Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Ion Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Ion
 Manual: Download the manual for Smart Parts Download
 Release Date: 2005
 MSRP: $174.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
 Reviews: 295
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  14%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  17%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Ion Reviews
Smart Parts Ion Do not buy this gun under any sucrumstan. Only take it if they pay you to take it
Report this review to a moderator   #5733
pbershawn92
 
pbershawn92's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Louisville
pbershawn92 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Evrything
Do not buy this gun under any sucrumstan. Only take it if they pay you to take it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion The smart parts ion is a great gun, I personally have owned 2 of them during my 8 years of paintball. Out of the box they shoot well, easy to use simple GREAT entry level hyperball/Airball...
Report this review to a moderator   #7274
splat splat
 
splat splat's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
splat splat has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $220.00
Pros: Cheap shoots good fast
Cons: HARD TO ACCESS Bolt pain to clean, Limited board
The smart parts ion is a great gun, I personally have owned 2 of them during my 8 years of paintball. Out of the box they shoot well, easy to use simple GREAT entry level hyperball/Airball gun

Appearance
I Gave it a 4, plastic body kits are simple and clean but kinda tacky, the way the body kits are constructed the make the bolt extremely hard to access.
over all nice simple aperrance.

Performance
Shoots good, Shoots fast, as far as board the stock board has limited options, Needs to have the barrel upgraded, stock trigger has lateral travel, but magnetic trigger works well, Biggest Flaw is the fact that to clean out the bolt and re lube, The trigger frame needs to be fully disassembled the battery removed the Qev removed the eyes removed. to put it simply the Gun must be COMPLETELY DISASSEMBLED TO ACCESS THE BOLT. this puts undo stress on the air tubing and qev and causes air leaks in the enternals
Regulatior could use to be up graded.

Reliablity
Clean the bolt often Lube it often even though it is really hard to access it needs to be maintained. Shoots well works great shoots straight.

Price
AMAZING VALUE FOR THE PRICE. DEFINATLY STRIKLY ENTRY LEVEL if you want a mid grade look at DP or Invert mini
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Its a great back up gun , or begginer gun! I love it and use mines all the time! YOU MUST UPGRADE THE FEED NECK!
Report this review to a moderator   #29537
Team Misfit
Blue Thunder
Team Misfit's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fountain , Colorado
Team Misfit is playing at Living Legends VII
Team Misfit owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Team Misfit supports Pev's Paintball
Team Misfit is attending Decay of Nations VI
Team Misfit supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $175.00
Pros: Cheap,Quiet,Light,Custom,Great
Cons: Trigger,Feed Neck
Its a great back up gun , or begginer gun! I love it and use mines all the time!

YOU MUST UPGRADE THE FEED NECK!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion awespme gun. gr8 4 the cost very fast. now granted i have 2000 put into mine, but it's still crankin 17bps stock. although i'd really recommend you try to find one used in good condition. the new...
Report this review to a moderator   #6314
toppdogg94
WarplayTD94
toppdogg94's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $170.00
Pros: fast!!!!
Cons: pain to dissassemble
awespme gun. gr8 4 the cost very fast. now granted i have 2000 put into mine, but it's still crankin 17bps stock. although i'd really recommend you try to find one used in good condition. the new ones seem lesser quality.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion This was my first gun and I was very pleased with it. It is a great first time gun. It is also easy to upgrade.
Report this review to a moderator   #24838
twodayslate
 
twodayslate's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
twodayslate plays in the PSP
twodayslate is an NCPA player
twodayslate plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Great beginner gun
Cons: Nothing
This was my first gun and I was very pleased with it.

It is a great first time gun. It is also easy to upgrade.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion What do I really have to put here that hasnt been said... POTATAHS! There, that might be original enough.
Report this review to a moderator   #15306
XxHat3d1xX
C-C-C-Christmas
XxHat3d1xX's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Moore, OK
XxHat3d1xX is a Supporting Member
XxHat3d1xX has been a member for 10 years
XxHat3d1xX supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Cheap, customizable
Cons: Reliability, air effc..
What do I really have to put here that hasnt been said... POTATAHS!

There, that might be original enough.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Loved the gun as a starter gun! The upgrade oportunities were great if it ever needed to be upgraded. The gun has never failed me other than minor issues. Great gun so far!
Report this review to a moderator   #12725
*knock-out05*
Where's my boomstick?!
*knock-out05*'s avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Keesler AFB, MS
*knock-out05* posts videos on PbNation
*knock-out05* is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
*knock-out05* is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: great starter gun
Cons: expensive replacement parts
Loved the gun as a starter gun! The upgrade oportunities were great if it ever needed to be upgraded. The gun has never failed me other than minor issues. Great gun so far!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion Whenever someone new comes in to the sport, I always recommend an Ion to them. They are really cheap, even ones that are super upgraded. Best gun for someone looking to get in to the sport as it's...
Report this review to a moderator   #42512
-Mad-Skillz-
Dream Team
-Mad-Skillz-'s avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ROC NY
-Mad-Skillz- supports Team VICIOUS
-Mad-Skillz- posts videos on PbNation
-Mad-Skillz- supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Totally customizable
Cons: stock its pretty ugly
Whenever someone new comes in to the sport, I always recommend an Ion to them. They are really cheap, even ones that are super upgraded.
Best gun for someone looking to get in to the sport as it's durable and reliable in any type of weather.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion I bought an ION when they were first launched by Smart Parts. Although, they have a bad wrap as just cheap *** guns; I loved mine. It never crapped out on me when I was using it. It just wasn't very...
Report this review to a moderator   #26163
1crazywhiteboy
B /S /T
1crazywhiteboy's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Innyo Beach
1crazywhiteboy is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.99
Pros: cheap as hell,almost limitless ups,small, compact.
Cons: not that efficient stock.
I bought an ION when they were first launched by Smart Parts. Although, they have a bad wrap as just cheap *** guns; I loved mine. It never crapped out on me when I was using it. It just wasn't very air efficient at all.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Ion This was my first PB marker. For a first marker I have to say it was great. Better than most Spyder and crap they sell at Walmart.
Report this review to a moderator   #13553
209chromatic
Jolie
209chromatic's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nor Cal
209chromatic owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: really cheap
Cons: hard to disassemble
This was my first PB marker. For a first marker I have to say it was great. Better than most Spyder and crap they sell at Walmart.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review