Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - SL74 Ego Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
SL74 Ego
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $1,995.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
 Reviews: 65
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  75%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  25%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - SL74 Ego Reviews
Planet Eclipse SL74 Ego I had wanted the Infamous SL74 since I first saw them come out, when I finally got mine I was not dissapointed. I have used many Ego's and this was one of my favorites. It felt smoother then the...
Report this review to a moderator   #28259
pballer413
 
pballer413's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: wisconsin
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: Rare Ego
Cons: Price
I had wanted the Infamous SL74 since I first saw them come out, when I finally got mine I was not dissapointed. I have used many Ego's and this was one of my favorites. It felt smoother then the 06-09's that I have used and was very light the downside for me was that the Infamous SL74 is rare so I did pay moreto get it but would recomend the SL74 for any one that has not tried the SL lineup
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL74 Ego This gun rocked for me i had a cure 4 and zic 2 kit in it and it was smoother then any of my CSL's i wish i would of kept it.
Report this review to a moderator   #30475
pballerfolife21
Livin Luxeurious
pballerfolife21's avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 97ooooooh
pballerfolife21 posts videos on PbNation
pballerfolife21 is Legendary
pballerfolife21 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Reliable
Cons: None really
This gun rocked for me i had a cure 4 and zic 2 kit in it and it was smoother then any of my CSL's i wish i would of kept it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL74 Ego if you find an infamous sl74 under 800... grab it... best gun out there
Report this review to a moderator   #33803
pbkeegan88
IM SCARED
pbkeegan88's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: durty jerz
pbkeegan88 supports our troops
pbkeegan88 plays in the APPA D5 division
pbkeegan88 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
pbkeegan88 is Legendary
pbkeegan88 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: everything
Cons: none at all
if you find an infamous sl74 under 800... grab it... best gun out there
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL74 Ego Easily the best ego since the ego has been created. Lightweight, reliable. what else do you need.
Report this review to a moderator   #15069
Pbspaz69
TK Crew
Pbspaz69's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cabot
Pbspaz69 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Weight, style
Cons: None.
Easily the best ego since the ego has been created. Lightweight, reliable. what else do you need.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL74 Ego Over the past 6 years I've owned 2 sl74 egos. They are by far my favorite ego ever made. Released in 2007 they were ahead of their time. They can keep up with any marker of today, and probably still...
Report this review to a moderator   #34649
powerwizard420
 
powerwizard420's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: 806
powerwizard420 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
powerwizard420 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Light, efficient, fast
Cons: Poppit
Over the past 6 years I've owned 2 sl74 egos. They are by far my favorite ego ever made. Released in 2007 they were ahead of their time. They can keep up with any marker of today, and probably still come in as lighter than new guns. If you have the chance to pick up some paintball history don't pass it up. It's an amazing marker. I could shoot about 1200 shots off of a 68/45 fill!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL74 Ego This gun shoots so well. Shoots smooth and consistant. Light and never chops. Also comes with a nice SL barrel kit which is always nice. Even though its from 2007, i think its better than alot of...
Report this review to a moderator   #24160
r00shine
Oh Hi There
r00shine's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NYC
r00shine is attending Decay of Nations VI
r00shine supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: Shoots sooo smooth, consistant. Never chops. light
Cons: NONE!
This gun shoots so well. Shoots smooth and consistant. Light and never chops. Also comes with a nice SL barrel kit which is always nice. Even though its from 2007, i think its better than alot of guns coming out today.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL74 Ego the sl74 is by far the best planet eclipse marker that I have ever owned. it shot very consistent and was very easy to maintain
Report this review to a moderator   #23749
RelapsePB
 
RelapsePB's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern California
RelapsePB is playing at Living Legends III
RelapsePB supports Team VICIOUS
RelapsePB supports Sherwood Forest
RelapsePB posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: shoots consistent, looks nice, easy to use
Cons: old noids in all of them
the sl74 is by far the best planet eclipse marker that I have ever owned. it shot very consistent and was very easy to maintain
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL74 Ego My main marker, this thing kicks *** years later. I have the Aurora edition, which is a real head turner. If you take care of it, the Aurora finish is awesome, no peeling on mine five years later. ...
Report this review to a moderator   #35085
sandflea_97
Gunfighter
sandflea_97's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
sandflea_97 supports Cereal Killerz 2
sandflea_97 donated to help Peyton Trent
sandflea_97 helped look for balloons
sandflea_97 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
sandflea_97 supports Bob Gurnsey
sandflea_97 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Fast, light, reliable.
Cons: Kick, loud.
My main marker, this thing kicks *** years later. I have the Aurora edition, which is a real head turner. If you take care of it, the Aurora finish is awesome, no peeling on mine five years later. As with all Egos, the SL74 is super reliable. Minimal maintenance ensures peak performance. The barrel kit included is superb. The factory board is great, no need for an upgrade. Every detail on the SL74 is excellent, the milling is awesome, the SL upgrades are excellent, and the aurora finish is downright beautiful. This is one of the greatest markers of 2007, and an excellent addition to the Ego lineup.

