallfri24 supports Team VICIOUS
smallfri24 is for the Gunfight
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Light, Shoots great, Great board, Very efficient
Cons: No on/off asa, 1 piece barrel, Pinches balls,
When I got my slg I aired it up and the air was coming out of the bleed button so I shipped it to proto and they fixed it and when I got it back It shot great. It has a good board and is very efficient. If you don't take really good care of it it will act up some times like the one I had the bolt would always get stuck and it would always pinch balls so make sure you check your o-rings.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball 09 SLG I purchased my '09 SLG yesterday and have been shooting lots of paint (and annoying my trailerpark neibors with this marker at night) It's really easy to clean, lightweight, easy to program, some ppl...
Report this review to a moderator   #8566
smartparts1991
KISS Army!
smartparts1991's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $219.95
Pros: Light, Fast, Easy to matience.
Cons: Kick is high, trigger, barrel (is ok), ASA
I purchased my '09 SLG yesterday and have been shooting lots of paint (and annoying my trailerpark neibors with this marker at night) It's really easy to clean, lightweight, easy to program, some ppl think it can shoot 30BPS but since the user manual says it shoots a max ROF of 25 I trust DYE over bubba j (lol)

It's stock trigger is okay atleast it's not a cheap crappy plastic trigger (like the ion), the feedneck is actually good for a stock, the barrel is so-so but I purchased a boomstick today as well as a CP sling trigger and dye on/off ASA

It's a gr8 marker for it's price, I have a shocker and the slg's bolt reminds me of my shocker's.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball 09 SLG This is a great gun for starters or players who are just getting into paint ball, its cheap, affordable, and it shoots good for someone who wants to get the job done. For myself i have had very bad...
Report this review to a moderator   #8102
spaceace1223
 
spaceace1223's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: sioux falls
spaceace1223 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
spaceace1223 supports Team VICIOUS
spaceace1223 plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: great feel, shoots straight
Cons: board, asa, trigger, jams, eyes,
This is a great gun for starters or players who are just getting into paint ball, its cheap, affordable, and it shoots good for someone who wants to get the job done.

For myself i have had very bad experiances with the proto slg 09, i first bought one and it broke right away, the board snapped in half when i took it out of the box. but proto is a great company and they shipped another one out right away! i was very amazed by how quick and the service was with proto.

The second time i had the slg the the regulator busted on me and the sinlenoid busted, this was right before a tournament last year when i took it out of the box.

The third time i got another slg the gun just wouldnt work and the wires where all fried in the gun.

i have had bad experiances with the slg but if its in great working condition and no problems its a deffinate gun to buy!

the marker is easy to clean and its very quiet.

deffinatley a marker to concider buying if its in good shape or brand new!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball 09 SLG Purchased one that aesthetically looked great, however it had problems from the get go. I was really excited to get this sucker going after taking a long break from paintball, however it gave me...
Report this review to a moderator   #38372
storm_intimidator
DeathSquad
storm_intimidator's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: *208*
storm_intimidator has been a member for 10 years
storm_intimidator posts videos on PbNation
storm_intimidator plays in the APPA D5 division
storm_intimidator supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Cheap, Light
Cons: Unreliable
Purchased one that aesthetically looked great, however it had problems from the get go. I was really excited to get this sucker going after taking a long break from paintball, however it gave me nothing but problems.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball 09 SLG I LOVE this gun. It took me some to get working (over an hour but thats a different problem that had NOTHING to do with the gun itself) but it turned out GREAT! Pros- Board- It comes with four...
Report this review to a moderator   #7810
SupportinYou
FSSSB
SupportinYou's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Sunny South
SupportinYou plays in the PSP
SupportinYou is playing at Living Legends V
SupportinYou owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
SupportinYou posts videos on PbNation
SupportinYou is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $249.95
Pros: Feedneck, Board, Trigger, Reliability
Cons: (See post)
I LOVE this gun. It took me some to get working (over an hour but thats a different problem that had NOTHING to do with the gun itself) but it turned out GREAT!

Pros-

Board- It comes with four tournament modes, NPPL Semi-auto, PSP Ramping, Mellenium Ramping, NXL Full-auto and can be adjusted to the most specific style.

Feedneck- Is clamping and holds the hopper TIGHT. Only con is that you need an allen key to tighten and loosen it.

Trigger- I personally LOVE this trigger. I prefer sling style but this is really good. Had none to very little side-to-side. It was butter.

Reliability- NEVER did this fail me in game (well once but that wasn't the gun's fault). I shot great and I only had one barrel break but that was because the ball had paint on it from when I was putting paint in my hopper after I got shot in the hand and hadn't cleaned it off yet, and it still shot great. Got 20+ guys out with it and always was able to pin down people.

The Not Really Cons, Cons-

Ok,first off, THIS GUN DOES NOT WORK WITH Co2! No matter what Proto says this gun doesn't work on Co2 and if it does it sucks.

If the gun has a battery in it when you recieve it REPLACE it. That was my first problem.

My other problem that I mentioned was that I had only ONE jam in game but that was because some new player sharing the bunker with me reared back when our bunker got lit up because I popped out and shot two guys in the snake and hit my hopper which caused it to double feed for some reason and I got a jam that was easily cleared with the bleed button.

Overall this is a GREAT gun that only needs to be lubed after you play two full days. It only failed me because of problems that weren't caused the gun itself. I think this is a great begginer/intermediate gun if you want to get more serious. Look for my review on the PMR in the future!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball 09 SLG I love this marker. Haven't had one problem with it! Well after i upgraded to a faster hopper... this one is a monster! i can walk that trigger like a boss! my first speedball gun and i tear up the...
Report this review to a moderator   #10544
The Immortal Captian
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $225.00
Pros: everything
Cons: havent seen one
I love this marker. Haven't had one problem with it! Well after i upgraded to a faster hopper... this one is a monster! i can walk that trigger like a boss! my first speedball gun and i tear up the feild with it! with its low air consumption and light weight abilities this is a must buy for a little better than average joe player! traded my X7 for it... best trade ever! This one and i will have a good history together not one problem and i dont see one in the future! AMAZING BUY
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball 09 SLG This gun was bomb back in the day. Super great for the price and amazing for a beginner.
Report this review to a moderator   #52057
Tiga88
United States Air Force
Tiga88's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Florida
Tiga88 plays in the PSP
Tiga88 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Tiga88 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Tiga88 supports Team VICIOUS
Tiga88 plays in the APPA D5 division
Tiga88 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Tiga88 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $299.00
Pros: affordable, lightweight, reliable, performs well
Cons: Older model
This gun was bomb back in the day. Super great for the price and amazing for a beginner.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review