Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2006 (Ego6) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
Planet eclipse 2006 ego.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2006
 MSRP: $1,250.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 71
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  54%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  41%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2006 (Ego6) Reviews
Planet Eclipse Ego 2006 (Ego6) Egos are perfection in my opinion. I absolutely positively LOVE EGOs. I would chose an ego over any other gun any day. Seriously, shoot one and see.
Report this review to a moderator   #13966
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
akward silence's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
akward silence has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $899.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Egos are perfection in my opinion. I absolutely positively LOVE EGOs. I would chose an ego over any other gun any day. Seriously, shoot one and see.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2006 (Ego6) Purchased my 06 ego brand new late in 2005 when they were just being released. While this gun doesn't see too much action any more I have to post a review on the ridiculous reliability that they...
Report this review to a moderator   #12273
Aznac872
NthgVenturedNthgGained
Aznac872's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cuomo's Fantasy Factory
Aznac872 has been a member for 10 years
Aznac872 works for a Paintball manufacturer
Aznac872 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Aznac872 is Legendary
Aznac872 is Immortal
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $950.00
Pros: Reliability
Cons: Weight
Purchased my 06 ego brand new late in 2005 when they were just being released.

While this gun doesn't see too much action any more I have to post a review on the ridiculous reliability that they offer.

Since the release of the 07 I've used this gun about once or twice a year since then. I love to maintain my markers but this is one that barely even needs it. Only relubed the regs and hand full of times and even after long stretches of sitting in the work room this gun easily airs up and shoots like its fresh from the factory.

NEVER have I had any serious issue with the gun and to this date all major internal components are original from the manufacturer, never needed to be replaced.

For one of the most reliable platforms out there, I highly recommend snagging one. At their resale prices these are amazing guns for an amazing price!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2006 (Ego6) i HAD THIS as my 2nd gun it was great on air, and it shot really accurate, and smooth the only thing i didn't like was how my hand always hit the bolt
Report this review to a moderator   #19935
grss429
Gun Tech! & Field owner
grss429's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: N.C
grss429 plays in the PSP
grss429 posts videos on PbNation
grss429 plays in the APPA D4 division
grss429 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
grss429 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: shot great! was really good on air
Cons: none at all
i HAD THIS as my 2nd gun it was great on air, and it shot really accurate, and smooth the only thing i didn't like was how my hand always hit the bolt
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2006 (Ego6) One of my Favorite Markers to date My Personal Setup: '06 "Embers" color scheme Matching 16" Freak Boss Bolt Ti Ram Star Frame Virtue Redefined Virtue Grips
Report this review to a moderator   #44057
Team_ILLNatured
Running Hatchet Man
Team_ILLNatured's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Depew, NY(716)
Team_ILLNatured has been a member for 10 years
Team_ILLNatured owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Team_ILLNatured owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Team_ILLNatured supports Team VICIOUS
Team_ILLNatured plays in the APPA D5 division
Team_ILLNatured is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: Great looks, easy maint, efficient
Cons: Heavy, solenoid placement
One of my Favorite Markers to date

My Personal Setup:
'06 "Embers" color scheme
Matching 16" Freak
Boss Bolt
Ti Ram
Star Frame
Virtue Redefined
Virtue Grips
Virtue Blue Laser Eyes

Pros:
Awesome milling
easy maint
The second most efficient marker I own(my Freeflow cocker wins on that every time)

Cons:
Heavy
Solenoid Placement behind the upper grip screws is making Ego 5/6 Solenoids harder and harder to find

Reccomended Upgrades:
Star Frame(good luck)
Ti Rammer(good Luck)
Boss Bolt
Freak, or another barrel bored to accept Freak Inserts
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2006 (Ego6) I picked up a 2006 ego recently just to try it out and wow was I impressed. Appearance - I love the milling on this gun and it is one of my favorite looking egos with exception of the SL series. ...
Report this review to a moderator   #10864
iquadra
BucK NastY
iquadra's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: K-Town, WI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Loud? Kick?
I picked up a 2006 ego recently just to try it out and wow was I impressed.

