Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Hammerhead - MoFo Barrel Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Hammerhead
801 E. Campbell Road
Suite 400
Richardson, TX 75081

Fax: (972) 404-0201
Email: wcobb@hammerheadpaintball.com
Website: http://www.hammerheadpaintball.com
Double Thick Carbon Fiber - Real Rifling -Ultra Strong Polymer bore!
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $99.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 8
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  63%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  38%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Hammerhead - MoFo Barrel Reviews
Hammerhead MoFo Barrel I work for a local pro-shop and get to try out alot of cool stuff before we sell the stuff. Before I put a review up for something I usually test it for a few months (at least) to see if there are...
Report this review to a moderator   #7429
egopossum
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
egopossum is playing at Living Legends III
egopossum owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: light, pretty, comes with bore sizer
Cons: knurling on backs don't like dye markers
I work for a local pro-shop and get to try out alot of cool stuff before we sell the stuff. Before I put a review up for something I usually test it for a few months (at least) to see if there are any problems with the product and also ways to fix said problems.

One thing that has entered my personal collection is the Hammerhead MOFO barrel kit.

I know that there are debates on if the rifling on the inside of the barrel actually works and makes the a difference in the way your shots fly.
Personally I don't care. All a barrel is is a tube that my paint flies down. All I need in a barrel kit is a good set of bore sizers, which this barrel does have.

When opening the case that this comes in, you are greeted by your bore sizers (mine had 5, since i bought the full kit), a sizer tool, lithium grease for the threads on the barrel, and the tip for the barrel. This case is much bigger then you would need for just holding a barrel. It is very similar to the one that Tiberius and Tippman give you for thier pistols. One nice thing about that is that when you pack light, you can just throw your allen keys for adjusting your velocity in one of the extra slots (ment for if you have a tip for your barrel).

The kit that comes with it is pretty complete (.679, .683, .686, .688, .690) and with the aluminum core this makes the barrel alot easier to clean then some of its competitors (you can swab it out). The only benifit I have found with the rifling is that the barrel does clean itself out better then other barrels I have used. The MOFO feels lighter then pretty much all my other barrels (Dye Ultralight, Dye Stainless, Smart Parts Stainless Freak, CCM barrel kit, Eclipse one piece Shaft)
One other cool thing is that they do have a few different colours available for the MOFO. I grabbed the "yellow" one because it matched my "dead leaf" camo on my CCM T2.

The bore on the sizers is roughly about 1 3/8" long (very similar to the sizers for a python kit) and the barrel comes in a few lengths (10", 12", & 14"). One thing that I have noticed is that the aluminum core of the barrel is about 2" shorter then the crbon fibre wrap. So in essence the barrel is 2" shorter. Also the only porting on the barrel is the last 2" of the barrel, so I do find that it is a little louder then my other barrels. The best thing about this is actually I can play in the rain with this barrel and not have to worry about having to have a rain tip for my barrel
The sizer tool that comes with the kit is pretty nice and makes sizing the paint rather fast. I usually just grab a handfull of paint and toss it threw the tool rather then having to blow the paintballs out like a freak insert.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Hammerhead MoFo Barrel I love this barrel. it has an amazing look and works great. i recommend it to anyone! new players and long timers!
Report this review to a moderator   #6187
PaintballFreaks360
 
PaintballFreaks360's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Conestoga, Pa
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: amazing barrel. everything about it is awesome.
Cons: nothing!
I love this barrel. it has an amazing look and works great. i recommend it to anyone! new players and long timers!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Hammerhead MoFo Barrel Overall I have to say Hammerhead makes a great barrel. The fins that come with the barrel do a great job in hugging the paint to give you more consistent shots. The only downside is if you chop a...
Report this review to a moderator   #31381
Azn_Man
Houston HORDE #4
Azn_Man's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston
Azn_Man owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Azn_Man has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Azn_Man has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Bore size the paint for more consistency
Cons: Riffled barrel sometimes gives ball a weird spin
Overall I have to say Hammerhead makes a great barrel. The fins that come with the barrel do a great job in hugging the paint to give you more consistent shots. The only downside is if you chop a ball, the riffling in the barrel sometimes gives you a wicked spin and your shots can become erratic.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Hammerhead MoFo Barrel started off by testing one of these barrels out and it was amazing. No stock barrel that comes with your gun is going to shoot like these
Report this review to a moderator   #25807
ILOVEEMPIRE
 
ILOVEEMPIRE's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: schroeder, texas
ILOVEEMPIRE plays in the PSP
ILOVEEMPIRE owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
ILOVEEMPIRE plays in the APPA D4 division
ILOVEEMPIRE has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: shoots amazing
Cons: price
started off by testing one of these barrels out and it was amazing. No stock barrel that comes with your gun is going to shoot like these
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Hammerhead MoFo Barrel This is great barrel especially when using cheap or low quality paint. the riffled insert give the ball a spin to make the low quality ball shoot straight. but the insert also make the barrel...
Report this review to a moderator   #40670
Kapitan1975
 
Kapitan1975's avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Houston
Kapitan1975 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Kapitan1975 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Kapitan1975 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Kapitan1975 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: riffled barrel
Cons: need to properly chrono the gun to get better spin
This is great barrel especially when using cheap or low quality paint.
the riffled insert give the ball a spin to make the low quality ball shoot straight.

but the insert also make the barrel louder (at least to my ear)

i had issue when the gun is chrono about 280 FPS, the ball tend to spin wildly, making it very unreliable.
i found the barrel performed better at 270-275 FPS

Good barrel.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Hammerhead MoFo Barrel Way over priced. They are super light and work real well but i do not believe they are worth the price tag
Report this review to a moderator   #14512
mchavez703
Lean Like A Cholo
mchavez703's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NoVa
mchavez703 plays in the PSP
mchavez703 is playing at Living Legends V
mchavez703 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
mchavez703 supports Pev's Paintball
mchavez703 is Boss
mchavez703 is attending Decay of Nations VI
mchavez703 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: Light
Cons: $$$$$$$
Way over priced. They are super light and work real well but i do not believe they are worth the price tag
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Hammerhead MoFo Barrel My old team was sponsored by Hammerhead so I didn't list the price we paid. I got the 5 fin kit in red and black CF mofo kit. I love this kit! Its very accurate and turns heads at the field!!
Report this review to a moderator   #43629
Monk3yMast3r
Got the bug again...
Monk3yMast3r's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tx
Monk3yMast3r is playing at Living Legends VII
Monk3yMast3r owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Monk3yMast3r supports Team VICIOUS
Monk3yMast3r has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Monk3yMast3r supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: Carbon Fiber, rifled, accurate
Cons: No issues
My old team was sponsored by Hammerhead so I didn't list the price we paid. I got the 5 fin kit in red and black CF mofo kit. I love this kit! Its very accurate and turns heads at the field!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Hammerhead MoFo Barrel Hammerhead makes a great barrel, the materials they use are quality, and they are surprisingly accurate. Should you buy the kit, including 5 fins, the case it arrives in is a head-turner. The only...
Report this review to a moderator   #11112
NJEmortal
The i3 Guy
NJEmortal's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: BattleCreek PB
NJEmortal is BST Legit
NJEmortal posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: Light weight
Cons: PRICE
Hammerhead makes a great barrel, the materials they use are quality, and they are surprisingly accurate. Should you buy the kit, including 5 fins, the case it arrives in is a head-turner. The only thing is, it's expensive. You can't use the barrel w/o the fins, just adds up fast.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review