Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Ion Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Ion
 Manual: Download the manual for Smart Parts Download
 Release Date: 2005
 MSRP: $174.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
 Reviews: 294
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  13%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  17%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Ion Reviews
Smart Parts Ion this is a great begginer gun, its smooth quite and fast. looks cheaper than it is outperforms guns twice the price rock solid reliable good value
Report this review to a moderator   #28205
stubyslap
 
stubyslap's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: colorado springs
stubyslap owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
stubyslap supports Team VICIOUS
stubyslap supports Team VICIOUS
stubyslap posts videos on PbNation
stubyslap has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.00
Pros: this is the marker that changed the game
Cons: hanging board, hoses
this is a great begginer gun, its smooth quite and fast.

looks cheaper than it is

outperforms guns twice the price

rock solid reliable

good value

can be tricky to work on and mintain without b.o.b kit
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Its an alright gun, but to be honest get a proto or something else. its light weight and nice looking
Report this review to a moderator   #38803
TactuhCarl
 
TactuhCarl's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago
TactuhCarl has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TactuhCarl has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $170.00
Pros: Good backup gun
Cons: appearance.
Its an alright gun, but to be honest get a proto or something else. its light weight and nice looking
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion This was my first electro-pneumatic marker and it was a blast. I really enjoyed it. I have owned (and still own) two first generation Ions, although I have spent a lot of money and time upgrading...
Report this review to a moderator   #33120
TheMadMan
 
TheMadMan's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern California
TheMadMan owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TheMadMan has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TheMadMan has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Lightweight, shoots well
Cons: See Review
This was my first electro-pneumatic marker and it was a blast. I really enjoyed it. I have owned (and still own) two first generation Ions, although I have spent a lot of money and time upgrading them to my liking. This review is for a stock first generation Ion.

Pros - It was cheap and light weight. It shoots decently for what it is.

Cons - This is kind of a long list, but here we go.

1. Trigger - The stock trigger on the first generation Ion was garbage. It was a flimsy plastic trigger that had a lot of play. It felt awful to shoot, even the best player would have difficulty walking it. Luckily there are many great after marker triggers for it so I would upgrade this RIGHT AWAY.

2. Feedneck - The stock feedneck is kind of tall and has just two orings holding your loader in. I would change this right away to a clamping feedneck of some sort.

3. ASA - The stock ASA is this long duckbill style ASA. It is not on/off. It adds an inch or so to the tank essentially making it less than optimal to hold. I would change this as well, plenty of after marker ASAs.

4. Board - The stock board is ok, but is is kind of annoying to turn on or off. It also has very annoying to program. The blackheart board is a little better because it makes a noise. I have a blackheart in one of my ions and a virtue in the other, I have a Dye membrane pad attached to the virtue board which makes turning on/off the marker and turning the eyes on/off MUCH easier.

5. Body - Finally we get to the Ion body. It is a PAIN to take apart to clean and maintain. There are 3 screws, then you have to be careful about the eyes, detents, and carefully remove the banjos/QEV fittings. Constantly doing opening the marker like this will cause the banjos to fail or something to break. This is actually the major problem with the marker IMO. However, there are a couple of after marker bolt out back bodies (BoB). I have tried the Shocktech, which was prone to leaking issues, and the Lucky 5.1, which worked fine for a while, but developed an issue where the bolt it came with stopped working with it (but the Techt L7 does work with it, go figure). However, the official Smart Parts Ion XE upgrade kit worked flawlessly for me. I would recommend looking for a Ion XE upgrade kit if you can find one.

6. Regulator - The stock regulator isn't horrible, it is actually decent IMO. But it is annoying to adjust it because it needs a wrench and it sometimes changes itself because it is attached to the macroline fitting which twists, a tourney lock costs money, so I just replace the reg with something better.

Ok, quite the long string of problems, with that said, I love my ions. They shoot fantastically after the proper upgrades.

How much do these upgrades cost? Lets see

Trigger - $30
Feedneck - $30
ASA - $30
Board - $100
XE Upgrade Kit - $100
Regulator - $60

Now the regulator, board, or ASA are not essential IMO, so the essential Ion upgrade price would be $160. The ideal upgrade price would be $350. As you can see, to get an Ion to shoot perfectly, it costs pretty much as much as buying a mid range gun new or a high end gun used! But if you like a project to work on, it sure is fun!

