Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
INTRODUCING THE ALL NEW DM9 With a host of new features, updates, and refinements, it continues the tradition of being one of the lightest, smallest, fastest and certainly the most accurate of paintball markers in the world.
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $1,350.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 117
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  52%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  44%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) Reviews
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) I had the ability to get one of these upon release and it is leaps and bounds ahead of the previous models. The UL frame is great and the eye pipe makes things a breeze.
Report this review to a moderator   #14078
paintballer35
^XBL^
paintballer35's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: IL
paintballer35 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballer35 has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballer35 has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballer35 has perfected Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballer35 has perfected Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballer35 is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
paintballer35 is Immortal
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Best dm yet
Cons:
I had the ability to get one of these upon release and it is leaps and bounds ahead of the previous models. The UL frame is great and the eye pipe makes things a breeze.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.9/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) They took the same Dye gun as previous models and made it smaller with no on/off in the front. The DM9 weighed around 1lbs and 14.8oz I think when I weighed it, somewhere around there. That was...
Report this review to a moderator   #5082
protodomination
 
protodomination's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Quiet, smooth, cosistent
Cons: read the review
They took the same Dye gun as previous models and made it smaller with no on/off in the front. The DM9 weighed around 1lbs and 14.8oz I think when I weighed it, somewhere around there. That was without the barrel, so they did get a good amount of weight off of it. It shoots very accurate and smooth. All the dye guns shoot real smooth. I got +/- 4 over the chrono after a month of using it and that was pretty amazing.

The problems are, it is the same as the previous models. You spend 1350(normal price) and you get the same performance as the other DM's. When are they going to really change it, the efficiency sucks. After like 6 cases I was still Getting under 1200 shots out of a 68/4500. They need to figure a way to get something more in it for that price range. They should have an oled or lcd in it for easier mode changing so you do not have to open the grips and have to count blinking lights. Haven't they notice more companies are bringing out LCD and OLED screens. The best thing they changed is the eye pipe cover. Other then that they need to really add or change completely, the resale on these is terrible so if you buy one you better keep it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) Dye makes great markers. I have put no less than 125 cases through my DM9. I have had 0 problems. About a month ago, I lubed the LPR for the first time since I got it. I lube the bolt about every...
Report this review to a moderator   #6057
scadreau
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Arizona
scadreau plays in the USPL
scadreau plays in the PSP
scadreau supports Cereal Killerz 2
scadreau plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,300.00
Pros: Never ever breaks paint
Cons: Efficiency (its a spoolie)
Dye makes great markers. I have put no less than 125 cases through my DM9. I have had 0 problems. About a month ago, I lubed the LPR for the first time since I got it. I lube the bolt about every 5th time I play.

You will not find a gun that is softer on paint. No matter what the paint or who is breaking it, I can shoot it. The only other gun that can claim near the "softness" on paint is the Luxe.

Efficiency is a bit of a problem but I just use a 68ci tank and have no worries. It is a spool valve so its weakness is efficiency. It happens. With my 68ci, I can get a hopper and 8+ pods so that is enough.

This gun falls in the "You get what you pay for" department.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) The first impression I had was with the new gun case that comes with the gun, it takes little space in your gearbag and protects your investment, manuals, barrels, parts kit, grease, barrel condom,...
Report this review to a moderator   #15956
tweeter4
Ascendant PB
tweeter4's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lancaster PA
tweeter4 posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $525.00
Pros: Light, smooth, sleek, fast
Cons: occasional leaks
The first impression I had was with the new gun case that comes with the gun, it takes little space in your gearbag and protects your investment, manuals, barrels, parts kit, grease, barrel condom, just everything you may need.This marker is light very light, Dye took the front on/off that some DM8 users were complaining about, made the body shorter and the body has a nice carved and well balanced. The board has some new options, doesnt need any upgrade, shoots great in Semi and Ramping modes. A really cool feature its the new trigger, you can adjust it in many ways, first set tghe activation point and trigger stop and then you can adjust it all the way to the front or to the back of the frame, my guess is that this simple feature will be copied in the near future in all the markers.The air efficiency is a little better than the DM8, 6 pods and a hopper at 3000 psi. The new ball detents are very easy to clean and changed if needed, great they got rid of the magnetic ball detents.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) Its made by Dye. What else needs to be said. I love almost all dye guns.
Report this review to a moderator   #22571
+CrOsS.CoSa+
 
+CrOsS.CoSa+'s avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Carolina
+CrOsS.CoSa+ plays in the PSP
+CrOsS.CoSa+ plays in the MiLP
+CrOsS.CoSa+ plays in the APPA D2 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Love it
Cons: Nothing Really.
Its made by Dye. What else needs to be said. I love almost all dye guns.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) so like any dye gun it needs a **** tone of lube. Also you should probably upgrade the market with a new board so you can change modes easier and a different trigger
Report this review to a moderator   #19019
devilspaintball
Hustle, Fight, Grind!!!
devilspaintball's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY and NJ
devilspaintball plays in the USPL
devilspaintball plays in the PSP
devilspaintball is an NCPA player
devilspaintball plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: light
Cons: lots of lube
so like any dye gun it needs a **** tone of lube. Also you should probably upgrade the market with a new board so you can change modes easier and a different trigger
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) Awsome gun, have owned many in the series. Will be staying with the brand.
Report this review to a moderator   #27814
ebeds18
NY DIESEL
ebeds18's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PSI
ebeds18 plays in the APPA D5 division
ebeds18 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
ebeds18 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Absolutely none
Awsome gun, have owned many in the series. Will be staying with the brand.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) let me start off by saying that after the DM9 came out, dye keeps making remakes of this gun. anyway, the DM9 is hands down one of the most quiet, smoothest shooting markers i have owned. it's ball...
Report this review to a moderator   #6812
zXRiotXz
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,081.00
Pros: quiet. accuret. SMOOTH!!!!
Cons: price. weight. effency
let me start off by saying that after the DM9 came out, dye keeps making remakes of this gun. anyway, the DM9 is hands down one of the most quiet, smoothest shooting markers i have owned. it's ball on ball accuret. however it is a wee bit heavy for my liking but thats about it. in my OP, this is the best dye marker out there.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) they best gun i got it really good price at www.prioritypaintball.com all of thir **** is 10% off gust get prom code
Report this review to a moderator   #5416
KyleTheCrocodile
 
KyleTheCrocodile's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: .
Cons: .
they best gun i got it really good price at www.prioritypaintball.com all of thir **** is 10% off gust get prom code
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 9 (DM9) Overall it's a great gun. The ergonomics are great. The maintenance factor is pretty easy overall too. Probably second only to the ergonomics of the gun is the accuracy factor. Fantastic with a...
Report this review to a moderator   #23073
Dizbiotch
D-Botch
Dizbiotch's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Washington State
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Accuracy, reliability, accuracy
Cons: Efficiency
Overall it's a great gun. The ergonomics are great. The maintenance factor is pretty easy overall too. Probably second only to the ergonomics of the gun is the accuracy factor. Fantastic with a paint to barrel match! If you haven't owned one of these bad boys, you should pick one up!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Add New Review