Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Exalt Paintball - Exalt Cleats Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Exalt Paintball
897 The Glen Rd
RR#1 Woodville,
Canada

Email: info@exaltdevelopments.com
Website: http://www.exaltpaintball.com/
Designed for one thing... Running Fast! We have taken the function of a super light track shoe and given it the features and durability needed in a paintball cleat. The cleats come with 2 sets of spikes to keep you legal in any tournament.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $80.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
 Reviews: 21
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  48%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  10%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  10%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Exalt Paintball - Exalt Cleats Reviews
Exalt Paintball Exalt Cleats About me: Playing Experience: 1 year competitive, been playing about 2.5 yrs. Stats: 5'10" 155 lbs (not sure if it matters, just so people know when I reference my weight) Position: Front player...
Report this review to a moderator   #5435
Greenfield
 
Greenfield's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada
Greenfield has been a member for 10 years
Greenfield owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Greenfield supports Team VICIOUS
Greenfield is for the Gunfight
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Great Grip, Great Price, Great Quality
Cons: None That I Have Found
About me:

Playing Experience: 1 year competitive, been playing about 2.5 yrs.
Stats: 5'10" 155 lbs (not sure if it matters, just so people know when I reference my weight)
Position: Front player (mainly snake)

Now, on to the review, which I made as unbiased as possible.. though I honestly LOVE these cleats.



Hey guys, I just picked up a pair of Exalt Cleats www.exaltpaintball.com and was very impressed with them, so I decided to write a review.

First here are some links so you can see what I am reffering to through out this review. I am unsure of the name of the umbro cleats, purchased them about 6 months ago, so they're fairly new.

Pouch, Cleat, Tools --> http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/u...r/DSCF0049.jpg
Steel Spike --> http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/u...r/DSCF0050.jpg
Golf Style Spike --> http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/u...r/DSCF0051.jpg
Umbro Cleat vs Exalt Cleat --> http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/u...r/DSCF0046.jpg
Umbro / Exalt Cleat Top View --> http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/u...r/DSCF0047.jpg
Umbro / Exalt Cleat Patterns --> http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/u...r/DSCF0048.jpg


Packaging:
The exalt cleats come in a pouch which has the size of the cleat on the pouch. The top of the pouch has a drawstring so that you can carry it by the drawstring, much like the events mask bag. One thing I noticed about the pouch is that it's quite strong for being a light material. I pulled both sides and pulled quite hard trying to tear it and couldnt get it to tear. Now i'm sure if you put all your effort in to tearing it you could, but who's going to need a pouch that strong for their cleats really?

First Impression:
My first impression when taking the cleats out of the bag was that I found them to be a nice looking cleat They appear to be very well made, all of the sticthing in the cleat is very well done, I didn't find 1 lose stitch in the entire cleat which is somewhat surprising considering all the stitching in this cleat. The next thing I noticed was that the cleats are very light, comparing it to my umbro soccer cleats which I used to wear for paintball, they are noticeably lighter. Unfortunately I don't have a small food scale to put them on to give actual weight comparisons, but I can tell you I can notice the weight difference just by holding each.

Spikes:
The Exalt cleats have 2 different style spikes that come with the cleat, your regular rubber golf style spikes or you can put in the optional steel spikes if permitted where you play. A tool for changing the spikes and both style of spikes are included with the cleat. The cleats have 7 holes for your choice of spike at the front of the cleat along with hard rubber spikes (non-removable) about 1/2 the height of whatever spike you put in. The rest of the cleat is small rubber treads much like a track shoe. The umbro soccer cleats I used prior to these cleats have 11 spikes upfront and 4 spikes at the back, though they're not really spikes since they're very rounded.

Trying Them On:
These shoes are comfortable! I usually wear between a 9.5 - 10 depending on the shoe, and the size 10 in these exalt cleat is a perfect fit for my foot. The umbro soccer cleats I have made seemed to be squeezing my toes together, where these cleats give you the necessary room at the end of the shoe. One thing to get used to is walking on these, since the cleats are at the front and the back is a track shoe the front seems to sit a bit higher than the back and it's a weird setup to get used to at first. After about 10 minutes of walking around I get used to the feeling, and it now feels normal.

Field Testing:
My first test of these cleats came at our practice at Flagswipe Indoor Field www.flagswipepaintball.com in London, Ontario. When running our first few warm up laps I found these to be very comfortable to run in while simply jogging around, even for the 6 extra laps we had to do for people not listening. During the entire practice it seemed like I had great traction through all of our drills, not slipping at all during any of our running & gunning drills. When scrimmaging finally came around, I was unsure of how they would hold since the field was soaked in paint from a full day of play prior to our practice. I am a snake player, so on the breakout I had the 7 front spikes (golf style) dug into the ground ready to sprint to the snake. When breaking out I had incredible traction compared to when I would wear the umbro soccer cleats I used to wear, I didn't slip 1 time on the breakout out of 8 times heading to the snake. In our last practice I slipped 3 times on the breakout, and was actually getting quite frustrated because of it. Overall I found these held up better than I expected on the paint soaked turf, I am confident pushing off with all my weight that I wasnt going to slip when running. Since it's winter here I didn't get a chance to use them outside, but I can only assume they would work just as well if not better outdoors.