I don't think they sell Ions anymore since GoG is around. THey now have the eXTCy which fixes a LOT of these issues. the eXTCy has a BoB body, decent trigger, clamping feedneck, and good ASA. I have not messed with the board so I don't know if it is any better, but the eXTCy is a really legit buy it seems!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Cheap for a reason, but a great way to get into the sport or keep as a back up in the gear bag.
Report this review to a moderator   #21382
TheMike
I'm A Professional
TheMike's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 330
TheMike plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Price
Cons: Fussy
Cheap for a reason, but a great way to get into the sport or keep as a back up in the gear bag.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Great for beginers couldnt ask for a better starter gun. shoots well, durable, reliable and AWSOME
Report this review to a moderator   #41900
tonycas26
Tony
tonycas26's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Illinois
tonycas26 is playing at Living Legends VII
tonycas26 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tonycas26 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: shoots well
Cons: beginer gun
Great for beginers couldnt ask for a better starter gun. shoots well, durable, reliable and AWSOME
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Great little gun for a very affordable price easy to maintain if you just pay it a little attention and apply a litlle love...Mine is 7 years old and still a trooper on the field.
Report this review to a moderator   #29629
Trips
 
Trips's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tomball, Texas
Trips plays in the PSP
Trips plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $129.00
Pros: Lightweight, Upgradeable
Cons: Feedneck and ASA
Great little gun for a very affordable price easy to maintain if you just pay it a little attention and apply a litlle love...Mine is 7 years old and still a trooper on the field.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion It is a good gun but I have had some problems with the internals. Spare parts are also hard to find ever since Smart Parts shut down.
Report this review to a moderator   #38795
TrueTexan43
 
TrueTexan43's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Caddo Mills, Tx
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Relatively light, price, good gun for the price
Cons: Hard to work on, not too reliable
It is a good gun but I have had some problems with the internals. Spare parts are also hard to find ever since Smart Parts shut down.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Great electro-pneumatic gun. Just difficult to clean/lube without a bolt-out-back. Also, velocity is a little inconsistent, about +-7/8 fps.
Report this review to a moderator   #27276
tyronejk
titular
tyronejk's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA
tyronejk is an NCPA player
tyronejk plays in the APPA beginner division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Difficult maintenance
Great electro-pneumatic gun. Just difficult to clean/lube without a bolt-out-back. Also, velocity is a little inconsistent, about +-7/8 fps.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion I got my ion for pretty cheap off of craigslist, and its a great gun. You will have to buy upgrades such as a barrel, trigger ( because the stock one breaks in half), asa, and a feed neck. Other then...
Report this review to a moderator   #37348
Way2scary4u
I AM SCARY......MEOW
Way2scary4u's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: OHIO
Way2scary4u is playing at Living Legends VI
Way2scary4u is playing at Living Legends VII
Way2scary4u supports Team VICIOUS
Way2scary4u supports Team VICIOUS
Way2scary4u supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Great gun for the price
Cons: Have to upgrade
I got my ion for pretty cheap off of craigslist, and its a great gun. You will have to buy upgrades such as a barrel, trigger ( because the stock one breaks in half), asa, and a feed neck. Other then that it is a great budget maker
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion I have had my Ion for almost 7 years I think but have upgraded just about everything on the gun. The stock Ion is great for beginners and amazing for the price, but as I got better and took the sport...
Report this review to a moderator   #37221
xMalicious
 
xMalicious's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
xMalicious is playing at Living Legends VI
xMalicious has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
xMalicious has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Price and custom ability
Cons: Stock Appearance
I have had my Ion for almost 7 years I think but have upgraded just about everything on the gun. The stock Ion is great for beginners and amazing for the price, but as I got better and took the sport more seriously, I really loved how easy it was to upgrade the gun. The upgrades, for me were a fair price and increased the efficiency of the gun x10. I love it. If you don't have much money to spend and are willing to upgrade over time, the Ion is the gun for you. It allows you to keep some money in your pocket and improve the gun as you get better yourself. That initial $300 investment has paid for its self that's for sure.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review