Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Ultralight SLG Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
New Ultralight SLG from Proto Paintball.
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $299.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 19
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  47%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  37%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  11%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Ultralight SLG Reviews
Proto Paintball Ultralight SLG I bought this gun back in April. I was getting back into the sport and wanted something that would be cheap and durable. I was never a fan of Mil-Sim guns, or anything bulky. Although I play...
Report this review to a moderator   #6774
aust10n
I really need ... to kill
aust10n's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Richmond
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: See Below
Cons: See Below
I bought this gun back in April. I was getting back into the sport and wanted something that would be cheap and durable. I was never a fan of Mil-Sim guns, or anything bulky. Although I play woodsball and scenario I like to keep a low profile and keep things tight. The SLG met all of these requirements. It also opened the door for when I'm ready to purchase a high end gun.
Now to the review.

Appearance

The SLG is easy on the eyes. You can tell that it comes from the DYE family. Very light weight. The milling on the gun is flawless and unique.

Performance
For the money the gun is the DM of low end electronic markers. You have many difference settings. If you are in tournament play you will be able to meet regulations, and lock the settings. I play semi, this is good enough for me. I kept it stock and play on 13.33 BPS. The trigger is solid, it is made out of aluminum. You are able to adjust the trigger at three different points. No one should complain about their trigger being stiff or to heavy. You will be able to shoot ropes with this out of the box.

Reliability
This is were it can get tricky. I love my SLG. I take great care of it. Really, I've had no problems that a o-ring or spring couldn't fix. If your gun is shooting AUTO there are three things that can correct this issue. This was the one and only problem my SLG has had. If yours is having this issue don't hesitate to PM me. I'll do my best to help you out. Over all I'd say its a fairly reliable gun.

Value
You can not get a better marker for the price. Out of the box you can gas this gun up and expect to play. You don't even need to do any upgrades. The ASA is fine, unless you feel you must have an on/off. You get a .689 barrel, which I've had no problems with. It has always been able to shoot any type of paint I put through it. The board is good. For someone getting into the sport you are fine with the stock board. For the most part everyone is, unless like with the ASA they feel they need to spend $100 for something else. This board does everything you need it to do. The feedneck is plastic, so don't over tighten it. You also get one of the best regulators on the market, the Hyper 3. Very consistent, and easy to maintain.

Overall
Overall this is a solid primary or backup gun. As of now it is my primary. I'm looking to get a DM9 or NT, but I will keep it around as my back up. For the money you really can't go wrong. Take care of the gun and it will take care of you. Don't over lube the bolt or you may find some issues with the sear. The gun shoots consistent, last time I chrono'd it was 285,284,285,285. Very quiet, and light weight. If you like to shoot ropes you will be able to do so with this gun. Only downsides would be the ASA and plastic feedneck. But like I said you will live with the stock goods. Again, the gun is less than 300, you can't have it all.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Ultralight SLG Hey guys I'm going to do an extensive Review on the 09 UL SLG, and all the problems i have with it. Appearace: The gun overall is very sexy, I love DYE guns due to there sleek appearance, It comes...
Report this review to a moderator   #5510
tienle0
 
tienle0's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $299.95
Pros: UL frame, Feedneck, Hyper3 reg, Bolt Silencer
Cons: Reliability
Hey guys I'm going to do an extensive Review on the 09 UL SLG, and all the problems i have with it.

Appearace: The gun overall is very sexy, I love DYE guns due to there sleek appearance, It comes in 4 Colors I believe, Black, Blue, Cobalt, White? With the DYE UL Frame the gun feels amazing in your hands, and yes, its ****ing light.

Performance: The gun is accurate. I've heard alot of people talk about how bad the 11'' is, in fact its not half as bad. It doesnt shoot crazy like those crappy rentals, but it shoots straight. However it does arc alot, meaning it may not be as good shooting crossfield.

Fast? Yes it shoots fast, I can easily maintain a stream when walking the trigger. Alot of people complain of trigger wobbling or they cant be consistent with it, but for me its possible. Now the trigger can be adjusted to the way you like it to be. It does wobble (abit), but idk how it can affect ones performance.