Conclusion:
Before I purchased these cleats I didn't think there would be a huge difference between the soccer cleats I owned and these cleats, but after using them I can see a big difference in the performance of these cleats compared to the soccer cleats. I would reccomend these cleats to anyone who plays competitive paintball, since they do help with your traction while running. The cleats cost $80 CAD which I thought was a lot of money at first, until I remembered that the soccer cleats I purchased were $40 CAD and considering the difference in performance I can justify an extra $40 CAD. Great job on these cleats Exalt, I am very impressed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Exalt Paintball Exalt Cleats Pros: TractionThe cleats have excellent traction exactly where you need it. The ability to switch between the standard cleats and the turf cleats is awesome. You get all of the cleats you need,...
Report this review to a moderator   #7273
Spoon (Rockin Cocks)
Hurtin' Feelings for RC
Spoon (Rockin Cocks)'s avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Spoon (Rockin Cocks) plays in the USPL
Spoon (Rockin Cocks) plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Traction, Light Weight, Interchangeable Spikes
Cons: Limited sizes, Cost
Pros:
Traction
The cleats have excellent traction exactly where you need it. The ability to switch between the standard cleats and the turf cleats is awesome. You get all of the cleats you need, including the cleat tool. Also, the turf cleats are golf spikes so you can replace them if you loose them.
Weight
These are much lighter than any alternative options. I have a pair of Nike soccer cleats that also work very well for grass and turf but when I want to feel fast making snake off break, my Exalt cleats are the way to go!
Cons:
Sizing
The sizing is a bit limited on the cleats. I wear 12.5 in Nike running shoes and my soccer cleats are size 12 and the Exalt 12's are a very snug fit. They wear in a bit over time but just be aware they run small.
The only other thing worth mentioning is that the spikes may not be snug when you first get the cleats. One of my teammates didn't think to check them before he played and lost a couple of spikes on his first time out. Just give them a once over and they should be fine.

If you've got the cash I saw don't hesitate to pick these up. You may be able to save some coin using a soccer or football cleat but the experience isn't the same. The difference in price is less than a case of paint.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Exalt Paintball Exalt Cleats Initial Impression Upon opening the box I am greeted by the brightest green bag I think I have ever seen. The bag stands out and prints the size of the cleat right on it, as well as the company logo....
Report this review to a moderator   #4509
burnt rose
The Real Daredevil
burnt rose's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The 2 up 2 down state
burnt rose plays in the PSP
burnt rose owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
burnt rose supports Bob Gurnsey
burnt rose plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Amazing grip, lightweight
Cons: Track cleat heels still present, read below.
Initial Impression
Upon opening the box I am greeted by the brightest green bag I think I have ever seen. The bag stands out and prints the size of the cleat right on it, as well as the company logo. Lets everyone know that you mean business. They are not the prettiest cleats, but you can tell by looking at them that they can take a beating, plastic under the toe area and reaches around the sides to protect the cleats from snake pushes.
There is a little plastic baggie included that houses extra golf cleats and an entire set of metal spikes with a few extra included as well. The metal spikes appear (to me at least) to be perfectly legal, not sharp at all just rounded enough to get you through thick grass.
I then immediatly tried them on and they are not completely true-size, I wear a size 9 shoe and I bought a size 9 cleat, they are a tad small, but still wearable. The cleat is very comfortable almost identical to the feel of a track cleat, which if you haven't worn them, feel like nothing.
The first thing I did was to take out the small and thin soles and put in big thick therapeutic soles that make the shoe that much more comfortable.

Review
So it's game day and I throw them on. I use the golf spikes because the field still does not want me to use the metal spikes even though they really are not sharp whatsoever. Anyways the golf spikes, as all do, pick up a ton of dirt but still grip amazingly well. I didn't have a worry about there being no traction on the back because I don't run on the back of my feet so I didn't care, and I had no reason to.
When running it feels like I was attached to the ground, pivotting was as good or better than a regular golf shoe because the back of my foot was not gripping.
Crouching was great, it just feels good to be in power stance in these cleats, I don't know how else to describe it, I feel very stable and this allows me to snap out more comfortably. When making a quick move to bunker someone or bump up, they stayed true to their grippy nature.
After playing the snake I could get perfect grip when I needed to bump, and they flex very well which allows for a more powerful push when in snake position.
Towards the end of the day my heels began to hurt, as they would with track spikes, this is due to there being so much strain on them because the of the anti-arch of the cleats(I mean I had golf cleats holding my toes skyward the entire day). That would really be my only gripe, but it was almost worth it anyways for the grip that was acheived with these shoes.

