Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - El Switch Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
The Proto Switch EL paintball mask utilizes 1/4-turn, twist-lock technology to make lens changes fast, easy and secure. It's also set-up with advanced anti-fog materials to ensure a clear view, comfortable face foam, multi-directional venting, and 250-degrees of peripheral vision
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $29.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 23
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  57%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  13%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  17%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  9%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - El Switch Reviews
Proto Paintball El Switch I bought this mask June of 2009 and have used it in the rain, snow, and sun. The first thing to do is buy a thermal lense. The stock lense will fog up quick without a treatment of Fogtech...
Report this review to a moderator   #9746
Cmp316
Carpe diem
Cmp316's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saegertown, Pa
Cmp316 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $29.95
Pros: Price, fit, upgradable
Cons: Stock lense not thermal
I bought this mask June of 2009 and have used it in the rain, snow, and sun. The first thing to do is buy a thermal lense. The stock lense will fog up quick without a treatment of Fogtech anti-fogging solution. I have also added a fan and a game timer. Since the addition of all the options and the treatment of Fogtech the mask has been amazing in all conditions. I can have sweat or rain dripping down my lense with no fog at all. This is a great mask to own and comes in Black and Camo. The are available, in new condition, cheap and replacement parts are plenty. I have since painted it digital camo, added a camo KM strap, and added a camo lense sticker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball El Switch I like the way my mask feels and looks
Report this review to a moderator   #56953
Daraujo6
 
Daraujo6's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Daraujo6 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Daraujo6 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $29.99
Pros: style
Cons: hearing
I like the way my mask feels and looks
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball El Switch i've had this mask for about 2 months now and i love it. i bought a new thermal lense for it and it's so much better than it was with just the regular lense. it's a good mask for the money.
Report this review to a moderator   #8680
fireyeye
 
fireyeye's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Keene, NH
fireyeye has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
fireyeye has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
fireyeye has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.00
Pros: Vision
Cons: not much
i've had this mask for about 2 months now and i love it. i bought a new thermal lense for it and it's so much better than it was with just the regular lense. it's a good mask for the money.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball El Switch Dont waste your money on a Proto mask, get a V Force Vantange Pro or something nicer, this is just a blow of money unless you get thermal lense like I did and never be mad ever.
Report this review to a moderator   #9597
KoreanPump
What is paintball?
KoreanPump's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Koreatown, Los Angeles
KoreanPump owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $35.00
Pros: Nice padding
Cons: Crappy lense
Dont waste your money on a Proto mask, get a V Force Vantange Pro or something nicer, this is just a blow of money unless you get thermal lense like I did and never be mad ever.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball El Switch this mask is great i painted mine white and black and put a mirror thremal lens on it.
Report this review to a moderator   #20163
madmax13579
 
madmax13579's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: belleair
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.00
Pros: breaths great
Cons: nothing
this mask is great i painted mine white and black and put a mirror thremal lens on it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball El Switch I bought this mask because at the time my gun was supposed to be a pm5 and i wanted a matching brand mask, but thats irrelevant. For the price you pay its a great starter mask. I got the camo one...
Report this review to a moderator   #28734
MomoNinja
 
MomoNinja's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PA
MomoNinja is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.95
Pros: Cheap, Camo, Great starter,comfy, great coverage,
Cons: fogs easily
I bought this mask because at the time my gun was supposed to be a pm5 and i wanted a matching brand mask, but thats irrelevant. For the price you pay its a great starter mask. I got the camo one because i play a lot of woodsball. for single games it doesnt tend to fog to bad unless you run like i do. If you go out for back to back ones expect some problems. I played rome 2045 scenario game and half my time spent was waiting for my goggles to defog.

Easy clean
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball El Switch its just an average mask nothing special but it does its job, it allows you to see
Report this review to a moderator   #7302
paintballer14t
FLEXAN.FIN.S
paintballer14t's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Goshen, NY
paintballer14t is playing at Living Legends VII
paintballer14t supports Team VICIOUS
paintballer14t is an NCPA player
paintballer14t plays in the APPA D4 division
paintballer14t supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.00
Pros: cheap
Cons: hard to clean
its just an average mask nothing special but it does its job, it allows you to see
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball El Switch Got the mask as part of a marker package deal and wasn't overly impressed but didn't totally hate it. Pros: -The foam is pretty comfy around the eyes as well as gives a nice range of...
Report this review to a moderator   #40762
PrhymeR
 
PrhymeR's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: So.Cal
PrhymeR has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
PrhymeR has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $25.00
Pros: Comfy, Breathable, Good Range of Sight.
Cons: Stock Lens Fogs, A Little Big Around The Jaw.
Got the mask as part of a marker package deal and wasn't overly impressed but didn't totally hate it.

Pros:
-The foam is pretty comfy around the eyes as well as gives a nice range of vision.
-Hearing is no problem as well as breathing. The hard plastic doesn't bother my ears and the bottoms are not too firm but not too soft.
-The lens change system is pretty simple though I seem to always have a bit of trouble putting the frame back on over the lens. Have to bend it a little funky to get over the nose.

Cons:
-The stock lens fogged like a mofo the first time I went out. It was decently hot outside but I was no way running sprints or anything and it still fogged like a beezy!
-The lower half comes down quite a bit around the jaw. Not really a con for some people but I legacy cut mine and I'm loving it more than stock.
-Would like some more options for lenses and straps.

Overall a decent mask for what the off the shelf price is, however, if you are considering buying it you will definitely need a thermal lens. Beyond the cons though it's a nice starter mask and a good little piece to try your custom cutting and painting skills out before doing it to more expensive masks.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball El Switch This was my first mask, which i bought for 29.95. very good deal because it provides very good cover and doesnt look half bad.
Report this review to a moderator   #18764
r34p3rex
#EPICNuss
r34p3rex's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston/Long Island, NY
r34p3rex donated to help Peyton Trent
r34p3rex owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
r34p3rex posts videos on PbNation
r34p3rex has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
r34p3rex has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
r34p3rex is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $29.95
Pros: Very cheap beginner mask
Cons: Mediocre quality
This was my first mask, which i bought for 29.95. very good deal because it provides very good cover and doesnt look half bad.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball El Switch For as much as I use it it works. It keeps paint off my face, so it works!
Report this review to a moderator   #14300
Silver Bullet
Shut your damn mouth
Silver Bullet's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Berlin
Silver Bullet owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Silver Bullet has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Silver Bullet has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Silver Bullet has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $25.00
Pros: Keep the paint off your face
Cons: Foam can be uncomfortable.
For as much as I use it it works. It keeps paint off my face, so it works!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review