Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Ion Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Ion
 Manual: Download the manual for Smart Parts Download
 Release Date: 2005
 MSRP: $174.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
 Reviews: 293
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  13%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  17%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Ion Reviews
Smart Parts Ion i just got my ion 2 months ago and ive come to like it. my set up is a military green ion with a critical RPM trigger (excellent trigger after tweaking out some problems), smart parts 360 QEV, and i...
Report this review to a moderator   #2316
cALiFoRNia BabYLoN
 
cALiFoRNia BabYLoN's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LA, CA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: price, performance, reallly upgradable
Cons: grip, trigger, qev
i just got my ion 2 months ago and ive come to like it.
my set up is a military green ion with a critical RPM trigger (excellent trigger after tweaking out some problems), smart parts 360 QEV, and i have a TechT L7 bolt on the way, as well as a dye sticky grip. im lookin at a boomstick, scepter kit, or maybe a ti longbow for a barrel, and deffinetely a virtue board.

PROS:
*It was really cheap, for its cost it performs well, and can be upgraded to be as good as a high end marker.
*No ion is the same because each owner has a different preference and so much to choose from. If you know how to shop for paintball gear, you cant go wrong with this marker. If you make a bad purchase, its not going to do much for you.
*Smart Parts has relatively good customer service... and that always helps.
*This marker can hold its own against high end markers right out of the box (remember, its the player not the gun)
*Ramping is always a fun feature.

CONS:
*Kinda bad air efficiency stock, but that can be fixed with a couple easy purchases
*Stock barrel is a little too inaccurate for my tastes.
*The grip is really annoying, i can only get 3 screws in because its such a ***** to pull back and get that last screw in. We stripped the metal out. Not I, my friend, or his dad who benches like 400 could get the ****er in. Dye Sticky grip on its way
*Feedneck is kind of annoying, but my vlocity fits in snug and well. Its a little tall, but it saved my *** in a woodsball game when it popped there instead of my mask.
*You have to completely take apart the marker to get to the bolt, but with a new bodykit, u can fix that quick.

Compared to the SLG in my opinion:
I got the SLG before I got the ION. It was nice, light, accurate, and fast. However it is a ****ING BATTERY DRAINER. My friend still has one and he needed a special battery just to run the ****er, and a new board that was given out by Proto because they knew they ****ed up. The ION i think is a little more reliable. Its pretty much just as accurate, and maybe a little slower than the SLG, but who cares cuz the ION can be upgraded to the moon. The ION is a little heavier, but only pussies care about that ****. I traded the SLG in because of its battery problem, and got the ION instead.

Conclusion:
The ion is probably the best thing you can get if ur a beginner in paintball. Its a sturdy, customizable, fast and fun marker. The bodykit can be a pain, but its good for someone to learn how their gun works, and what better way to learn that then by taking apart ur marker and putting it back together? Its good for a new paintball player, or a backup gun. Personally, I love it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion I've been a proud owner of an Ion as well as my brother. When well maintained, this marker performs remarkably for the price. The only problem is that it needs upgrades which become addicting to buy....
Report this review to a moderator   #5020
PBalla4him
 
PBalla4him's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $225.00
Pros: Upgradeable, cheap, kinda fast, accurate
Cons: "Newb" marker, picky, NEEDS upgrades
I've been a proud owner of an Ion as well as my brother. When well maintained, this marker performs remarkably for the price. The only problem is that it needs upgrades which become addicting to buy. First, the feedneck. The stock isn't clamping so you WILL need one. Then a QEV, trigger, and barrel are the basics. If you're heading to the tournament scene, a board will be needed, but if not, the L7 bolt is amazing! The regulator is awesome once worn in. I get +-2 fps with mine. I put these upgrades totaling $100 not including a board and it shoots amazing!
My dad has a PMR SE and he runs out of air extremely fast. I was out or air and handed him my marker. He came back saying that when he first shot it, he thought it was out of air because there was absolutely no kick and the sound signature was extremely quiet.
Overall: The Smart Parts Ion is an excellent choice for beginners or intermediate players, but once the basic upgrades have been added, its potential is phenomenal for the price.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion So I bought this gun about a year or two ago online. I dunno if mine's a lemon, it might be it might not. It worked good for the first 6 or 7 months then down it went. Stars Appearance - 3 stars:...
Report this review to a moderator   #5308
PE_pball
 
PE_pball's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Warrensburg, MO
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $225.00
Pros: Very upgradable
Cons: Inconsistent, feed neck, trigger, vert. grip,
So I bought this gun about a year or two ago online. I dunno if mine's a lemon, it might be it might not. It worked good for the first 6 or 7 months then down it went.

