Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Ion Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Ion
 Manual: Download the manual for Smart Parts Download
 Release Date: 2005
 MSRP: $174.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
 Reviews: 290
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  13%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  17%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Ion Reviews
Smart Parts Ion I got my ion basically stock. I put about 200 into it and now i will never get rid of it its amazing. Shoots like a luxe!
Report this review to a moderator   #31141
sankadanka
They Call Me The BEAR!!!
sankadanka's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Meadow, New York
sankadanka is playing at Living Legends V
sankadanka is playing at Living Legends VII
sankadanka posts videos on PbNation
sankadanka supports Pev's Paintball
sankadanka is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Light, Cheap, Can do anything to!
Cons: Reputation
I got my ion basically stock. I put about 200 into it and now i will never get rid of it its amazing. Shoots like a luxe!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion I bought the ION the day it came out years ago, so the board was still capped and yadda yadda. It was a great gun for only being $200 brand new. And now with the all upgrades available I don't look...
Report this review to a moderator   #24473
Seek_and_Destroy
My Trial. Your Funeral
Seek_and_Destroy's avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Gettysburg, PA
Seek_and_Destroy is a Supporting Member
Seek_and_Destroy plays in the APPA D5 division
Seek_and_Destroy has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Seek_and_Destroy has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Seek_and_Destroy has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Very cheap. Performance
Cons: plastic parts-board
I bought the ION the day it came out years ago, so the board was still capped and yadda yadda. It was a great gun for only being $200 brand new. And now with the all upgrades available I don't look down upon them at all.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion The only problem I have for this gun is the bolt in the back can only be accessed by disassembling the gun! HORRIBLE FEATURE!! Other than that, this gun is...... decent to say the least. Its only...
Report this review to a moderator   #25571
sheerjeenyus347
The Godfather
sheerjeenyus347's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OHIO
sheerjeenyus347 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
sheerjeenyus347 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
sheerjeenyus347 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
sheerjeenyus347 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $299.99
Pros: Great for beginning speedball
Cons: BOLT IS CONCEALED!
The only problem I have for this gun is the bolt in the back can only be accessed by disassembling the gun! HORRIBLE FEATURE!!

Other than that, this gun is...... decent to say the least. Its only good for beginning
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Had the marker for a little while now. Board seems pretty tempermental and would almost need 2 batteries for a full day. Maybe i just got a dud board with a slow drain or what. before i bought this...
Report this review to a moderator   #34421
skirtero
Protector of Eaglewood
skirtero's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Beloit, Illinois
skirtero has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
skirtero has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $165.00
Pros: it shoots paint (eventually)
Cons: tempermental
Had the marker for a little while now. Board seems pretty tempermental and would almost need 2 batteries for a full day. Maybe i just got a dud board with a slow drain or what.

before i bought this on a friends recommendation i looked at videos and reviews and it seemed like an alright starter marker. Well my experience was not that great. On top of board problem FPS was all over the place as well as accuracy. Even got a J&J barrel to try and help, but that just changed sound signature.

From what i've seen if you put some money into upgrades you can make a decent marker, but i'd rather start with something a little better off.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion good gun tough and looks good almost impossible to do matinence on
Report this review to a moderator   #25759
solid5469
solid5469
solid5469's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: missouri
solid5469 is playing at Living Legends V
solid5469 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
solid5469 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
solid5469 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: reliable
Cons: maintence
good gun tough and looks good almost impossible to do matinence on
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion An Ion is an Ion. I dont know why people always bash them. They are a cheap gun now that can shoot pretty well. You do need some upgrades to it like a barrel and such. but hey, it does get the job...
Report this review to a moderator   #35368
Steez86
 
Steez86's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Seattle
Steez86 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Steez86 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Steez86 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Steez86 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $65.00
Pros: Gets the paintballs down the field
Cons: Eh, can be a pain to take apart
An Ion is an Ion. I dont know why people always bash them. They are a cheap gun now that can shoot pretty well. You do need some upgrades to it like a barrel and such. but hey, it does get the job done. You wont be playing any turnys with this gun but you can shot some fools up. There are un-user friendly things about this gun, like changing the modes and dis-assembly, but they are around 60 bucks.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion this is a great begginer gun, its smooth quite and fast. looks cheaper than it is outperforms guns twice the price rock solid reliable good value
Report this review to a moderator   #28205
stubyslap
 
stubyslap's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: colorado springs
stubyslap owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
stubyslap supports Team VICIOUS
stubyslap supports Team VICIOUS
stubyslap posts videos on PbNation
stubyslap has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.00
Pros: this is the marker that changed the game
Cons: hanging board, hoses
this is a great begginer gun, its smooth quite and fast.