Appearance - I love the milling on this gun and it is one of my favorite looking egos with exception of the SL series. The gun comes in a ton of different colors which is a huge plus to people who want to match out on the field.

Performance - This gun gets 4 stars for performance only because I found the stock barrel to be somewhat inaccurate. But a barrel is something that can be replace for relativily cheap so its really not a big deal. Once you have a better barrel on this gun is shoots just as accurate as any other high end out on the market. Two other cons are that the gun is somewhat loud and has a little kick (both did not affect me one bit). Some people say that this gun is bad on air but I disagree, its not the best out there but its not bad, it falls right in the middle.

Reliability - The 2006 ego is know for being very reliable and I never had any problems with mine.

Value - This gun is worth every penny as you can pick some up for around $200 now or even less!!!

If you are new to paintball, just looking for a good backup, or want to pepper fools with a OG gun, I highly suggest going with a 06 ego. You will not be dissappointed!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.9/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2006 (Ego6) I had purchased this marker quite a few years ago via the nation (sold as well). The man claimed he had been playing on a team in D3 at an NPPL event somewhere (I keep thinking Chicago, but that...
Report this review to a moderator   #21811
WorldStrike
PBN's Dick
WorldStrike's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
WorldStrike supports Bob Gurnsey
WorldStrike posts videos on PbNation
WorldStrike has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
WorldStrike has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Efficiency, Reliability, Adjustable, Weight, Speed
Cons: Internal hosing
I had purchased this marker quite a few years ago via the nation (sold as well). The man claimed he had been playing on a team in D3 at an NPPL event somewhere (I keep thinking Chicago, but that can't be right...). So after purchasing the marker, I was pretty sure it would be broken in and fully adjusted for maximum ability. I was partially right. While the marker has never malfunctioned on me or let me down during a game, upon shooting it I was mildly disappointed. The trigger pull was long and felt unadjusted, which I thought was odd for a D3 player. The bolt also seemed to return just a bit too slow when I fired the marker (just when I was dry-firing it in my backyard). So I decided to service the marker a bit and see if I could fix it up.

I took the bolt out, and proceeded to remove the rammer cap, and then the rammer. Right around then I found the problem. The man who had the marker before it had lubed the rammer. I was surprised. I mean, the guy had made several, several Ego deals on the nation before, and I thought by now he'd know how to properly service his markers. Anyway, I cleaned the lube off of the rammer and the internals, and applied a fresh coat of oil to the rammer and bolt. Upon airing it up and firing again, it felt much smoother and seemed to glide with each pull of the trigger. As is usual for Planet Eclipse, a very nice marker.

Then I set to the task of adjusting the trigger for maximum performance. That didn't take too long either. The stock trigger really function well, and I found a great poition to adjust it too. I screwed the spring screw out far so that there was no pressure to keep your fingers from walking it, screwed the magnetic screw out almost all the way so only a small amount of magnetic energy was pulling it back, and screwed the top screw until the back of the trigger was millimeters away from clicking the microswitch. If you still have the stock trigger, I'd suggest a similar configuration. After adjusting the trigger as described, the 06 shot ropes and dished out paint like no other. The Tadao board helped a fair bit, as well.

Time to go through the features:


Performance

No contest here. As I've said, the marker has never let me down during a tourney or on a weekend practice, and the smooth shot of an Ego has little competition in the industry. If you keep your marker oiled and lubed properly, the 06 will never let you down. No surprise, freak occurances here. You take good care of it and it will be faithful to you.

Efficiency

With some embarrassment I have to admit that I haven't tweaked this marker yet. The field I primarily attend has all day air available to all players, and I typically fill up after every game, so I never have had the urge to fool around with dwell, LPR, and HPR to achieve maximum efficiency. However, I believe the dwell is set to the Tadao factory default, the HPR likely runs around 200-210psi (PE decided to not include a gauge, likely to make the marker as light as possible), with the LPR typically flushed with the cap. I can still get about 3/4 of a case to and entire case off of one 45/45 fill. Definitely a great marker for efficiency.