Reliability: I got my gun around XMAS, living around the eastern shore it gets cold in the winter, hot in the summer. I first brought my gun out to the park and i didnt even get a single game with it, it was chopping, and leaking like a mofo. I had to change all the orings on the bolt and plunger and relubed everything, then i manage to get a few games in. But overall that wasnt a good day. (temperature was <30 degrees F) The next time I went it was over 50 degrees and everything went well for me, however the Proto Battery slot is slightly bigger then normal batteries. Easy fix, no need to get mad at proto for this, just slip in a folded peice of paper, or a peice of cardbord.

Value: Compared to the 08 SLG the 09 SLG is DEFINATLY worth the price. Heres a list of upgrades with ESTIMATED price;
Feedneck $30
Bolt Silencer $30
UL Frame $100
theres probably more upgrades but thats all i know of, but thats 160 dollars, and yet you're only paying 100 dollars for a good gun.

Overall the 09 SLG is a vast improvement from the 08 SLG, if your a skeptic just get one and try it yourself!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Ultralight SLG This gun is amazing! I play every weekend with my team and the UL SLG keeps up with me...the low pressure shooting lets me be a little more free with my air. I don't have to be conservative with air....
Report this review to a moderator   #5008
CHAOS(defender)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Great feel, handy modes, good accuracy and speed
Cons: none
This gun is amazing! I play every weekend with my team and the UL SLG keeps up with me...the low pressure shooting lets me be a little more free with my air. I don't have to be conservative with air. Although it is so fast my hopper is empty within about 35-40 secs. Great gun...no complaints but get a 14" proto barrel. Enhances accuracy
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Ultralight SLG i think this is a great gun its very light comes stock with a clamping feedneck well the 09 version and in 4 diffrent colors
Report this review to a moderator   #4910
iambetter92
whats paintball?
iambetter92's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: il
iambetter92 plays in the PSP
iambetter92 plays in the APPA D4 division
iambetter92 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: wieght, looks
Cons: none yet
i think this is a great gun its very light comes stock with a clamping feedneck well the 09 version and in 4 diffrent colors
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Ultralight SLG I've played with this marker twice, shoots straight not bad range even though its a 12 inch barrel. Still havent gone past 12 bps because of the hopper (overdrive), looking to get the pinokio. Very...
Report this review to a moderator   #5607
ty8
 
ty8's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: great look, light, fast
Cons: eyes
I've played with this marker twice, shoots straight not bad range even though its a 12 inch barrel.
Still havent gone past 12 bps because of the hopper (overdrive), looking to get the pinokio.
Very light hence its a ulg great for front players, such a good price for a very reliable gun.
I would recommend this marker for any one who is looking for a lot of bang for the buck. Best marker i've ever fired, hoped this review helped.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Ultralight SLG this gun is great. it is super light and very affordable...do your self a favor and get one!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #4973
ktmag68
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: weight
Cons: none to speak of
this gun is great. it is super light and very affordable...do your self a favor and get one!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Ultralight SLG Gun shoots amazing out of the box. If you're looking for something under 300 this is where to look. This gun is on par with what I've owned, and I've shot plenty more. The only upgrade I recommend is...
Report this review to a moderator   #5305
L4sT_ReSOrT
周朝
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: OR
L4sT_ReSOrT has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Light, cheap, UL frame
Cons: Sear tripper, kick, 12in barrel
Gun shoots amazing out of the box. If you're looking for something under 300 this is where to look. This gun is on par with what I've owned, and I've shot plenty more. The only upgrade I recommend is a 14 in barrel, not because of accuracy as someone has said (Length does not mean accuracy, btw). But because in an airball setting you never use any lengths besides 14/16 in.

Kicks more than your average spool valve. Accuracy is good.
Best gun for it's price range.


3 stars for reliability, too many components are plastic.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Ultralight SLG great gun for 300 dollars but the 09 slg not the ul is a better bargain for 200 dollars because the ul is not much lighter
Report this review to a moderator   #5887
canadianpaintballer2
Awaiting Email Confirmation
Join Date: Apr 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: light cheap and relible
Cons: bolt breaks easy
great gun for 300 dollars but the 09 slg not the ul is a better bargain for 200 dollars because the ul is not much lighter
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Ultralight SLG Short review: Very fast, light and comfortable gun that sadly has a lot of quirks that keep it from being reliable. However, as of this writing I think I've got all the problems sorted...
Report this review to a moderator   #7467
The Inflicted
.detcilfnI ehT
The Inflicted's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Light fast and comfortable
Cons: Lacks features and is unreliable
Short review: Very fast, light and comfortable gun that sadly has a lot of quirks that keep it from being reliable. However, as of this writing I think I've got all the problems sorted out.
http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/7825/slg1.jpg

Last May I was in the market for a new "fast" gun to replace my Diablo Wrath. I liked the Wrath, but it had developed a first shot dropoff problem that I couldn't fix and I wanted something smaller and lighter. I eventually narrowed my choices down to the G3, the Mini, and the UL SLG. I chose the SLG because I wanted to buy from my local store and I felt that its Ultralite frame was more comfortable than the other guns'. Also, the gun came with a season's pass to Insane Paintball's field.