Stars

Appearance - 3 stars: the stock body deserves a one because it looks like crap. The only reason I gave it a 3 was because it's got some pretty good looking aftermarket bodies.

Performance - 2 stars: Performance deserves a one because in order to get it shooting like mine does, I had to put $250 worth of upgrades into it. That's just not right because it's more than I paid for the gun. If the stock gun performed like mine does than I would give it a 4.

Reliability - 3 stars: I have had to fix mine way too many times. First time was to fix a leak. Got that all sealed up. Then before I knew it bam there's another one. Went into fix that one and one of the banjo fittings snapped in half. While I was fixing the banjo, I stumbled across another leak. Fixed that one. Finally got the banjo and leaks fixed up. Took it out to test it, took one shot... back to the tool box. This time, couldn't find the leak. Took it into a pro shop just outside my city to see if they could figure it out. They called a couple days later, turns out the eye wire was caught underneath a screw and was causing a leak. So now I've got everything figured out, I pick up the gun and ask how to prevent more leaks. Well aparently ions likes to tear their hoses whenever you take the gun apart (wow... I wonder how that's gonna go over with the cleaning squad).

Value - 3 stars: It's a good price. Nice, cheap, affordable. But unfortunately there's the rule of thumb that says you get what you pay for, and this is no exception.

Pros

Upgradable - This is probably the most upgradable electronic gun on the market. No ion is the same.

Cons

Inconsistent - This gun is good if you can get it up and running. Unfortunately, getting it up and running isn't the easiest thing to do.

Feed neck - GO GET A NEW ONE RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!!! The stock feed neck sucks. Not only is it really tall which makes you stick out more but its got 2 o-rings. Ya who cares, o-rings aren't that big of a deal. YOU'RE WRONG!!! What happens with these things is that one or both of them will fall out and the they'll fall down and block your gun's eyes. Then you're gonna be chopping paint faster than a paper shredder on crack. And the funniest part is that you're going to have no idea why until you get to the sideline to clean out the gun and you find an o-ring floating in an ocean of paint. And then you're going to find yourself covered in paint only halfway done cleaning and thinking "why did I not listen to him???"

Trigger - Mine did fine but from what I've seen from other players at the fields, we'll just say that if you're not careful, you will probably end up with half of a plastic trigger that wiggles 20ft. to each side. Just go get a new aluminum trigger, don't get another composite one, just get the aluminum. Also when you do decide to wise up and get a new trigger, it's a pain in the neck to do. The trigger pin takes forever to get out. I eventually ended up using a chisel and a hammer.

Vertical grip - This isn't too much of a con just an annoyance. The rubber vertical grip cover does tend to come loose and start to slide around which really pisses me of because when I still had it I would be shooting somewhere and then all of a sudden be shooting a couple inches lower because it slid. My solution was to get a redz body kit because the vertical grip on that tends to run a little small so it barely moves at all. So if you get this body make sure that on the vertical grip, the chilli peppers are facing forward when you put in on because you won't have another chance for a while.

So my conclusion. This is a decent gun for a beginner. If you're even thinking about taking it into a tourney (especially if the gun is still stock) then you should probably cover yourself in bubble wrap that way when you get shot 50 times in the same spot it's not gonna hurt as bad... and just because it'd sound cool. If you wanna use it in recball its ok just make sure to drown it in aftermarket parts. Well good job if you made it through the entire review (I doubt any of you did) feel free to send me a message if you have any questions or comments. Especially send me one if you made it all the way through so I can congratulate you because I almost fell asleep writing it. Well I know that so many people are gonna try and shoot this thread down but this really is my honest opinion so let the shooting begin.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Its a ok gun stock. When it is upgraded it can run with some high end guns.
Report this review to a moderator   #4116
SENOREIDA123
Phillies '08 World Champs
SENOREIDA123's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: !302! Delaware
SENOREIDA123 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Price
Cons: Needs to be upgraded
Its a ok gun stock. When it is upgraded it can run with some high end guns.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Had one of these for about a month and it never worked right. Something would always go wrong with it or break. My cousin had the same problem with one that he owned as well. Cool that you can...
Report this review to a moderator   #42237
applebutt89
Been here since 04
applebutt89's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 704 to 804
applebutt89 plays in the PSP
applebutt89 supports Team VICIOUS
applebutt89 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
applebutt89 is Legendary
applebutt89 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Cheap
Had one of these for about a month and it never worked right. Something would always go wrong with it or break. My cousin had the same problem with one that he owned as well.