Reliability

Hasn't let me down yet. I haven't aired my marker up to find that a leak had 'mysteriously' formed in my rammer, nor have I had to walk off of a game due to marker malfunction. The only thing that ever happened was really my fault. A few buddies of mine wanted to play woodsball (they're more recreational guys), and I decided to bring this marker out and just tone it down to straight semi, slow as possible. So the three of us played in a huge wooded area. It took me 30 minutes before I came into contact with one of them. We both saw each other about 20 feet away, and both lifted our marker. I fired, and nothing happened. Then I was out in about 4 second. After looking down at my marker I realized the Ego has an auto-turn off. After the marker had been on for so long without being fired it shut itself off, and, without checking, I was left to die. I suppose that's one thing mech players will always have over us.

Maintenance

Very simple. The bolt and rammer slide out easily and only need a drop or two of oil. both the HPR and LPR are very basic and easy to clean. The HPR functions mainly on a spring stack, and the LPR primarily only needs one piston o-ring lubed. After playing with it for the first time, I took it home and decided to break the entire thing down. That means all the way past the manifold, into the true internals of the gun, where the magic happens. It's usually suggested to service this area once every 20,000 shots, but I felt like familiarizing myself with the marker. Very easy process (except for the hosing, which I'll get to in just a few moments), and is simple to take apart and put back together. I've got to tip my hat to Planet Eclipse on this one.

Internals

The internals of the Ego are great, no doubt, except for one small thing: the internal hosing. There is one hose that is apparent when you disconnect the Ego frame from the body, that is connected to the HPR (the VA above the HPR, really). This hose is a complete pain to remove. It is fixed on barb fitting, and that ensure that it does not blow off when the marker it aired up, but also makes for a difficult removal. Planet Eclipse disappointed me a bit here. I really feel that they could have used smaller versions of macroline fittings and used a hose similar to macroline to connect the two. Instead, they opted for the barbed fitting. If you attempt to pull the hose, it goes nowhere. It's recommended to use tweezers, and I did, but they didn't make it much easier. After five or ten minutes, I was able to remove the line with a pair of tweezers and a pin. Unfortunately, there was a small hole (minuscule) created on the top of the hosing, and when I aired the marker back up it was creating a small leak. I had to cut the small area with the hole off, and then try and udjust the hose so no air leaked out. This was a real pain that took close to 30 minutes (the hose refused to stop leaking until I got it in a perfect spot). I thought about replacing the hose, but it turns out you can only purchase is directly from PE overseas, which costs about 35 bucks for shipping, with the hose as only 3 or 4 bucks. Since I didn't feel like paying that much, I adjusted the hose to the point that it would no longer leak.

Speed

I have never used the stock board to the Ego (the man who sold it to me claimed he would send it a week or two later, but he was never able to). However, I can tell you that the Tadao achieves everything you would expect from an aftermarket board. BPS goes as high as your hopper feeds, there are tons of different modes and special settings to make fool-around matches unique, and, of course, all of the required settings for several different tourney-based leagues, such as the NPPL and PSP. This marker can shoot faster than you'll ever need, let's leave it at that.

Weight

It's light. I really don't know what else to say. Picking up any other marker after holding this really makes you realize just how light it is. With a VLocity mounted on top and a 45/45 Throttle on the back (my personal setup), running is a breeze and sometimes you forget the marker is even there. It seems like in the 07 season many companies are focusing on weight as a major selling point, but I really don't see why you'd have to get any lighter than this marker.

Accuracy

As is with any other marker, accuracy is determined by the quality of your barrel and, more importantly, your paint-to-bore match. If you shoot the Ego with a .689 back and you're using .689 paint, you'll be firing nothing but ropes. With smaller or bigger paint sizes, the accuracy tends to decrease only slightly. With an incorrect paint-to-bore match, on a standard size NPPL X-Ball field, I'd say each ball would hit the middle X within a 3 foot radius (firing from the break-out point). The marker deals out paint quickly enough that the 3 foot radius doesn't make a huge difference. Don't worry, you'll hit your target.