First impressions of the gun were very good. I like how the gun points with the UL frame, and I REALLY like how low-profile the gun's single-tube design is, putting the hopper very close to your trigger finger. The feedneck is adjustable with an allen wrench and easily accomodates all the loaders I have. It's fairly sturdy too; I took a dive last weekend (ok, I slipped and fell on my face in the mud) that destroyed my VL Revolution's neck but the feedneck of the gun was undamaged.

The gun's trigger is nice too, and I have no desire to upgrade it. It has 3-way adjustability using a small allen wrench, and both ends of the travel as well as the activation point can be adjusted without removing anything. I quickly had the trigger set up to my particular tastes. Unfortunately, the poor tolerances of the plastic frame mean that the trigger has a LOT of side-to-side slop, which cannot be corrected with the screws. This gives the gun an unfortunately cheap feeling that spoils the rest of the experience.

The other ergonomics of the gun are pretty good. I like having a good foregrip on my guns, and found that the stylized "nail" on the front of the trigger guard was getting in the way of my thumb. So I dremeld it off.
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/1268/slg2.jpg
Note: The gun is in programming mode. That's how I was able to get the LED to stay blue long enough to get a cool picture.

Stock barrel is wide enough to stick your arm through, and thus useless.

The gun has no "safe" mode, you just turn it on and off by pushing the lower button on the rear of the grip frame. I found that I sometimes had to shield this light with my hand to see it in sunny weather, and that the button was still easy to push even with gloves on.

My SLG has never demonstrated the first-shot-drop-off problems that plagued my Wrath, nor has it ever chopped a ball.

Out of the box my SLG was shooting around 290fps, +- 5fps. I chroned it down to 275 as per the field limit back in May, and as of late December I haven't had to adjust it since.

The gun's ASA is the rail-based DYE airport. It's not an on/off ASA, but you can adjust the length of the activation pin inside, and there's a bit of leeway back and forth in terms of where it sits on the frame. I and a lot of other users have had trouble getting this ASA to be tight enough, but I think I've discovered the problem: Since the frame is plastic, the dovetail rail itself is actually a separate aluminum piece that fits into the bottom of the frame and is tighented with two screws into standard AGD/WGP bottomline mounting holes. If these two screws come loose, the ASA will continue to be loose, no matter how hard you tighten the dovetail locking screw. These screws thread into steel nuts wedged into the plastic of the frame, and unlike some other guns I've recently worked on (Smart Parts SP1) the nuts do not slide around in the frame. Once they're tight and hopefully loc-tited, the problem goes away.

I should note that this is one of two problems that are easy fixes, but not mentioned in the otherwise very nice full-color instruction booklet. The other is the battery. The poor tolerances of the plastic frame as well as DYE's deceision to use battery contact blades integral to the frame instead of a more traditional 9v battery clip, means that most normally-sized 9v batteries are actually too small to fit properly into the grip frame. A small piece of paper wedged between the frame and the battery fixes this problem, but it's annoying that you have to cram cardboard into a $300 gun to get it work properly.

Another downside of the gun is that it lacks an on/off ASA and a lever-locking feedneck, standard features on guns like the Mini and G3 which are similarly-priced.

Now, the good parts! This gun is very, very fast. The board will let you run it up to 30bps and dry-firing it and goldwaving the video confirmed that it will indeed cycle that fast. DYE has put some videos on Youtube of SLGs with Rotors hitting 25bps or faster with no problems. Unfortunately, the fastest loader I have is a VL Force. Besides, my field has a speed limit of 10bps, so I just ran my SLG at that speed.

Although the SLG cannot be disassembled when gassed up, disassembly is very easy. Use an allen wrench to disassemble the backcap and all the moving parts come out in two easy to clean pieces.