Conclusion
A great cleat, I was looking at getting the Adidas Tunic, for the different cleats that are provided in the set, but the thing holding me back was that they were $90+. These cleats came out after I was looking for a new pair of cleats, and I am just amazed at the performance and design.
If you are looking for a cleat that does exactly what you need, stays grippy the entire day, feels like a sock, and is really not that expensive for a top of the line cleat, this is your dream cleat.
Again my one and only gripe is that my heels hurt after a day of play, and that was WITH therapuetic insoles. But if I had just removed them in between the big stretches of play... I would have been fine.

If you have any questions about the cleat at all I would be happy to talk to you about them and tell you why I love them so much.
-To Exalt. Thanks.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.9/5 stars.
Exalt Paintball Exalt Cleats great cleats, even better that you can take apart/interchange the cleats themselves
Report this review to a moderator   #15615
Enderle
 
Enderle's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eight Six Oh
Enderle is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: a lot
Cons: not a lot
great cleats, even better that you can take apart/interchange the cleats themselves
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Exalt Paintball Exalt Cleats This are my favorite cleats. next to my football ones. I really like how light and flexible they are. They are great for everyone on the field. the only two real complaints are that the laces are a...
Report this review to a moderator   #18410
KidInfamous
There can only be One
KidInfamous's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
KidInfamous plays in the PSP
KidInfamous donated to help Peyton Trent
KidInfamous supports Team VICIOUS
KidInfamous posts videos on PbNation
KidInfamous is a top reviewer
KidInfamous is Legendary
KidInfamous is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: two sets of cleats
Cons: grass cleats don't dig too deep
This are my favorite cleats. next to my football ones. I really like how light and flexible they are. They are great for everyone on the field. the only two real complaints are that the laces are a little too long and the grass cleats are a little short and tend to get destroyed when walking on gravel or any other solid surface. i love being able to switch between turf and grass cleats because i play in multiple locations. on multiple fields.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Exalt Paintball Exalt Cleats These cleats were great when I first got them. The golf cleats grip turf and grass great, and still offer some grip even on rocks. The toes of my pair got a hole worn in them after only a year of...
Report this review to a moderator   #28686
Spike 117
_________________________
Spike 117's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 540,703
Spike 117 donated to help Peyton Trent
Spike 117 is an NCPA player
Spike 117 supports Pev's Paintball
Spike 117 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Spike 117 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Spike 117 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Spike 117 has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Golf cleat threaded, very light
Cons: Toes wore out after 1 year
These cleats were great when I first got them. The golf cleats grip turf and grass great, and still offer some grip even on rocks.

The toes of my pair got a hole worn in them after only a year of playing tournaments with them. For $60 I was disappointed that they only lasted a year.

The cleats are also uglier than sin.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Exalt Paintball Exalt Cleats These are probably the best designed cleat for paintball with their lightweight which even does not reduce the support that your foot needs. The two pairs of spikes that are included also allow you...
Report this review to a moderator   #6028
Amac
ThisISPaintball.ca
Amac's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in Canada
Amac is a Paintball photographer
Amac plays in the PSP
Amac is playing at Living Legends V
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Light, great gripping surface
Cons: Nothing....
These are probably the best designed cleat for paintball with their lightweight which even does not reduce the support that your foot needs. The two pairs of spikes that are included also allow you to switch things up depending on the surface that you are playing on. Easily the market leader in paintball shoes.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Exalt Paintball Exalt Cleats the cleats are great, they've been through 2 full xball season and held up pretty well. Finally after 2 years of events and practice im buying knew ones. I think they are worth every penny
Report this review to a moderator   #14584
devilspaintball
Hustle, Fight, Grind!!!
devilspaintball's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY and NJ
devilspaintball plays in the USPL
devilspaintball plays in the PSP
devilspaintball is an NCPA player
devilspaintball plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: great traction
Cons: spikes dont break but metal holder for it does
the cleats are great, they've been through 2 full xball season and held up pretty well. Finally after 2 years of events and practice im buying knew ones. I think they are worth every penny
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Exalt Paintball Exalt Cleats i've used the hell out of my exalt cleats and they're still kickin. i'll probably end up duct taping em back together so i can keep using em. i constantly lose the spikes though.
Report this review to a moderator   #22748
pynis
Reagan owns my soul
pynis's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: beware the PHOG
pynis plays in the APPA D5 division
pynis is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
pynis is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: light, make me run fast
Cons: lose the spikes easy.
i've used the hell out of my exalt cleats and they're still kickin. i'll probably end up duct taping em back together so i can keep using em. i constantly lose the spikes though.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Exalt Paintball Exalt Cleats Great shoes. Work great and are great for the price I don't find them that comfortable. I also don't like the studs on the bottoms it feels like you can feel them on the inside on the shoes....
Report this review to a moderator   #30068
szpaintballer
 
szpaintballer's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sebastopol,ca
szpaintballer supports Team VICIOUS
szpaintballer posts videos on PbNation
szpaintballer is Legendary
szpaintballer supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Great looking
Cons: Not that comfortable
Great shoes. Work great and are great for the price I don't find them that comfortable. I also don't like the studs on the bottoms it feels like you can feel them on the inside on the shoes. Otherwise they are great shoes for the price
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review