Conclusion

A great marker for the serious player. A little pricey if bought new (still costs about $1000 if bought new from a site), but with the rush of 07 marker you can find these on the nation for $650-$750, which is pretty nice for a marker you'll never have to replace. The only real factor I can count against this product is the internal hosing which I personally find so tedious to remove and replace. Not to mention a lot of Planet Eclipse customer service takes place out of the UK rather than the US (I believe most of their stuff ships from there as well). But despite these two minor factor, the marker is amazing and can compete at any level of play. When markers are capped at 15 bps in most of the major tourneys today, it really doesn't make a huge difference that an 07 can punch out a higher firing rate. Both marker are legally only allowed to fire at 15, and that's the most each will get in one second.

I haven't gotten to glance at the 07's internals as of yet, but with luck they've fixed the barbed fitting problem. If it wasn't for that minor inconvenience (only really affects you when you're performing a complete strip-down of the entire marker and all of it's components), I would be awarding this marker a perfect score.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2006 (Ego6) i bought my 06 when it first came out for a grand and havent had a problem yet. all i have had to do was oil the ram. i have owned other dm markers also and i was not nearly as happy.
Report this review to a moderator   #3766
Bunker Jedi
sell me your $h!T
Bunker Jedi's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alabama
Bunker Jedi plays in the PSP
Bunker Jedi owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Bunker Jedi supports Team VICIOUS
Bunker Jedi plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: light, fast, accurate
Cons: none at all
i bought my 06 when it first came out for a grand and havent had a problem yet. all i have had to do was oil the ram. i have owned other dm markers also and i was not nearly as happy.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2006 (Ego6) I traded for my Ego6 and have loved it every day since. Planet Eclipse is by far the best CS provider out of any company I have dealt with. I recomend everyone buys an Ego!
Report this review to a moderator   #3635
corporationpaintball
too legit to quit
corporationpaintball's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Burlington, VT
corporationpaintball is a Moderator
corporationpaintball is BST Legit
corporationpaintball donated to help Peyton Trent
corporationpaintball supports our troops
corporationpaintball is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
corporationpaintball is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.01
Pros: one word... amazing!
Cons: I don't like the milling.
I traded for my Ego6 and have loved it every day since. Planet Eclipse is by far the best CS provider out of any company I have dealt with. I recomend everyone buys an Ego!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2006 (Ego6) I picked up one of these awhile back and I must say it was the worst marker I have ever owned...and I've owned a lot of markers....this gun was very poorly designed which is hard to imagine...
Report this review to a moderator   #40575
evil balla 21
Bay State Rebels
evil balla 21's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MASS
evil balla 21 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
evil balla 21 plays in the APPA D5 division
evil balla 21 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
evil balla 21 is Legendary
evil balla 21 supports DLX Technology
evil balla 21 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: looks
Cons: everything else
I picked up one of these awhile back and I must say it was the worst marker I have ever owned...and I've owned a lot of markers....this gun was very poorly designed which is hard to imagine considering how great a company plabet eclipse is...but they dropped the ball on this one....couldn't get anything to work right and chopped more paint than I actually shot....stay away from the 06 ego...just a bad year for pe...put it this way...I'd shoot a stock sp ion before I'd shoot another 06 ego...yes they are that bad...just my honest opinion....
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2006 (Ego6) By far, the best gun i have shot. When these things are teched and ready to go there is nothing even close to it. My ego never let me down when i had it. It shot where i needed it to go, and it was...
Report this review to a moderator   #5555
SmoothBread
YEAH DOG
SmoothBread's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
SmoothBread owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
SmoothBread owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $380.00
Pros: Acurate, Fast, Efficient, No lubing required
Cons: heavy kinda
By far, the best gun i have shot. When these things are teched and ready to go there is nothing even close to it. My ego never let me down when i had it. It shot where i needed it to go, and it was so air efficient. Just such a great marker. Get one while you can, you won't regret it at all.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review