I did run into a number of problems with my SLG. The first is that the rear bolt bumper tends to tear itself apart very quickly. My first first one disintegrated after about a case of use, and the second, which is still on the bolt in the picture below, had only around 800 shots.
http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/323/slgbolt2002x.jpg
This seal is unique tire-shaped piece and I haven't found a suitable replacement except from the gun's parts kit and Proto themselves. As the bumper wore out I noticed an audible "pinging" noise when the gun was fired, but the marker's actual function was not impaired. Supposedly Proto has come up with a superior, longer-lasting rear bumper that is orange in color, but I haven't been able to get one yet.

The second problem with my SLG occurred after I cleaned and lubricated the gun. This time I used TAG "Mugg" lubricant instead of the DYE Slick lube included with the gun. After reassembly, I found that the gun was going into runaway full auto all by itself, sometimes after taking a shot and sometimes as soon as the gun was gassed up. I removed the bolt assembly and tried cleaning off the mugg and replacing it with the factory lube, but the problem persisted. After that I figured the problem was the sear, so I removed the grip frame and inspected it. It appeared fine, and I didn't notice any excessive wear either on the sear or the edge of the bolt where the sear grips it. At the suggestion of someone on another forum, I removed the sear spring and stretched it a bit. In the process I later realized that I had to clean off all the lubrication that might have been stuck to the sar. After reassembly, the full-auto problem went away.

Unfortunately, stretching the sear spring had caused another problem and my SLG was now refusing to fire reliably. It now took two or three trigger pulls to get the gun to go off, probably because the solenoid was now having to overcome both the increased tension of the sear spring and the force of the bolt. I was able to remedy this problem by using a fresher battery and increasing the dwell a notch.

The next time I used the SLG, I ran into problems again. The SLG's indicator light was blinking green, indicating dirty eye sensors. However, the eyes were clean and even after cleaning them again to make sure the error light persisted.

I do want to stress that every time my SLG pitched a fit, it did so at the very beginning of the day, so I was never surprised or caught in the middle of an important game without a gun to use. In fact, over the course of all these episodes it never once broke a ball, even when going into runaway full auto.



Programming the SLG is fairly straightforward but somewhat cumbersome. The left side of the grip must be removed to allow access to the dip switch box and the switches put into programming mode. You then use a combination of trigger pulls and button pushes to change the dwell, ROF, and firing mode while watching the 7-color LED for feedback. It's time-consuming, and I appreciate the fact that no one's going to be able to do this on the field. The SLG lacks true 3-shot burst and full-auto modes, but the PSP and Millenium modes do pretty much the same thing and are a little safer besides, since you have to be shooting the gun pretty quickly to get them to activate. I did notice that the 3-shot burst of the PSP mode automatically degrades itself to a 2-shot burst at 10bps, but at that speed the gun's eyes and antichop logic is usually going to even things out into a nearly full-auto behavior anyway.

The last time I used my SLG was last Saturday, about 7 months since I bought it. This time, the gun performed absolutely flawlessly and I put about 1500 rounds through it over the course of the afternoon. I broke 3 balls with the gun, but I believe all three were barrel breaks caused by underboring with brittle paint in cold weather. The bolt itself was clean.

So, in conclusion, the UL SLG is a very nice gun to use when it's working, but quite finicky. Despite my problems with it, I still think the marker has a lot of potential as long as the user follows a couple guidelines:

1. Always begin the day with a fresh, name-band alkaline or fully-charged rechargable 9V.

2. Don't store the gun with a battery in it, as this will drain the battery at a surprisingly fast rate. I store my battery in the gun, but upside-down so as to prevent drain.

3. Keep the bolt lubricated, but don't over-lubricate the bolt. Use only the lube that comes with the gun, or something similar.

4. If necessary, use a piece of wadded up paper to hold the battery against the contact points in the frame.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Ultralight SLG great great gun. used it this weekend, didnt chop, or break paint at all. played for 6 hours and only refilled once. only problem is that my asa came loose after every match and i had to buy a mini...
Report this review to a moderator   #5836
iTz HoLLeR X
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $299.99
Pros: uses less air, quiet
Cons: ASA, 12 inch barrel
great great gun. used it this weekend, didnt chop, or break paint at all. played for 6 hours and only refilled once. only problem is that my asa came loose after every match and i had to buy a mini drop forward to fix. other than that great gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Add New Review