Cool that you can change out the body to the color you like and they are cheap guns but that is about the only good thing I can say about them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.7/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion bought the tournament pacage and every one says the ion sucks... it domanates the lower price range of markers i have been using mine for over a year and it has been flawless other than the...
Report this review to a moderator   #4203
Fr3shTaD3ath
 
Fr3shTaD3ath's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: mason OH
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: cheep
Cons: trigger
bought the tournament pacage and every one says the ion sucks...

it domanates the lower price range of markers

i have been using mine for over a year and it has been flawless other than the problems that were my fault like the dwell

but if u upgrade teh ion it is desent marker for the cheep price
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.7/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion The Ion is a very good gun. In my opinion it is the most bang for your buck. Pros: This gun is probably the most customizeable gun out there. you can add anything you want to it. and with the right...
Report this review to a moderator   #3611
hunter whitener75
 
hunter whitener75's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: huntsville AL.
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: look in review
Cons: look in review
The Ion is a very good gun. In my opinion it is the most bang for your buck.

Pros: This gun is probably the most customizeable gun out there. you can add anything you want to it. and with the right upgrades, it can hang with the $1500 guns.

cons: it is a pain in the butt to clean. its not very hard to clean and lube but it just takes so long to take apart the whole gun.


even though some people hate on this gun it is as good as most high end guns
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.7/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion yeh this gun kicks ***. well, 4 me it does cause i started out with a jt tetra and i moved up 2 the ion. great gun.
Report this review to a moderator   #4463
IONkid125
team predator
IONkid125's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Newton NJ
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $165.00
Pros: great accurate gun
Cons: its electric
yeh this gun kicks ***. well, 4 me it does cause i started out with a jt tetra and i moved up 2 the ion. great gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.7/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion I don't care who you are you cannot shoot faster than this marker can. I've NEVER broken a ball in the breech. 0 chop. This marker can perform as well as a $1000 marker. The problem with this marker...
Report this review to a moderator   #832
snowbandit16
Operations Manager :XOR:
snowbandit16's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Rigby, ID
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Fast, Upgradeable, Inexpensive
Cons: NEEDs many user-friendly upgrades. Horrid Resale
I don't care who you are you cannot shoot faster than this marker can.
I've NEVER broken a ball in the breech. 0 chop.
This marker can perform as well as a $1000 marker.

The problem with this marker is that it isn't user friendly stock. It needs many upgrades to be user friendly. (feedneck, BOB body, On/off asa, trigger, easier board setting changes, etc)
It also needs upgrades to increase efficiancy (QEV, and bolt)

The reg is great quality. The board is great quality. The upgrade possibilities are endless. You can make this marker what you want it to be.

Great cure for a gun hor, because upgrades are easy, and the resale sucks.

LOVE IT!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.7/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Playing for 11 years Owned every marker, ever (well, just about) I was very excited when this marker came out and I bought one almost instantly. Unfortunately, I noticed that in order for Smart...
Report this review to a moderator   #248
MVPaintballer
Mega Flagellator
MVPaintballer's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: New Hope, PA
MVPaintballer is a Mega Moderator
MVPaintballer is a Supporting Member
MVPaintballer donated to help Peyton Trent
MVPaintballer supports Bob Gurnsey
MVPaintballer posts videos on PbNation
MVPaintballer supports our troops
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Cheap electro pnuematic
Cons: Too many to list here.
Playing for 11 years
Owned every marker, ever (well, just about)

I was very excited when this marker came out and I bought one almost instantly. Unfortunately, I noticed that in order for Smart Parts to make the marker so cheap, they cut corners in materials and quality.

Uses Impulse barrel threads. I think they just wanted to get rid of all of their left over Imp barrels. Should be universal threading (aka Cocker threads), as most guns are now-a-days.

Very cheap aluminum. To the best of my knowledge, they found the cheaper aluminum possible and extruded it into a body. To cover up this fact(I don't really know for sure), they slid a plastic cover over it.

Very unreliable. Due to the quality of the parts, the reliability of the marker suffers. Tolerances are too high, which causes jams, shredded orings, etc. Theading for the microline fitting stripped when I thumb-tightened a QEV on it.

Bad grips, hard to press on/off button.

The one good thing is that it offers electropnuematic performance for new players. However, those who do not know there way around a paintball gun will probably run into a lot of difficulties.

You can drop money on these like mad, but they will never perform as well as a high end, and will not resell.They'll be much better than stock, but not as good as say, a Mini, Promaster, older high-end, etc.

I bought mine the first week they came out, and sold it 3 weeks later after running into a slew of problems. I'll probably get a lot of negative ratings on this review, but this is just the way I see it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.6/5 stars.
Add New Review