The only downsides to this gun, and they are slight, is the kick and noise. Compared to other poppits from the time it was produced it's about average, but compared to a spoolie, this gun does jump when firing a long string. The noise is pretty loud, but can be mitigated with some upgrades and/or setting adjustments.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL74 Ego Period of Product Use: 3 months Paintball Experience: 3 years Similar Products Used: Dangerous Power Fusion F7 System X NME Ego 2005
Report this review to a moderator   #33758
seriouslysilly
 
seriouslysilly's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: East coast
seriouslysilly owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
seriouslysilly owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
seriouslysilly posts videos on PbNation
seriouslysilly has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: Reliability, ease of use
Cons: Sound
Period of
Product Use: 3 months

Paintball
Experience: 3 years

Similar
Products Used: Dangerous Power Fusion F7
System X NME
Ego 2005
Ego 2008
Ego SL8R
Ego 2009
Ego SL94

Marker Setup: Ego SL74
Halo B with rip drive/Rotor
68/3000 Crossfire
Lucky 15 barrel kit

Recommended
Upgrades: Lucky 15 barrel kit



Strengths: Reliability
Maintenance
Shooting experience

Weaknesses: Cost
availability

Review: I was drawn into the Planet Eclipse world by first acquiring an Ego 2005. I was coming from a Dangerous Power F7 and System X NME markers. I was totally impressed with the Ego 05 from the first time I used it on the woodsball field. I found it to be much more accurate and reliable. Maintenance (disassembling/tuning) was much easier the the previous markers.

Anyway, I decided to splurge for the SL74 to see for myself the improvements (if any) the newer Egos would have over the 05.

First the obvious, it comes with the SL barrel kit so you have the ability to match the paint for better accuracy. This is definitely a plus for those who do not have a barrel kit. I already had a Lucky 15 barrel kit as well as some TI longbow barrels which I prefer (will talk about those later).

The size and weight was also very obvious. It is much slimmer and lighter than the 05. I was impressed by the extensive milling the SL74 had. Operation is very similar to the 05 minus some of the extra customizations (configurations, more modes).

The SL74 has been very reliable and a joy to disassemble/maintain (yeah, I know I'm weird). I'm also the OCD type that likes to keep possessions clean and scratch/nick-free as long as possible. Getting access to the LPR/HPR, ram, bolt is very easy that I don't mind cleaning and relubing it after every day of play.

I've had the pleasure of firing a LNIB XSV SL74 and LNIB Dark SL74. Now one would thing they should sound/perform the same given same settings/condition. One slight but noticeable thing I noticed from firing and observing them side by side is that the Dark SL74 had less kick and less of a "pop" noise - albeit slight difference (again the OCD in me). The HPR/LPR & dwell were set the same, same barrel/paint. I would even say that the XSV was more "broken in" as it had 1,000 more shots in it.

In any event, I have found a "keeper" with the SL74. So much so that my promise to never sell the Ego 05 has been broken. I enjoy using the SL74 and has continued to meet and exceed my expectations.

Now on to the barrels. I have also compared barrels. I have used a .685 SL barrel, .687 TI longbow, and .686 Lucky 15 barrel. I used APX Aggro basic paint for these informal tests. I have found that the SL barrels performed on the bottom for both accuracy and sound signature. It was more evident with the sound signature as each shot had the distinctive Ego "pop". Accuracy was very good when shooting at a target ~30 ft away.
The TI longbow and Lucky 15 performed similarly with accuracy. Both were slightly better than the SL kit even though the SL was a .685.
The biggest difference was with the sound signature. Both TI longbow and Lucky 15 had a significant and easily observable reduction in the "pop". The "pop" was heard to be more of a "Pfff" sound.
The Lucky 15 came out on top for my results because it took more of the "pop" sound than the TI longbow (slight difference).




Conclusion: I would recommend the SL74 to anyone who is willing to search/bargain/pay for a marker of this caliber.
If it has been well maintained/kept all these years by the previous owner, you will not be disappointed in what it can offer you. It will definitely last you a number of years and definitely keep pace with the newer markers out there.

Rating:
9 out of 10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL74 Ego Amazing used gun for the price! This thing will work no matter what and practically requires zero maintenance.
Report this review to a moderator   #17576
SmartPartsIsAJoke
U.S. Army
SmartPartsIsAJoke's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CT
SmartPartsIsAJoke plays in the PSP
SmartPartsIsAJoke plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Shot great
Cons: none at all
Amazing used gun for the price! This thing will work no matter what and practically requires zero maintenance.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review