looks cheaper than it is

outperforms guns twice the price

rock solid reliable

good value

can be tricky to work on and mintain without b.o.b kit
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Its an alright gun, but to be honest get a proto or something else. its light weight and nice looking
Report this review to a moderator   #38803
TactuhCarl
 
TactuhCarl's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago
TactuhCarl has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TactuhCarl has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $170.00
Pros: Good backup gun
Cons: appearance.
Its an alright gun, but to be honest get a proto or something else. its light weight and nice looking
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion This was my first electro-pneumatic marker and it was a blast. I really enjoyed it. I have owned (and still own) two first generation Ions, although I have spent a lot of money and time upgrading...
Report this review to a moderator   #33120
TheMadMan
 
TheMadMan's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern California
TheMadMan owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TheMadMan has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TheMadMan has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Lightweight, shoots well
Cons: See Review
This was my first electro-pneumatic marker and it was a blast. I really enjoyed it. I have owned (and still own) two first generation Ions, although I have spent a lot of money and time upgrading them to my liking. This review is for a stock first generation Ion.

Pros - It was cheap and light weight. It shoots decently for what it is.

Cons - This is kind of a long list, but here we go.

1. Trigger - The stock trigger on the first generation Ion was garbage. It was a flimsy plastic trigger that had a lot of play. It felt awful to shoot, even the best player would have difficulty walking it. Luckily there are many great after marker triggers for it so I would upgrade this RIGHT AWAY.

2. Feedneck - The stock feedneck is kind of tall and has just two orings holding your loader in. I would change this right away to a clamping feedneck of some sort.

3. ASA - The stock ASA is this long duckbill style ASA. It is not on/off. It adds an inch or so to the tank essentially making it less than optimal to hold. I would change this as well, plenty of after marker ASAs.

4. Board - The stock board is ok, but is is kind of annoying to turn on or off. It also has very annoying to program. The blackheart board is a little better because it makes a noise. I have a blackheart in one of my ions and a virtue in the other, I have a Dye membrane pad attached to the virtue board which makes turning on/off the marker and turning the eyes on/off MUCH easier.

5. Body - Finally we get to the Ion body. It is a PAIN to take apart to clean and maintain. There are 3 screws, then you have to be careful about the eyes, detents, and carefully remove the banjos/QEV fittings. Constantly doing opening the marker like this will cause the banjos to fail or something to break. This is actually the major problem with the marker IMO. However, there are a couple of after marker bolt out back bodies (BoB). I have tried the Shocktech, which was prone to leaking issues, and the Lucky 5.1, which worked fine for a while, but developed an issue where the bolt it came with stopped working with it (but the Techt L7 does work with it, go figure). However, the official Smart Parts Ion XE upgrade kit worked flawlessly for me. I would recommend looking for a Ion XE upgrade kit if you can find one.

6. Regulator - The stock regulator isn't horrible, it is actually decent IMO. But it is annoying to adjust it because it needs a wrench and it sometimes changes itself because it is attached to the macroline fitting which twists, a tourney lock costs money, so I just replace the reg with something better.

Ok, quite the long string of problems, with that said, I love my ions. They shoot fantastically after the proper upgrades.

How much do these upgrades cost? Lets see

Trigger - $30
Feedneck - $30
ASA - $30
Board - $100
XE Upgrade Kit - $100
Regulator - $60

Now the regulator, board, or ASA are not essential IMO, so the essential Ion upgrade price would be $160. The ideal upgrade price would be $350. As you can see, to get an Ion to shoot perfectly, it costs pretty much as much as buying a mid range gun new or a high end gun used! But if you like a project to work on, it sure is fun!

I don't think they sell Ions anymore since GoG is around. THey now have the eXTCy which fixes a LOT of these issues. the eXTCy has a BoB body, decent trigger, clamping feedneck, and good ASA. I have not messed with the board so I don't know if it is any better, but the eXTCy is a really legit buy it seems!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Cheap for a reason, but a great way to get into the sport or keep as a back up in the gear bag.
Report this review to a moderator   #21382
TheMike
I'm A Professional
TheMike's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 330
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Price
Cons: Fussy
Cheap for a reason, but a great way to get into the sport or keep as a back up in the gear bag.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review